We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Flamingo Hotel by the Beach, Penang

Jalan Tanjung Bungah, Tanjung Bungah, Penang Island 11200, Malaysia
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Flamingo Hotel by the Beach, Penang
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Flamingo Hotel by the Beach, Penang
Write a Review

503 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    173
    147
    59
    58
See reviews for
169
173
17
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (503)
  • Mar-May only
    (136)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (115)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (105)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (147)
All months
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

Average hotel. Good view to beach. Bad food. Private beach but no shacks and nothing much to do. Dedicated water sports facility but at a high price. No concierge service but a travel desk that provides all services at marked up prices. Otherwise reception even refuses to call cab for you. No taxi station nearby. Mosquito ridden hotel, not kidding... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sunderland, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

we have stayed at this hotel many times for our holidays this is our Fifth year at this hotel and we stay a month at a time the staff are always polite and very helpful we have made great friends with the staff and also little sofia ( the bird ) food is good and plentiful and there is something... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Vladivostok, Russia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

It is was our first time in Malaysia - we spent 3 days on Kuala Lumpur and then moved to Penang. Cheapest way to get to the hotel is to take bus (but it will take for about 1 hour), bus stop is in front of the hotel exactly and it is really convenient. Hotel is big and makes a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Flamingo2009, General Manager at Flamingo Hotel by the Beach, Penang, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We take your feedback very seriously and will work towards improvements of what was lacking. We trust you have a pleasant journey home and we look forward to having you again in Flamingo Hotel by the beach Penang. Thank you Best regards Ong Hai Leong General Manager Flamingo Hotel by... More 

New Delhi, India
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I stayed at so called Flamingo - By the beach hotel for a leisure trip last week (April 2015). I booked this hotel after going through reviews on Tripadvisor, but to my dismay neither the hotel matches with the reviews and experience shared by travelers nor it offers value for your money. I suspect that this hotel gets paid reviews... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Kuala lumpur
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I stayed in this hotel every time I visit Penang. This is my 2nd stay for this month. The hotel room is okay, view is nice, beach area is nice too. But the wifi provided was not functioning well. We can't connect to the internet all the time. And the safety box inside the room was not functioning too. I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Flamingo2009, Front Office Manager at Flamingo Hotel by the Beach, Penang, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Your feedbacks are valuable to our teams. Currently we are working on the issues you have mentioned to us. I do trust that your next visit will be a different experience. If you need assistance with your room reservations please free to contact me directly. Thank you Best regards Suresh Kumar Nagaiah Front Office Manager... More 

Johor Bahru, Malaysia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed at family suite with 2 bedroom. Very nice room n clean. The only thing is their guest lift. Maybe can get their maintenance staff to fix it. It is very embarrassed when the guest esp the 'mat salleh' (long term guest) trying so hard to close the door lift while said 'this is normal for this hotel'!! When i... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Flamingo2009, Front Office Manager at Flamingo Hotel by the Beach, Penang, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Your feedbacks are valuable to our teams. Currently we are working on the issues you have mentioned to us. I do trust that your next visit will be a different experience. If you need assistance with your room reservations please free to contact me directly. Thank you Best regards Suresh Kumar Nagaiah Front Office Manager... More 

Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

we stayed in the 2 bedroom suite with seaview.is clean,comfortable,balcony with beautiful sea view.unfortunately on the 2nd night,there was a water leakage from 1 of the room ceiling making a pool on the floor.waiting almost 1 hour for the technician to come,lucky they fixed it quick.I like their breakfast buffet,everyday have some different foods.The ambience is good,with relaxing pool view.But... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Flamingo2009, General Manager at Flamingo Hotel by the Beach, Penang, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. We are glad to learn that you had a pleasant stay with us. We will work to improve on the issues you have mentioned. I do trust that your next visit will be a different experience. We trust you have a pleasant journey home and we look forward to having you again in Flamingo Hotel... More 

Darwin, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Nice pool, good views, nice breakfast. The plumbing can be improved as water in basins can take an eternity to leave. Good service by staff. Good restaurants nearby. The rooms are getting older however clean and fresh.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Flamingo2009, General Manager at Flamingo Hotel by the Beach, Penang, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. We are glad to learn that you had a pleasant stay with us. We will work to improve on the issues you have mentioned. I do trust that your next visit will be a different experience. We trust you have a pleasant journey home and we look forward to having you again in Flamingo Hotel... More 

Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Negatives Towels are thin Have to pay 10 ringgits for ice Have to pay 10 ringgits for use of playroom Qui massage and beauty wouldn't do a pedicure even when they were sitting doing nothing Wouldn't give me a pot of water at breakfast for my herbal tea Have to pay 10 ringgits for baby sheet Took 30 minutes to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Petaling Jaya, Malaysia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Checked in to this hotel 2 days back & I can say I won't return to this hotel anymore. Hotel staffs were not proactive at all. The shower in my room has no hot water. TV channels were not compatible with the tv guide provided. Safebox was locked so I'm not able to use it. No more returning.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

899 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (397)
Viewed
Room/suite (115)
Viewed
Bathroom (37)
Viewed
View from room (46)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (53)
Viewed
Dining (18)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (56)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
0:16
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (70)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (479)
Viewed
2-Bedroom Suite (88)
Viewed
3-Bedroom Suite (132)
Viewed
Amenities (41)
Viewed
Beach (16)
Viewed
Deluxe Room (43)
Viewed
Pool (35)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (58)
Viewed
The Hotel (66)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (23)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question