We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Copthorne Orchid Hotel Penang

, Tanjung Bungah, Penang Island 11200, Malaysia
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Asia Travel to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
Copthorne Orchid Hotel Penang
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

537 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    54
    173
    170
    77
    63
See reviews for
145
200
47
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (537)
  • Mar-May only
    (133)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (152)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (119)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (133)
All months
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

just ok need more upgrading and renovation.....the location was good, however with current maintenance and condition it really should charge as 4 star hotel prices.....as the conclusion its really old on everything.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Surabaya
Level Contributor
42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

An old building in Tanjung bungah along the strait of Malakka. Service is average. However the staff is very heplful and friendly. Checking in was very fast. The lady checking us in gave us the most important information. The room wasn't that clean. There was a lot of dust on the blinds of the cupboard. Wifi was ok. Breakfast quite... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Penang, Malaysia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We worried a bit of some bad reviews about this hotel. But as we're brave couple, decided to spend 4 nights to make our own opinion. Good service, wide (actually huge) variety of food during breakfast. Internet worked perfect on our 18 floor. Furniture a bit old, however considering hotel is old in general we accepted it. But what really... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Stay one night for attending a course.The furniture inside the room was old.Given 2 password for the wifi as two occupants in a room but the wifi not fast enough.Satisfied with the breakfast provided. 因为出席课程逗留了一晚。房内的家具略嫌成旧。每间房提供两个无线上网密码但网速并不快。早餐不错。

Was this review helpful? Yes
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This hotel is very nice one.. I spent here in Copthorne 3 nights, a very calm and nice place, very helpful staff, only breakfast didn't met my requirements, specially l have tow little girls.. Overall I loved it.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I spent 5 nights in this hotel . very far at the airport . rooms are big and nice view ,and quiet. Air condition is good . bathroom is good . But smell in room worst and cleaning is not acceptable . Hotel need to Reconstruction. Breakfast very bad also not interesting .

Was this review helpful? Yes
Penang Island, Malaysia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The hotel is quite old. The room facilities are acceptable. Swimming pool is ok. Have a small garden (landscape is poor) nearby the beach. Do not expect too much for the price you have paid. Recommended for 1 night stay only. 15 august 2015, i had the worst breakfast compared to any other hotel that i ever stayed. I hope... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes

Travelers are raving about these Tanjung Bungah hotels

Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

OK the good and the bad. Rooms are ok but not 5 star by any means. Our in room safe only had a few working numbers so we could not use it. Several of the fittings, like the exterior door did not close properly but that is probably neither here nor there. WiFi is decidedly dodgy depending on where you... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sally L, Public Relations Manager at Copthorne Orchid Hotel Penang, responded to this review

Greetings from Copthorne Orchid Hotel Penang. Thank you for taking the time to post your review on your recent stay with us and endorsing the quality of our breakfast and our excellent view from the room. We are ideally located between the famous Batu Ferringhi night market and City Centre. We are classified as a 4 Star hotel. We have... More 

Level Contributor
50 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The price is very competitive compared with other hotels around the area, the quality of the furniture is quite bad but still acceptable. Overall it is clean and for short stay it's fine. It has a very good location, right in front of a nice beach, where usually there isnt anybody (so you can enjoy it without being disturbed)

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sally L, Public Relations Manager at Copthorne Orchid Hotel Penang, responded to this review

Greetings from Copthorne Orchid Hotel Penang Thank you for taking the time to send in your comments on your recent stay with us. Our location is one of our best selling point. It is popular for its serenity and peaceful environment. Our guests are assured of a peaceful rest without any hassling from beach peddlers We look forward to welcoming... More 

Penang Island, Malaysia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

worst breakfast of my life. didn't stay in hotel tough pros:- 1. well located 2. ample parking place 3. cons :- 1. cold food 2. only two fresh cut fruits 3. slow refill 4. not clean environment 5. verly limited bakery

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Sally L, Public Relations Manager at Copthorne Orchid Hotel Penang, responded to this review

Greetings from Copthorne Orchid Hotel Penang Thank you for sending in your review on your visit to the hotel. Your comments on our breakfast is very surprising. However we have passed your comments to our F&B Head with strict instructions to investigate on this issue. We always strive to provide the best to our guests. Best regards More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

456 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (293)
Viewed
Room/suite (72)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (51)
Viewed
View from room (45)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (33)
Viewed
Bathroom (12)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (3)
Viewed
Other (66)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (163)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (56)
Viewed
Dining (19)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (48)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (20)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (11)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tanjung Bungah
0.2 mi away
Flamingo Hotel by the Beach, Penang
2.2 mi away
Bayview Beach Resort
Bayview Beach Resort
#8 of 13 in Batu Ferringhi
4.0 of 5 stars 1,244 reviews
1.2 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Penang
Four Points by Sheraton Penang
#1 of 6 in Tanjung Bungah
4.0 of 5 stars 620 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Rainbow Paradise Beach Resort
Rainbow Paradise Beach Resort
#3 of 6 in Tanjung Bungah
3.5 of 5 stars 578 reviews
2.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Penang
Holiday Inn Resort Penang
#5 of 13 in Batu Ferringhi
4.0 of 5 stars 1,493 reviews
3.2 mi away
PARKROYAL Penang Resort, Malaysia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay