We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Scandic Alesund

Certificate of Excellence
Moloveien 6, Alesund 6001, Norway
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Professional photos
Scandic Alesund
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

303 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    90
    122
    62
    19
    10
See reviews for
65
116
15
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (303)
  • Mar-May only
    (45)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (180)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (50)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (28)
All months
Taiwan
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

The room is big and comfortable and clean. Some of the rooms face the sea view. The staff is friendly and helpful. One thing i want to complain about is the check-in procedure. I've arrived at the hotel at 1300, and the staff told me to come back at 1500 because my room wasn't ready. I've come back to the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Los Altos Hills, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

This is a nice, clean, average place to stay with a great breakfast and at least some rooms overlooking the harbor. It unfortunately seems to cater to the tour buses, so you have to deal with the ebb and flow and clutter associated with that. I would go back, unless some other review caught my eye!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jerusalem
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We reserved a superior room in this hotel because of the view. the view was beautiful but in order to see it we had to sit in front of the window and there was only one chair and a very low coffee table. every thing else was even worse. When we arrived we asked for a trolley to get our... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
177 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I'd give this hotel 3.5 stars if I could. I'd say t's above a 3, btu not quite a 4. To start, I would definitely stay here again. But...there are definitely opportunities for improvement. Pros: 1. We stayed in a Junior suite that overlooked the harbor. This made for great view of the water and stunning sunsets. The room had... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This hotel was a good first hotel to the start of our trip. Located on the edge of town, easy walk and beautiful views of the waterfront. Our room was located on the higher floor with a rounded window alcove, windows from floor to ceiling, very unique and interesting. The hotel was a standard, easy hotel, no frills and nothing... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Can I please have a bath mat, wash rag and bar of soap? Room not the cleanest. Sheets frayed. Old flat pillows. No shampoo, hand cream, bar soap, bath mat or wash rag. Holes in the wall. Slow check in - only one person for 5 parties checking in. No parking. Great view, pulled dirty chair over to window, sat... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Silje Viken S, General Manager at Scandic Alesund, responded to this review

Dear guest. Thank you so much for taking the time to review us. I am sorry to hear that the stay did not live up to you expectations, and that the room came across as dirty. This is not how it is supposed to be, and I have taken your feeback to the roomcleaningdepartment. Due to our enviromental commitment we... More 

New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Scandic Alesund is a great value for a family vacation in the beautiful city of Alesund. We arrived right before six and the check in was prompt. We were starved at the time and was pleased to find complimentary soup served till 6 pm. The room was spacious and clean for the three of us (parent and one child). The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Heist-op-den-Berg, Belgium
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I stayed overnight in this hotel, the room was really good, nice view , however most things around where closed in summer, the parking I tried but there was a problem with the ticketing machine. But the worst is when I went to dinner, a guy next to me ordered a burger and fries, got served withing 10 minutes. Me... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Again, if you just want to sleep, you will be satisfied. Nice cozy room, boil water, instant coffee, tea are on the table. Bed were comfortable, shower was fine. Corridor of the hotel is a bit old fashioned, we took the wrong elevator so we ended up at the second floor, but we had the rooms on the 5th. We... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

117 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (106)
Viewed
Room/suite (20)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
View from room (13)
Viewed
Family/play areas (2)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (24)
Viewed
Other (37)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (11)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alesund hotels
0.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Alesund
0.2 mi away
Scandic Parken
Scandic Parken
#2 of 12 in Alesund
4.0 of 5 stars 233 reviews
0.1 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel Bryggen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Brosundet
Hotel Brosundet
#3 of 12 in Alesund
4.5 of 5 stars 248 reviews
0.2 mi away
Scandic Scandinavie
Scandic Scandinavie
#6 of 12 in Alesund
4.0 of 5 stars 111 reviews
0.3 mi away
Quality Hotel Waterfront Alesund
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay