We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 43 Eastbourne hotels

Bay Burlington Hotel

26-34 Royal Parade, Eastbourne BN21 3YN, England
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
£10 A NIGHT DEALS!
Save Saved
You added Bay Burlington Hotel to your Saves list
Bay Burlington Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
60%
Ranked #27 of 43 hotels in Eastbourne
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed yesterday
richard96 Haverfordwest, United Kingdom
  • Overview
  • Reviews (383)
  • Photos (105)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A (3)
  • Room tips (175)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

383 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    88
    136
    90
    37
    32
See reviews for
73
195
11
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (175)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Haverfordwest, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We spent four days at the Burlington in May and were very happy with the hotel. We had been some years ago whilst they were refurbishing the hotel and had a terrible experience in a room which should never have been let. This time however the hotel was very comfortable and we had been given an upgrade to a room... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
newforest hants
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We had an eventful trip due to our car cam belt breaking on the A27 at Havant, and had to decide weather to go back home by train, or carry on to Eastbourne. So glad we decided to carry on. The Burlington is a lovely grand old hotel, with super staff, superb breakfast, and evening meal,many thanks to our waiter... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
BurlingtonEastbourne, General Manager at Bay Burlington Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks go to twelvebar for the great review of a recent stay. Yes shame about the Pier but there is every chance our grand old pier will be fully restored for summer 2015. Really like the suggestion of a live band, will pass this to our entertainment oginisers. Thanks one again for your very positive feedback. Very much appreciated More

Northwich, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed on a 5 day shearings holiday at this hotel commencing Monday 18 th august. After a 7 hour coach journey we were told upon arrival that there was no hot water in our room and that there was a problem with the boiler. No alternative accommodation was offered but told that the engineer would be coming the day... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
BurlingtonEastbourne, General Manager at Bay Burlington Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you f222les for the review of a recent stay. Apologies once again for the lack of hot water during your stay. As highlighted this was repaired prior to you leaving. I was so pleased to read that you enjoyed the food and the hotel and it is also nice to read you acknowledged the efforts made by the staff... More

Cambridge, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Just back from a three-day break. The hotel has a lovely position on the sea front just by the pier. The staff are all very polite and welcoming. The hotel is a little tired in places but is a beautiful building. The dining room and entertainment areas are very impressive. The food was very good with choices for all three... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
BurlingtonEastbourne, General Manager at Bay Burlington Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much Caroline H for the fantastic five star review recently posted on line. A warm welcome awaits your return to the Burlington. More

East Sussex
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed here for two nights with family as part of a 60th birthday celebration. In many ways the hotel is fine, but you really have to know what you're getting before you arrive if you don't want a bit of a shock. The hotel caters for a mostly retired clientèle, many of whom have obviously been coming here for... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
BurlingtonEastbourne, General Manager at Bay Burlington Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you Superlative for taking the time to leave such a comprehensive review of your recent two night stay. Have to agree the location is superb and easily allows you to get to the surrounding areas very quickly and with ease. Thanks for the nice comments regarding our staff, and my apologies for any confusion with your meal order, if... More

radcliffe, manchester
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Just got back from an 8 day Shearings holiday in Eastbourne and I would just like to give a great big thank you to the Bay Burlington and all it's staff for making our holiday what it was, an excellent holiday and a really good break. They coped admirably under the most trying of circumstances from Tuesday to Thursday when... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
BurlingtonEastbourne, General Manager at Bay Burlington Hotel, responded to this review

There are no words that can express my sincere gratitude for the amazing five star review left by Sogra. What was a difficult week was overcome by the overwhelming co-operation of the customers involved. As I stated on departure morning, I got to meet and get to know in more detail a large number of my guests during this time.... More

Bangor, United Kingdom
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We have been going to the Burlington for at least 6years and always had a good holiday. unfortunately this year we have had our worst holiday ever. The room-319-was far from clean. When I complained about the springs coming up through the mattress, I was told they would turn the mattress and put a cover over it. To think we... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
BurlingtonEastbourne, General Manager at Bay Burlington Hotel, responded to this review

I was so sorry to read the comments made by Hilliard20. Please see other reviews regarding the positive comments regarding our housekeeping and cleanliness of bedrooms. Glad to report the beds that where mentioned in room 319, have been replaced. The £10.00 supplement is for a guaranteed room and not for any upgrade. After being a customer on previous occasions... More

Solihull
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
23 hotel reviews
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Just had four days at The Burlington. We had paid for a sea view but were upgraded to a premier room which was lovely. It was large with a four poster bed, settee,armchair and large TV. The bathroom was excellent with bath and separate shower cubicle. The room was cleaned every day and towels changed if necessary. All the staff... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
BurlingtonEastbourne, General Manager at Bay Burlington Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks go to Ossierose. for a great review of a recent stay. Bruno will be delighted to read that you enjoyed the service he provided. All in all a great review, which are always a pleasure to read Thanks once again. More

birmingham
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

A little outdated but that seems to add to its charm,just had a week here and would definately use this hotel again,I think I would travel by car next time though,shearings coaches and staff are very good but eight hours travelling was to much for us,having said that the hotel staff were excellent as was the food,the tv in our... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
BurlingtonEastbourne, General Manager at Bay Burlington Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks Marie D for your kind words of a recent holiday. Good to read the hotel met your expectations and you are now considering the self drive option. Thanks again. More

south wales
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Took my parents to this hotel last weekend and arrived Friday after a long journey and unfortunately did not get off to a very good start, arrived via the back entrance and first impressions were not good, walked through to reception and immediately thought how dirty it looked, didn't get much better when we got to our rooms, cleanliness not... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
BurlingtonEastbourne, General Manager at Bay Burlington Hotel, responded to this review

Queenie21south, I have a friend called queenie but that's another story lol. I know you had difficulties at the beginning of your stay and my sincerest apologies are offered. I know Anna our assistant Manger worked closely with you to ensue your stay was enjoyable and from your review this appears to be the case. The comments regarding cleanliness have... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Bay Burlington Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Bay Burlington Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Burlington Hotel

Address: 26-34 Royal Parade, Eastbourne BN21 3YN, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Eastbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Bay Burlington Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Burlington Hotel Eastbourne

105 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (84)
Viewed
Room/suite (20)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (11)
Viewed
View from room (6)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (37)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (22)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (15)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Eastbourne with
any amenities

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Boasting Grade 2 listing status, The Bay Burlington Hotel is a grand and impressive hotel, ideally situated on Eastbourne’s picturesque seafront. The hotel overlooks the spectacular Carpet Gardens and Victorian pier and is within comfortable walking distance of the town’s wide variety of shops and local theatres as well as the seafront. One of our largest hotels, the Burlington has 159 bedrooms including many with spectacular sea views and the opportunity to upgrade to a Superior or Premier room. The restaurant has been recently refurbished and there is also a well appointed bar and coffee lounge serving refreshments throughout the day. Located at the base of the beautiful South Downs, Eastbourne has enough to keep the most enthusiastic visitor busy with abundant history, numerous scenic castles and lots of places of interest to see. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
159

Questions & Answers

Here’s what questions travelers have asked, with answers from representatives of Bay Burlington Hotel and other travelers.
3 questions
Ask a question
Buckinghamshire
18 days ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Bay Burlington Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer