We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Sheldon

9 - 11 Burlington Place, Eastbourne BN21 4AS, England
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Sheldon
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
The Sheldon
Review This Hotel

128 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    29
    6
    3
    3
See reviews for
15
68
13
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (128)
  • Mar-May only
    (39)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (41)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (23)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (25)
All months
Cranleigh, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Situated a few minutes walk from both promenade and main shops this hotel is in a great location. Lovely breakfast provided by cheerful waitresses, room very clean with luxury bedding and adequate bathroom - all topped off with onsite parking. There really was not anything to dislike.

Was this review helpful? Yes
mommiib, Owner at The Sheldon, responded to this review

Thank you very much! More 

Surrey, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I booked a last min deal at the sheldon for Mother's Day treat for me and my mother. It was a great hotel, lovely large room(family room) comfy beds !! Lovely breakfast and great location. Felt very friendly and home from home. Would recommend this hotel and would defo go back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
mommiib, Owner at The Sheldon, responded to this review

Thank you very much! More 

Hastings, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We spent a night at the Sheldon as we were going to the theatre and thought it would be nice not to have to drive home afterwards The hotel is situated perfectly for the theatres and is also very close to some good restaurants. The town centre is only a 10 minute walk away We stayed in the luxury suite... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
mommiib, Owner at The Sheldon, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. We have kept the lighting in the Suite soft as it is a lovely intimate room and we felt bright lights would feel harsh. More 

tonbridge
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed here for 2 nights x We were in Eastboutne for my Fathers funeral ..everything was lovely and we were made to feel very welcome ..We were in the family room which was a great size for all of us..my wife and I and 2 boys 8 and 4. My only complaint to be honest was the breakfast x... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
mommiib, Owner at The Sheldon, responded to this review

Thank you. Most people like a well done sausage, you can always ask one of our servers for a lightly cooked sausage! More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This is a fantastic hotel. The rooms are beautifully made up with a modern but homely feel. The whole hotel is clean and tidy with a stylish decor. We were upgraded to a family room which was lovely and spacious, and as we were in the lower ground floor we had our own side door entrance which was handy. The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
mommiib, Owner at The Sheldon, responded to this review

Thank you very much. We don't have a radio in the dining room because of PPL licensing laws. More 

Dover, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2015

Stayed for 2 nights could not fault anything , nice clean spacious room . Staff very friendly and helpful . Tasty breakfast plenty of choice . Would stay again if we are that way . Close to beach , shops and restaurants .

Was this review helpful? Yes
mommiib, Owner at The Sheldon, responded to this review

Happy hoteliers - Thank you very much! More 

Carshalton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2015

I booked to stay at the sheldon hotel because Iv stayed once before in a double room,and was happy.this time I thought we are only staying one night so we will book a premier room £110 .what I didn't read was that the bath and shower are in the room,so on arriving and realising this I asked if we could... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
mommiib, Owner at The Sheldon, responded to this review

I am sorry you felt upset. You booked the best room for £110, but you did not take the time to look at the description or photo's. We only had 1 room left the night you stayed which was a standard double. We had no other options for you because we were full. As there was nothing wrong with the... More 

Barnsley, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2015

My husband travelled from Yorkshire for a Funeral , so it was all last minute , so we chose this Hotel on the web , because of its location . He was pleasantly surprised , in his words , excellent , lovely room (ticked all the Boxes ) , great hosts , breakfast superb , all round worth a 5

Was this review helpful? Yes
mommiib, Owner at The Sheldon, responded to this review

thank you! More 

Brighton, UK
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2015 via mobile

We booked this hotel through Groupon, a steal at £50 for a double room. Dissapointingly little availability and also really disappointed to have not been told it was a budget room beforehand. Would have happily paid an upgrade as it was a much needed treat. All staff were lovely, especially the young man who checked us in. Breakfast too was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
mommiib, Owner at The Sheldon, responded to this review

I am sorry you were disappointed with your experience. We have been upset ourselves with the way groupon have handled our campaign. As you will see, on all our sites we are as clear as possible about what you will expect when you arrive. I urge everyone on a groupon deal to look at our site before they arrive. The... More 

Portsmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2015

My husband and I booked to stay at this hotel last Saturday 17 January 2015. On the Friday evening, my 82 year old mother was rushed into hospital and we were in A&E until 3 in the morning. She is actually still there a week later and still very unwell. When I called the hotel on Saturday to explain, they... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
mommiib, Owner at The Sheldon, responded to this review

Obviously, peoples circumstances can change at short notice, but you had a considerable discount on your booking because it was non-refundable. It is always best to take travel insurance to avoid loosing money. As you chose to use an agent, we would have been out of pocket because of the short notice. I was in no way unsympathetic to your... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

43 photo of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (42)
Viewed
Room/suite (27)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question