We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 26 Bergen accommodations

Citybox Bergen

Nygardsgaten 31, Bergen 5015, Norway
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Citybox Bergen to your Saves list
Citybox Bergen
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
61%
Ranked #7 of 26 Specialty lodging in Bergen
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 2 weeks ago
violetvale Ontario
  • Overview
  • Reviews (92)
  • Photos (35)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (13)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

92 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    15
    42
    25
    6
    4
See reviews for
15
40
11
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ontario
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
35 hotel reviews
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed one night and chose the hotel based on price mostly. This is a tough review to write--overall the hotel was okay given the prices of alternatives, but for the first time in all my hotel stays, I wasn't happy with the cleanliness level of my room, e.g. there were small stains on my bed linens though I know they... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Amsterdam
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed here for one night after an Airbnb problem. It was €125 for a double with private bath(we upgraded) and no breakfast. We were lucky to find something last minute. Yes, It is shabby, like an adult youth hostel. Large room, not super clean but OK. Clean sheets, great shower head, quiet, good wi- if. Only one night...that is... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Oslo
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
28 hotel reviews
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

Glorified dormitory. Paid 900 NO/$150 USD for a single room with a shared bathroom, no breakfast. Again, two words that do not exist in Norwegian, HIGHWAY ROBBERY, but should. The building has been abused and is showing wear and tear. The room was much larger than your normal Norwegian experience but every time I had to pee, I felt like... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
25 hotel reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

It's not a bad choice at all considering Bergen's prices. It's close to the bus station where the airport shuttle bus drops you off (5 min walk) and a few minutes more to the train station if you're off to Flam, doing the railways or the Norway in a Nutshell trip. It's probably around a 10 min walk to the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
38 hotel reviews
165 helpful votes 165 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

I don’t know age of the property, but it is showing a bit of wear. I spent 3 nights in May 2014. The price makes up for the location, which is a bit outside of central Bergen. However, the main train station is right down the street within 5 minute walk & the Bergen Fish Market down by the docks... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rose-Marie H, Front Office Manager at Citybox Bergen, responded to this review

Dear avio, whoa! Thank you for taking the time to write such a long and thorough review! :) You are correct when you point out the fact that we're located in an old building, and as all old buildings, ours needed a little tlc so the exterior work that you saw, was us repainting the facade of the hotel. We've... More

Moscow, Russia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

This is a basic and minimalist hotel. Our room was quiet with a nice outlook. The location was good - within walking distance to the harbour area. A supermarket was just across the street. Things had to be left on the floor in our room because there was very little hanging, desk or shelf space. The card check-in system did... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rose-Marie H, Front Office Manager at Citybox Bergen, responded to this review

Dear MishaMJK, thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. As you point out, Citybox is a basic hotel, where we have taken away a lot of the "extras" in order to keep our costs down which allow us to sell our room at a lower rate than our competitors. We offer nice, modern and simple rooms at... More

Prasanta45
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014 via mobile

Chose this Hotel for a one night stay. Was a bit apprehensive since the rates were low by bergen standards. The location of the hotel was absolutely central, ten minutes walk from the station and very close to all the tourist spots The rooms are small, but they are perfectly furnished, clean and well maintained. They have provided a room... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Rose-Marie H, Front Office Manager at Citybox Bergen, responded to this review

Dear Prasanta45, thank you for taking the time to write a review. I'm happy to hear that we proved to be better than what you'd expected, based on our low prices ;) Citybox is a simple and modern budget hotel, where we have put a good deal of thought into our design so that we can keep it minimalistic yet... More

Lyon, France
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014

We spent 3 nights in this hostel. Its central location is well practical as you are 5 min walk from the railway station and 5 min walk from the main city area of Bergen. The rooms are much bigger then in the same hostel in Oslo, but also more expensive that is a bit supprising. Unfortunately there were some outside... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Rose-Marie H, Front Office Manager at Citybox Bergen, responded to this review

Dear Petulka218, thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. Regarding the prices: Norway, and Bergen are expensive destinations, and in May the average price for a double room in Bergen is 1531nok. It is only Copenhagen in Denmark that are more expensive in all of Scandinavia in the month of May. However, our average price here at... More

Singapore
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

Exterior is undergoing some renovation work, thus it may not be found easily. We were very lucky to meet a local who brought us there. The place is clean and there is option for shared bathroom too. You will have everything you need for a comfortable stay. Bergen is a small city which you can get by foot easily. If... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rose-Marie H, Front Office Manager at Citybox Bergen, responded to this review

Dear kidman, yes, it is correct that the outside of the hotel is undergoing some renovation at the moment, and unfortunately, this is something all hotels has to do from time to time in order to maintain the buildings. We're happy to hear that you went up Mount Fløyen - the view over Bergen is absolutely beautiful from up there!... More

Floro, Norway
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

room rate have a reasonable price. it is absolutelly recomended. We enjoyed our stay and those bed solutions for kids, they enjoyed a lot. The room is nice big and clean and the location is close to everything.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rose-Marie H, Front Office Manager at Citybox Bergen, responded to this review

Dear potion924, thank you for taking the time to review our hotel! We're happy to hear that your children enjoyed the bunk beds in the family rooms, and that you enjoyed our reasonable prices as well as our excellant location :) Regarding your comment about not getting any information about children activities or our fitness centre: it's very simple, we... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Citybox Bergen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Citybox Bergen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Citybox Bergen

Address: Nygardsgaten 31, Bergen 5015, Norway
Location: Norway > Western Norway > Hordaland > Bergen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Citybox Bergen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citybox Hotel Bergen

35 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (32)
Viewed
Room/suite (16)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
1:15
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Other (1)

Amenities

Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Citybox is a modern economy hotel with low prices.Our rooms are cheap because we keep our overheads down while still offering our guests what they really need: a simple and stylish room with a comfortable bed, a good chair, a desk and a place to hang your clothes. Wireless broadband is available free of charge throughout the hotel.Citybox combines simplicity with comfort and low prices. The hotel is located in the centre of Bergen.If you want to spend your money on something other than a minibar and room service, then Citybox is the place for you. Bergen is full of bars. Why do you need one in your hotel room? ... more   less 
Number of rooms
55

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer