We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 1 Terres Basses hotels

Belmond La Samanna

5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Baie Longue | PO Box 4077, Terres Basses 97064, St Maarten-St Martin
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Discover Belmond
Save Saved
You added Belmond La Samanna to your Saves list
Belmond La Samanna
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
78%
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Terres Basses
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 4 days ago
Mike4281 Litchfield, Connecticut
  • Overview
  • Reviews (649)
  • Photos (1,340)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (113)
  • Location
  • More
true
Write a Review

649 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    392
    118
    60
    42
    37
See reviews for
87
387
12
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Litchfield, Connecticut
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We stayed at the La Samanna during our honeymoon last August. It was a beautiful property. Lobby and entrance was fairly new and gorgeous. Our room was ocean front and just steps away from the beach (white sand and gorgeous water), which was very convenient. Very friendly staff and the grounds were well care for. Saw a few macaws which... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
LaSamanna, General Manager at Belmond La Samanna, responded to this review

Dear Mike4281, Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent honeymoon stay with us. We are glad to read you enjoyed our resort and would like to wish you again a long and happy life together. We hope we will have the pleasure to welcome you back for one of your many wedding anniversary. More

New York
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

La Samanna is a lovely place with excellent service from a carribean perspective. However, being priced to perfection, when the service or room quality disappoints, it can really sting. Room Quality: we booked an ocean view suite under the "suite sensations" offer and ended up changing rooms. Both rooms were well appointed. Our first suite had sliding doors with slats... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
LaSamanna, General Manager at Belmond La Samanna, responded to this review

Dear WeloveCarib, Thank you very much for your review about your recent stay with us at la Samanna. I am happy to read that the reservation department was able to free a suite with a connecting door, even though there was none available when you checked in, so you could have more privacy while travelling with your teenager girl. The... More

Mesa, Arizona
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We spent the last 2 days of our St. Maarten vacation here. Our room was fabulous, ocean front 1 bedroom. We were very disappointed in the food here. We felt it was VERY overpriced ($35pp for standard buffet breakfast of premade eggs, pancakes, meats, pastries, etc..Lunch - $24 hamburger, $17 hotdog, $9 bottled water) We felt the staff at the... More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
LaSamanna, General Manager at Belmond La Samanna, responded to this review

Dear Deanna R, We would like to thank you very much for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay with us. We are happy to read that you enjoyed your accommodation but regret to read that you found the breakfast buffet overpriced. The scrambled eggs on the buffet are effectively premade but a side menu is... More

St. Martin
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I am utmost stunned as to what makes this hotel 5 stars? The ice front suite was nice. That's it. It has nice rooms. When we ate at the restaurant, the food was mediocre. We asked for a high chair for our 1 year old and there was none. My one year old subsequently fell out of the chair and... More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
LaSamanna, General Manager at Belmond La Samanna, responded to this review

Dear Brent H, We would like to thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay with us and we are very sorry to read that the resort hasn't been matching your expectations. We are glad you liked your suite but regret that you were so disappointed with the food. You can be certain that... More

New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This was our first trip to St. Martin and La Samanna was our first choice for our stay. We arrived by about 1pm and our room wasn't ready yet. Rudolph provided us with a few complimentary glasses of wine and an upgrade to the ocen view suite with the upstairs terrace. All staff was very helpful and so nice. Our... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
LaSamanna, General Manager at Belmond La Samanna, responded to this review

Dear Bridget M, Thank you so much for taking the time to share your review on TripAdvisor. We are glad you had a lovely stay. The property is indeed very secure and needs to be as we are welcoming many famous personalities who want full privacy. The cats on the property are all looked after, vaccinated and sterilized. Some of... More

West Palm Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
5 hotel reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We arrived late at night, hadn't had dinner yet and planned to just go to bed, wake up early for breakfast. No need! The hotel knew we were arriving late and had a large plater of food waiting for us, free! The room which was a one bedroom suite with roof top terrace was fabulous. It had a gorgeous view,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
LaSamanna, General Manager at Belmond La Samanna, responded to this review

Dear Scott69, Thank you very much for your review. We are happy to read that you had an excellent stay at our beautiful resort. As you mentioned, we are effectively losing some sand on the beach during the summer but the sand will be back in November, recreating a large and flat beach. The beach erosion is a yearly natural... More

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We(grandfather,grandmother, mother,father, college daughter) spent 1 week in July in Villa Sucrier! It was as advertised! We were greeted at the airport by driver with large sprinter van, taken directly to our Villa, where we were met by our concierge, Anchise. He showed us around the Villa then took us on a quick tour of the resort. Having made contact... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
LaSamanna, General Manager at Belmond La Samanna, responded to this review

Dear Onedayviditor, What a great joy to read your beautiful review. We are so happy you had the best time at the Villas with Anchise. I will share your lovely comments with the entire team and specially with Rose & Fina. We are looking forward to welcoming you back soon. More

Houston
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This is a very nice resort located about 15 minutes from the airport. We had a room on the ground level near the infinity pool...... I highly recommend the same..... very private yet close to all of the key spots of the resort.... the only complaint we had was the very poor service at the Trellis Restaurant......Be sure to have... More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
LaSamanna, General Manager at Belmond La Samanna, responded to this review

Dear David T, Thank you very much for your review which will be shared with the entire team; We are sorry to read that the service at the restaurant hasn’t been up to your expectations and we will ensure that your comment is conveyed to the team for improvement. We hope to have the great pleasure of welcoming you back... More

New York City, New York
Top Contributor
412 reviews 412 reviews
69 hotel reviews
311 helpful votes 311 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I’m not a big fan of St Martin which is generally pretty tacky, unsafe, with snarled traffic (improving with the opening of the bridge in Phillipsburg) but if one is going visit, either because it is one of the few Caribbean islands with a relatively short direct flight from New York or as a stopover connecting to the more civilized... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
LaSamanna, General Manager at Belmond La Samanna, responded to this review

Dear Venamo, Thank you so much for this great review. As you mentioned, La Samanna is the perfect place for relaxation and great food. The Internet speed might be a little slower than in other places in the world, however we currently have the best available speed on the Island and we will continue to upgrade the Internet as soon... More

St. Martin
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

Such an amazing trip and place for my husband's 30th birthday weekend. The staff was always the most accommodating! However the rooms could be renovated a bit but it def was NOT a deal breaker! The room service glasses broke a few times, but the staff was easy to deal with!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
LaSamanna, General Manager at Belmond La Samanna, responded to this review

Dear Anuradha R, Thank you for posting on TripAdvisor. We are very happy to read about your great stay. Some of our long time repeat guest cherish our vintage rooms and wouldn’t stay in any other room than those; this is the reason we will still keep some of them; however all our beach front suites were renovated recently. Thanks... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Belmond La Samanna, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Belmond La Samanna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond La Samanna

Address: Baie Longue | PO Box 4077, Terres Basses 97064, St Maarten-St Martin
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St Maarten-St Martin > Saint-Martin > Terres Basses
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond La Samanna 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Belmond, Tingo, Expedia, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Venere, Otel and Jetsetter so you can book your Belmond La Samanna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Samanna By Orient-Express Hotel St. Maarten/St. Martin
La Samanna Hotel
La Samanna Resort St Martin

1,340 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (412)
Viewed
View from room (38)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (83)
Viewed
Room/suite (80)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (66)
Viewed
Dining (30)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Other (107)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (888)
Viewed
Amenities (103)
Viewed
Baie Rouge Suite (128)
Viewed
Beach (44)
Viewed
Infinity-Edge Pool (56)
Viewed
Main Pool (61)
Viewed
One-Bedroom Ocean View Suite (128)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (142)
Viewed
The Hotel (81)
Viewed
Villa (145)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (41)
Viewed
Room/suite (13)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (6)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (8)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Terres Basses with
any amenities

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
La Samanna nestles amongst lush gardens overlooking 55 acres of spectacular beachfront. A complete resort in itself, La Samanna offers a spectacular private beach, two poolside terraces, 83 luxurious rooms and suites and 8 newly completed 4600sq. ft. villas with private pools. Enjoy its sophisticated food offerings and award winning wine cellar, indulge in its European Elysees Spa, or simply enjoy the privacy and relaxation of this sophisticated and sensual French-Caribbean enclave. La Samanna is everything you could wish for in a Caribbean hideaway. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
81

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Belmond La Samanna staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer