We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Sheldon

4.0 of 5
9 - 11 Burlington Place, Eastbourne BN21 4AS, England
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Sheldon
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
The Sheldon
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    29
    7
    3
    3
See reviews for
15
70
14
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (131)
  • Mar-May only
    (42)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (41)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (23)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (25)
All months
Lechlade, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Great value, clean, fantastic location, free onsite parking, friendly owners, great breakfast, strong WiFi - what more could you want? Only one minor quibble was that the two pillows supplied were too high and too hard, but that's probably just me.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Judith B, Owner at The Sheldon, responded to this review

Ah Ha! I know exactly which room you had! I had replaced all the bedding in there that day, and the pillows were especially 'poofy' and I can see they are quite tight in the pillow slip giving a firmer feel. I have swapped one for a different type today, so hopefully this will be a 'softer' experience for everyone!... More 

2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed in this hotel for one night. I found yhr staff very friendly, the room comfortable abd the breakfast great value. The hotel is a short walk to the pier and city center and is also only a 20 minute bus ride to seven sisters which I would highly recommend. Great value!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Judith B, Owner at The Sheldon, responded to this review

Thank you very much. More 

London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We only stayed one night at the Sheldon, it has its good points and its not so good. It has a great location on a side road, just off the sea front and has it's own off street parking. Be careful though, there is the narrowest little archway to get through to get to the car park at the back.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Judith B, Owner at The Sheldon, responded to this review

I am sorry if you felt cold. We have bled the radiators following your feedback. As you rightly said we have additional heaters, hot water bottles and additional blankets on request. If you are a light sleeper, you can request a 'quiet zone' room at time of booking and if it is available we can allocate one of them for... More 

Cranleigh, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Situated a few minutes walk from both promenade and main shops this hotel is in a great location. Lovely breakfast provided by cheerful waitresses, room very clean with luxury bedding and adequate bathroom - all topped off with onsite parking. There really was not anything to dislike.

Was this review helpful? Yes
mommiib, Owner at The Sheldon, responded to this review

Thank you very much! More 

Surrey, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I booked a last min deal at the sheldon for Mother's Day treat for me and my mother. It was a great hotel, lovely large room(family room) comfy beds !! Lovely breakfast and great location. Felt very friendly and home from home. Would recommend this hotel and would defo go back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
mommiib, Owner at The Sheldon, responded to this review

Thank you very much! More 

Hastings, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

We spent a night at the Sheldon as we were going to the theatre and thought it would be nice not to have to drive home afterwards The hotel is situated perfectly for the theatres and is also very close to some good restaurants. The town centre is only a 10 minute walk away We stayed in the luxury suite... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
mommiib, Owner at The Sheldon, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. We have kept the lighting in the Suite soft as it is a lovely intimate room and we felt bright lights would feel harsh. More 

tonbridge
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2015

We stayed here for 2 nights x We were in Eastboutne for my Fathers funeral ..everything was lovely and we were made to feel very welcome ..We were in the family room which was a great size for all of us..my wife and I and 2 boys 8 and 4. My only complaint to be honest was the breakfast x... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
mommiib, Owner at The Sheldon, responded to this review

Thank you. Most people like a well done sausage, you can always ask one of our servers for a lightly cooked sausage! More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2015

This is a fantastic hotel. The rooms are beautifully made up with a modern but homely feel. The whole hotel is clean and tidy with a stylish decor. We were upgraded to a family room which was lovely and spacious, and as we were in the lower ground floor we had our own side door entrance which was handy. The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
mommiib, Owner at The Sheldon, responded to this review

Thank you very much. We don't have a radio in the dining room because of PPL licensing laws. More 

Dover, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2015

Stayed for 2 nights could not fault anything , nice clean spacious room . Staff very friendly and helpful . Tasty breakfast plenty of choice . Would stay again if we are that way . Close to beach , shops and restaurants .

Was this review helpful? Yes
mommiib, Owner at The Sheldon, responded to this review

Happy hoteliers - Thank you very much! More 

Carshalton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2015

I booked to stay at the sheldon hotel because Iv stayed once before in a double room,and was happy.this time I thought we are only staying one night so we will book a premier room £110 .what I didn't read was that the bath and shower are in the room,so on arriving and realising this I asked if we could... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
mommiib, Owner at The Sheldon, responded to this review

I am sorry you felt upset. You booked the best room for £110, but you did not take the time to look at the description or photo's. We only had 1 room left the night you stayed which was a standard double. We had no other options for you because we were full. As there was nothing wrong with the... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

43 photo of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (42)
Viewed
Room/suite (27)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question