We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

First Hotel Marin

4.0 of 5 Rosenkrantzgaten 8, Bergen 5003, Norway
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
First Hotel Marin
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
First Hotel Marin
Write a Review

447 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    151
    93
    60
    38
See reviews for
82
164
34
76
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (447)
  • Mar-May only
    (64)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (201)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (117)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (65)
All months
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Had a most wonderful time staying in the First Marin Hotel in Bergen with three friends, we shared a very clean and well decorated room and very comfortable chairs and beds. Breakfast is amazing despite the waffle maker being out of action. Tea and Coffee free and available 24/7 which was much appreciated. Staff polite efficient and professional we were... More 

Review collected in partnership with FirstHotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We are very satisfied with our stay. Very sentral,near Brygga, and harbour facilities. All hotel rooms will be renovated by march 2015. Good brakfast. Me room was exelent. 4 rooms was booked for busines collegues

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
MonicaSelvik, General Manager at First Hotel Marin, responded to this review

Dear Per Einar Ask Thank you so much for your positive feedback regarding your stay with us at First Hotel Marin. Our guest feedback is very important to us and we are very happy that you enjoyed your stay. We hope to get the pleasure of welcoming you back to Bergen and First Hotel Marin also in the future. More 

Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
153 reviews 153 reviews
96 hotel reviews
204 helpful votes 204 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Funny story, When I booked Bergen I was actually looking at another hotel, I went to book and accidentally booked this hotel....After a little worried upon seeing the reviews it turns out I had nothing to fear. Arrived Tuesday November 11, Esil checked me in, Great guy and he gave me a room in Bryggen wing which I think was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
MonicaSelvik, General Manager at First Hotel Marin, responded to this review

Dear Harvsman, Thank you very much for your positive feedback regarding your stay at First Hotel Marin. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and felt well taken care of by our staff during your stay with us - especially since you intended to book a different hotel. I will naturally share this positive feedback with my... More 

Amsterdam
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed in a spacious clean room were it was really quiet so it was a good refuge after a long day in de snowy hills of Bergen. The staff was friendly and helpfull in answering our questions. The location is perfect, close to the hills and the city centre, the train station is also at walk distance. We would... More 

Review collected in partnership with FirstHotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
MonicaSelvik, General Manager at First Hotel Marin, responded to this review

Dear Kim B Thank you very much for your positive feedback regarding your stay at First Hotel Marin. Our guests' feedback is very important to us, and I am very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. I look forward to wish you welcome back to First Hotel Marin. Yours sincerely, Monica E. Selvik General Manager First Hotel Marin More 

Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Loved the large, clean, comfortable rooms and beds. Excellent central location without the huge price tag. Staff couldn't be more helpful or efficient. Friendly, no fuss service with a smile. Thank you First Hotel Marin.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
MonicaSelvik, General Manager at First Hotel Marin, responded to this review

Dear Kim B, Thank you very much for your friendly and nice review of our hotel. I appreciate your kind words and we will stay focused on delivering high service with a smile also in the future. On behalf of my staff and myself - we wish to welcome you back to First Hotel Marin the next time you are... More 

Oslo, Norway
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I've stayed at this hotel many times. Mainly for business, but it's just as nice for a city break. Friendly, service minded staff, spaceous rooms that are always nice and clean. Situated in the very centre of Bergen right off the historical "Bryggen" and very close to 2 stops on the airport shuttle bus. It's also just a few minutes... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
MonicaSelvik, General Manager at First Hotel Marin, responded to this review

Dear Miss5star72, Thank you very much for your positive feedback regarding your stay at First Hotel Marin. Our guests' feedback is very important to us, and I am very happy that you have enjoyed your stays with us. I look forward to wish you welcome back to First Hotel Marin. Yours sincerely, Monica E. Selvik General Manager First Hotel Marin More 

l
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2014

Stayed here and unfortunately used the car park in the basement ? What a nightmare I was a bit suspect when I saw the car park was operated by Europarks ? Anyway I asked reception if I could use and they said find a space.So I parked the car and got a ticket from the machine in the car park.when... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
MonicaSelvik, General Manager at First Hotel Marin, responded to this review

Dear brookyunited234, Thank you again for bringing this issue to our attention. It's a top priority for us that the guests gets a good experience also when using the services of our collaborators. As discused in our previous corespondance we have done everything we can to resolve this issue with Europark, and we are very sorry that we were not... More 

Trondheim, Norway
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
25 hotel reviews
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2014

This hotel promised more than it delivered, I'm afraid. The positive of a big and clean room does not balance with the weaknesses: bad mattresses, dated furniture, standard breakfast, low quality toilet paper and toiletries. The ventilation seems to have a strange functioning since our 6th floor room was filled with breakfast smells evere morning. Its location is another thing... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
MonicaSelvik, General Manager at First Hotel Marin, responded to this review

Dear Pinguz, Thank you very much for your feedback regarding your stay with us at First Hotel Marin. I really do appreciate that you took the time to evaluate us, and I can assure you that we will focus on improving our routines regarding the issues that you have pointed out. Please accept my sincere apology. I will bring this... More 

Jakarta, Indonesia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2014

This hotel is most suitable if you come for business only. Room setting is standard, clean but furniture is outdated. Internet speed is quite fast. Strategically located near restaurants, bars, cafes and grocery shop. If you come to Bergen for tourism or with family better find another hotel.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
MonicaSelvik, General Manager at First Hotel Marin, responded to this review

Dear Kopihitam, Thank you very much for your feedback regarding your stay with us at First Hotel Marin! I really do appreciate that you took the time to evaluate us, and I am glad to hear that you appreciated the location. I am sorry to hear that you found the hotel unsuitable for tourists and families. We do have a... More 

Oslo, Norway
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2014

Nice hotel with a good location. Rooms are clean and tidy. Breakfast vas good, with a good variety of dishes. The beds could be better quality and there could be a larger selection of pillows. A lot of nice restaurants within walking distance.

Review collected in partnership with FirstHotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
MonicaSelvik, General Manager at First Hotel Marin, responded to this review

Dear Upsolsen Thank you so much for your positive feedback regarding your stay with us at First Hotel Marin. We are very pleased to hear that you had a nice stay and enjoyed the breakfast. We hope to get the pleasure of welcoming you back to Bergen and First Hotel Marin in near future. Yours sincerely Monica Selvik General Manager More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to First Hotel Marin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about First Hotel Marin

Address: Rosenkrantzgaten 8, Bergen 5003, Norway
Location: Norway > Western Norway > Hordaland > Bergen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — First Hotel Marin 4*
Number of rooms: 152
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your First Hotel Marin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1st Hotel Marin
First Hotel Bergen
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Bergen

115 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (83)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (20)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (25)
Viewed
View from room (5)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Other (24)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (32)
Viewed
Room/suite (19)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay