We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 12 Alesund hotels

Quality Hotel Waterfront Alesund

4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Nedre Strandgate 25-27, Alesund 6004, Norway
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Quality Hotel Waterfront Alesund to your Saves list
Quality Hotel Waterfront Alesund
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
78%
Ranked #5 of 12 hotels in Alesund
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 5 days ago
Annaliza A Gardermoen, Norway
  • Reviews (212)
  • Photos (71)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (22)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

212 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    86
    78
    32
    14
    2
See reviews for
15
64
4
67
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bergen
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
23 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

This is a new and nice hotel,with a good location close to the sea. But one have to be very careful when selecting this hotel. They have a sad habit of double charging the room and the spendings at the hotel. This they solve after a while when one contact them and beg them to return your money. This error... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Aina A, Manager at Quality Hotel Waterfront Alesund, responded to this review

Dear Norberg11, First of all we appreciate you taking the time writing a review from your stay at Quality Hotel Waterfront in Ålesund. From reading your review, it seems like you were satisfied with the location in the city center and that the product itself was satisfactory. You mention the staff as good as well and for this we are... More

Gardermoen, Norway
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Location is excellent..It's by the water where cruise ships docks..yet it's quiet .Perfect for a nice start of a city walk ( very cozy city center)..which is just a few minutes from the hotel. Shuttle to airport is also available..just inform the reception about your flt. sched. so they can arrange the rt. time of pick up for you.

Review collected in partnership with NordicChoiceHotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
Aina A, Manager at Quality Hotel Waterfront Alesund, responded to this review

Dear Annaliza, Thank you very much for taking the time writing a review from your stay at Quality Hotel Waterfront. This means a lot to us in our work improving and meeting our guest’s needs. The hotel is situated on the Aspøya - one of the “islands” that forms the city of Ålesund. It’s only a three minutes walk from... More

Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We stayed here one night on a layover during a Norway in a Nutshell tour. It was close to the bus terminal and temporary (2014) Hurtigruten ship terminal so it was convenient. The rooms were clean, the twin beds pulled together were reasonably comfortable, the staff was very friendly and helpful, and it offered one of the few restaurants open... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Aina A, Manager at Quality Hotel Waterfront Alesund, responded to this review

Dear Terps52, First of all, thank you for the informative and nice review from your stay at our hotel recently. Quality Hotel Waterfront is actually a conference hotel except in the summer season - from mid June until mid august - when the tourists arrives town and business as usual is low. Our main guest segment is in fact business... More

Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We had a wonderful stay at the Quality Hotel Waterfront Alesund, thanks to the great manager Caroline. The room was spacious with a lovely view (see attached picture), the beds were comfortable, and they even supplied the extra pillows we requested. The staff arranged for our transportation to and from the airport. The breakfast and the halibut dinner (see attached... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Aina A, Manager at Quality Hotel Waterfront Alesund, responded to this review

Dear Welovetotravel555! Thank you very much for the nice and positive review from your stay at our hotel. From the pictures you have posted, you were allocated an upgraded room in the very front of the “Signature House”. These rooms are spacious and have a lovely view to the fjord and mountains. The reception manager Caroline obviously did a splendid... More

Oslo, Norway
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I had a good short stay in this hotel. It has a good localisation nearby the city centre. Short distance to main attractions. Good breakfast and nice view from the window. A bit small room, but it was clean and looked ok.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Aina A, Manager at Quality Hotel Waterfront Alesund, responded to this review

Dear Martha B, Thank you very mush for your nice review from your stay, this is highly appreciated. The location is in fact very good, only 3-4 minutes walk from the city center and all the shops. Our hotel is practically situated on the waterfront and offers a magnificent view to the mountains as well as the fjord. Thank you... More

Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
54 hotel reviews
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This is a good hotel in the centre of Ålesund. This is a great find for any trip to Ålesund, the staff are fantastic, I was warmly welcomed by Yvonne, who was very helpful throughout my 2 night stay. Rooms are good, I had booked a superior room, with King Bed. The room was clean & had everything needed, unforunately... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Aina A, Manager at Quality Hotel Waterfront Alesund, responded to this review

Dear Guest! This is so exciting for us to read! I have already told Yvonne about your comment on the staff and her especially, she is delighted. When it comes to the room, you are absolutely right about there having been a water leakage quite recently and we are still waiting for the case to be settled. We will of... More

Trondheim, Norway
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Great hotel, really enjoyed my stay. It's newly renovationed and a short distance to the town centre. Good breakfast and resturant. Good views, right beside the landing place for Hurtiruter. Clean, tidy with a modern interior and lovely conference facillities. Ideal base for exploring Ålesund.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Aina A, Manager at Quality Hotel Waterfront Alesund, responded to this review

Dear J_MAC_Fraser, Thank you so much for giving us feedback regarding your stay with us. We highly appreciate it! We are very glad to hear that you are satisfied with our facilities, and that you enjoyed our restaurant. The view from the rooms is spectacular, both in good and bad weather! Regarding the room tips you left, the hotel was... More

Broadbeach, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

The highlight of this property is the staff! The reception staff were incredibly welcoming (not a given in Norway), and went out of their way to assist during our stay. Other staff were voluntarily engaging and happily assisted at any opportunity. Rooms are modern and clean, wifi great, and the restaurant was fantastic. Hotel is located centrally and within walking... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Aina A, Manager at Quality Hotel Waterfront Alesund, responded to this review

Dear ZenmanHB, Thank you so much for taking the time to give us your valuable feedback! We are very glad to hear that you are satisfied with the service provided by the staff and that we could help you when you needed assistance. This is however, something we think our guests can expect when staying at Quality Hotel Waterfront! Even... More

Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

Nice hotell in central Ålesund. Norwegian prices (incl. parking), but Nice room and friendly staff. Roomservice (cleaning and refill of the minibar could be better). Food was good, nice breakfast. Good place to stay

Review collected in partnership with NordicChoiceHotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
Aina A, Manager at Quality Hotel Waterfront Alesund, responded to this review

Dear TElg78, Thanks so much for taking the time to write this review. I am very happy to see that you like our hotel, and that you liked your room. I am also grateful for the comment about the minibar and cleaning, as this gives us the chance to improve regarding those issues. Thank you, and welcome back! More

1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

Have been in this Hotel before, and choose it again because of simplicity. Simple booking and check in. Quite clean, Everything you need in the room for a good night sleep, but nothing fancy. And of course good service by staff.

Review collected in partnership with NordicChoiceHotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
Aina A, Manager at Quality Hotel Waterfront Alesund, responded to this review

Dear Daniel A., thanks so much for taking the time to give us your opinion! I am very happy that you returned to us, and we're looking forward to welcoming you again. More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Quality Hotel Waterfront Alesund, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Quality Hotel Waterfront Alesund? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Hotel Waterfront Alesund

Address: Nedre Strandgate 25-27, Alesund 6004, Norway
Location: Norway > Western Norway > More og Romsdal > Aure Municipality > Alesund
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Quality Hotel Waterfront Alesund 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Nordic Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Tingo, Hotels.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Quality Hotel Waterfront Alesund reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

71 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (59)
Viewed
View from room (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (20)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Other (22)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (13)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Other (4)

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style
#3 Business Hotel in Alesund
Hotel Class
Number of rooms
180

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer