We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Augustin Hotel

C. Sundts Gate 22, Bergen 5004, Norway
Hotel amenities
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Augustin Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Augustin Hotel
Write a Review

399 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    182
    104
    27
    5
See reviews for
68
178
20
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (399)
  • Mar-May only
    (70)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (200)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (83)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (46)
All months
Oslo, Norway
Top Contributor
188 reviews 188 reviews
40 hotel reviews
137 helpful votes 137 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Stayed two nights in a double room. Quick and painfree check in, nice room, clean, not really anything to complain about. The double bed wasn't really a proper one though, it was two beds smacked together, not what you want if you're with your girl friend. It was very quiet and nice at night, no noise from other rooms or... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tamworth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2015

After our 12 days with Hurtigruten, we stayed at the Augustin Hotel for 2 nights. Had a room with seperate bedroom and the sofa was used as 3rd bed. Breakfast was good. Spent a day walking around the historic area of Bergen. Good shopping. The room also had a small balcony which would be good in summer

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Theodorsk, Guest Relations Manager at Augustin Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Gail D, Thank you very much for your positive feedback. We are glad you enjoyed your room and the hotel breakfast. We hope you got the chance to try our intimate 400-year old Altona restaurant and wine bar during your stay. We hope to see you at Augustin Hotel again. Best regards More 

Forde, Norway
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
31 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2015 via mobile

This hotel lies a bit on the outskirts of downtown Bergen, but within walking distance to shopping, restaurants and entertainment. The room I stayed in was a small double with tiny bathroom with no storage space. I suspect a couple staying here would have to store the toiletries on the desk in the room. No wardrobe either, so nowhere to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Theodorsk, Guest Relations Manager at Augustin Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Beff123, Thank you for your nice review! Augustin Hotel is located in the heart of Bergen, and we are glad you appreciated our convenient location. Our city centre location is one of our greatest benefits with walking distance to all the activities Bergen have to offer. Nice to hear that you found our beds comfortable, even though the size... More 

Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2015

Nice hotel in a short walking distance to the fish market and all sort of commerce stores. Good rooms and good service. The wine bar is awesome. It is interesting having a good winr in such an old place and full of histories!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Theodorsk, Guest Relations Manager at Augustin Hotel, responded to this review

Dear karina_an, Thank you for your positive feedback. We are glad you appreciated our location, staff, guest rooms and intimate 400-year old Altona restaurant and wine bar. We hope to see you in Bergen and at Augustin Hotel again! More 

Burton on Trent
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2015

We stayed either end of a Hurtigruten trip. The rooms were spacious and comfortable, the staff welcoming and friendly, the breakfast buffet had plenty of choice...and they serve complementary waffles in the afternoon! It is a short walk to the Fishmarket, and not far on to other sights, and the stop for the airport bus is also not far, though... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Theodorsk, Guest Relations Manager at Augustin Hotel, responded to this review

Dear oldemor, Thank you very much for your positive review! We are glad you appreciated our guest rooms, staff, services and convenient location. We hope you got the chance to try the hotel’s intimate 400-year old Altona restaurant and wine bar during your stay. I hope we get the pleasure of welcoming you back to Augustin Hotel! More 

Burton-on-trent
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2015

Just like astrobob, we stayed at the Augustin Hotel over two nights, at the start and end of a voyage on the Hurtigruten route. We found the rooms comfortable, the reception friendly and helpful (they speak excellent English) and the breakfast had a good variety. On our second stay, we ate the Altona tavern (part of the same building), which... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
BestofBergen, General Manager at Augustin Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Nickspeak, Thank you very much for your comprehensive review. You haved stayed twice and also tried the Altona wine bar and kitchen. We thank you for your praise of the location, the service, the Food and the ambience. You're right, this January we did set a new rain record i Bergen. I can assure you that April and May... More 

New Mexico
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
38 hotel reviews
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2015

The title says it all. We stayed here two nights - one before and one after our Hurtigruten cruise. Our two different rooms were both clean, comfortable, and quiet. The breakfast was generous with a lot of choices in food. The staff were friendly and helpful. The location is convenient to the stop for the bus to the airport, restaurants,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
BestofBergen, General Manager at Augustin Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Astrobob, Thanks a lot for your inspiring review. We are glad that you were happy about the location and the hotel services. Your remarks about the decor and the art are well received. The selected collection of contemporary paintings and sculptures in guest rooms and common rooms area are discovered and especially appreciated by art lovers. We hope to... More 

Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
24 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2014

Stayed 2 nights. Average hotel in central location which is near to Bryggen, fish market and shopping streets. Room although clean looks a bit tired maybe due to the colour of the carpet and furnitures. Breakfast is good and staff is friendly. Only thing is it can get noisy. There's a party going on downstair and it's rather noisy on... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
BestofBergen, General Manager at Augustin Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Vicky 75_11, Thanks for your review and for chosing Augustin for your stay. We are glad that you liked the location, the friendliness off staff and the cleanliness of the room. We understand your frustration with the noise - you came in a middle of a november Christmas party. You find it average and we respect your view. We... More 

Bergen
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
41 hotel reviews
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2014

Stay at the hotel a few times this fall. It is very average. Rooms are not very nice, beds are just ok, and the bathroom is a joke. Very small and a shower that often doesn't work. There are no extra points for this hotel. Everything is basic and average. Breakfast is ok, while dinner at the in-house restaurant is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Theodorsk, Guest Relations Manager at Augustin Hotel, responded to this review

Dear MacBergen, Thanks for your praise of our wine bar and restaurant in the 400-year old cellar. We are sorry that you didn’t like the room you have been provided with. Please remember you can always ask to change room and we have three room categories standard-upgraded and junior suites. Recently 40 rooms were renovated and we added 18 brand... More 

Dublin
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2014

Small room. Nice breakfast. Good price. Friendly staff. Staff prepared a snack for our early morning taxi which was a nice touch.despite being in one of Europe's most expensive countries we stayed here for 76"euro per night.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Theodorsk, Guest Relations Manager at Augustin Hotel, responded to this review

Dear dustinhoffmanDublin, Thank you very much for your positive review. We are glad to learn you enjoyed your stay. Next time; do not forget that you can ask our reception for an upgraded room our junior suite. We hope to see you again in Bergen! More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

88 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (71)
Viewed
Room/suite (18)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
View from room (10)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (11)
Viewed
Other (26)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (17)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (7)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question