We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 42 Eastbourne hotels

BEST WESTERN Lansdowne Hotel

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   King Edward's Parade, Eastbourne BN21 4EE, England
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 22% off stays!
Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Lansdowne Hotel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Lansdowne Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
75%
Ranked #18 of 42 hotels in Eastbourne
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
M P eastborough, United Kingdom
  • Overview
  • Reviews (275)
  • Photos (132)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A (2)
  • Room tips (84)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

275 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    107
    100
    41
    19
    8
See reviews for
46
108
22
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Booked two rooms for my wife and I and our daughter and her friend for one night on a Saturday. A bit expensive. Location is ideal, right on the seafront. Receptionist was very helpful. WiFi was pretty poor for the part of the hotel we were in (room 112) and normal mobile phone signal is also poor, so be aware... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Catherine C, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Lansdowne Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I have investigated the comments that you have made with the Duty Manager who was on duty the night you mentioned. She told me that it was very unfortunate as the party in the basement was meant to be for only 50 guests. In the end there turned out to be nearly double the numbers.... More

London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Considering that Britain's only 5-star seaside hotel is right next door, the family-run Lansdowne Hotel, in Eastbourne, does pretty well. Obviously it is not as grand as the neighbouring Grand, but it is comfortable, homely, serves excellent food, and has a very helpful and friendly staff. OK, so it is somewhat dated, but it represents real value for money. All... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Catherine C, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Lansdowne Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are dated in areas - I like to use the word 'vintage' !! I am working on getting some of the public areas updated slightly. But as you can see and as you mentioned, we have very comfortable public areas with great views of... More

Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

this was the last room in the place so we did not expect the ritz but it was so old and dated, dirty carpet, 70s bathroom suite, cheap toiletries , the bedding was a rough old wool blanket that where around in the 60s , very friendly staff though, I am pretty sure the other rooms are nice but the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Catherine C, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Lansdowne Hotel, responded to this review

Hi - thanks for you review. Yes, some of our rooms are dated. We are a family run hotel with 102 bedrooms. We constantly have a maintenance programme in place, going round refurbishing bedrooms and public areas. I am more disappointed that you say the carpet was not clean - Ill look into this. Many of our rooms are uptodate... More

1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Very nice family run hotel with some of the best customer service we have seen in a long time. The set menu was great and served promptly , and a good buffet breakfast too. In a nutshell 3 star hotel with 5 star customer service, within 30 sec walk of the beach.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Catherine C, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Lansdowne Hotel, responded to this review

What a lovely review - thank you! A joy to hear that you find our customer service 5 star! We are very lucky to have such a great team working for us and I will pass on your kind comments. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Kind regards, Catherine Clifford - Sales & Marketing Executive. More

England
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I have stayed here before an expect old fashioned rooms expected of a seaside hotel on the esplanade. On this occasion the room, which I had stayed in before, has not beenj cleaned adequately. Dust on all surfaces, the tea tray not been removed and stuck to chest. Chairs had food and other matter on them and carpet obviously not... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Catherine C, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Lansdowne Hotel, responded to this review

I am sorry to read that you did not find your room's cleanliness to your satisfaction and I have spoken to the Head Housekeeper on the points that you have raised. The carpets in the bedrooms are hovered after each guest and properly shampooed every 6 months and inbetween if needed. As far as the bed sheet - they are... More

London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We had nothing booked just walked in the receptionist was very helpful and pleasant booked bb seaview room room lovely breakfast was great bar area was good thank you to all the staff for a very lovely stay

Was this review helpful? Yes
Catherine C, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Lansdowne Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to see you again soon. Kind regards, Catherine Clifford - Sales & Marketing Executive. More

London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The Lansdowne Hotel was recommended to me by a friend who had recently stayed there. As a single traveller I usually have to pay nearly double the "per person" rate for single occupancy of a double room, so I was pleased to find that the Lansdowne has some single rooms. I would normally have had to pay about the same... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Catherine C, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Lansdowne Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. It is great to hear that you feel we offer fantastic value for money and that our staff were friendly and helpful. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Kind regards, Catherine Clifford - Sales & Marketing Executive. More

Chevy Chase, Maryland
Top Contributor
154 reviews 154 reviews
17 hotel reviews
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

How does one say enough about a grand hotel such as this? Originally three separate town houses, it stretches some two thirds of a block along King Edward’s Parade, a heroic stone’s throw from the English Channel. The entire entry floor (the ground floor) is devoted to the Devonshire Restaurant, a cozy bar/lounge, and five or six very comfortable sitting... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Catherine C, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Lansdowne Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for the great review that you have put on Trip Advisor. It is so good to hear all the lovely comments that you have made about us - from our staff and facilities through to the food and the service offered. We have been in the same family ownership for 102 years now, so it is... More

Luton
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Paying £100 a night for a double room, I was expecting something really nice. The room was at the back of the hotel with a view onto a Car Park. There was zero ventilation in the Room and it was stifling hot even with both the room and bathroom windows wide open. The beds have Blankets !!! This is the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Catherine C, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Lansdowne Hotel, responded to this review

I was sorry to read that you were so disappointed in your stay with us. Our prices are structured on the time of year it is and our back rooms don't have as spectacular a view as our seaview facing ones which of course you pay a premium for. We will be moving to duvets in the next couple of... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Lansdowne Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to BEST WESTERN Lansdowne Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Lansdowne Hotel

Address: King Edward's Parade, Eastbourne BN21 4EE, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Eastbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Lansdowne Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Venere so you can book your BEST WESTERN Lansdowne Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Eastbourne
Eastbourne Best Western

132 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (44)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
Room/suite (18)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (12)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (89)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (60)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Other (12)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Eastbourne with
any amenities

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Eastbourne #10 Romantic Hotel in Eastbourne
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Best Western Lansdowne Hotel is privately owned and has been in the same family ownership since 1912. It is this that has given the hotel a personal touch that is still very evident today. We are flattered that so many guests express their appreciation of this fact. The Hotel occupies a premier position on the uncommercialised seafront overlooking the Western Lawns and Wish Tower with splendid views of Beachy Head and the sea. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
102

Questions & Answers

Here’s what questions travelers have asked, with answers from representatives of BEST WESTERN Lansdowne Hotel and other travelers.
2 questions
4 days ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from BEST WESTERN Lansdowne Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer