We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 42 Bergen hotels

Augustin Hotel

3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   C. Sundts Gate 22, Bergen 5004, Norway (Vågen)
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Augustin Hotel to your Saves list
Augustin Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
71%
Ranked #10 of 42 hotels in Bergen
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 3 days ago
CheltenhamBabs Cheltenham
  • Overview
  • Reviews (344)
  • Photos (76)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (48)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

344 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    68
    161
    88
    23
    4
See reviews for
53
162
18
48
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cheltenham
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

What a little gem of a hotel. Reception staff happy, helpful and informative.We stayed in a double bedded room on the second level which looked over a non descript courtyard, not used and closed off from stairway. This was not a problem apart from not being able to leave the window open for fresh air while out of the room.Room... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
BestofBergen, General Manager at Augustin Hotel, responded to this review

Dear CheltenhamBabs, Thank you for your comprehensive review and for good advice to future travellers. More

Burnie, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We stayed in this hotel as part of a package deal. The hotel is in a very good location, breakfast was fine and the room was a reasonable size but cleanliness of the bathroom left much to be desired. There was something stuck to the outside of the toilet bowl and more marks around the walls near the toilet. Rather... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
BestofBergen, General Manager at Augustin Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Neville W, Thank you for your review. We understand your frustration with this bathroom and it is not acceptable. Our staff is mostly very experienced and we have set high goals for our work. Cleanliness is a must-have in our hotel. It seems we have failed with your bathroom and we deeply regret this. We are happy that you... More

Bethesda, Maryland
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
15 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Not much we liked about this hotel. It just didn’t feel clean, the rooms and lobby looked as though they were in need of refurbishing 20 years ago and they still haven’t gotten around to it. The bathroom was large, but there was some mold on the tiling around the tub, worn out towels (one with a hole) and no... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
BestofBergen, General Manager at Augustin Hotel, responded to this review

Dear LFK1, Thank you for your review and for your praise of the staff, service and breakfast. The WIFI is normally strong all over the hotel. We will immidiately check the signals in fifth floor. We are sorry that you did not like the appearance of the hotel. We can inform you that we have had 1/3 of the hotel... More

Dana Point, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

First, the good stuff: Staff - kind and helpful. Breakfast - plentiful and fresh. Location - great. Room - you have to know going in, it is old and it feels old, but also a little dirty and dingy. We also had a shower head that we nicknamed the "shower beast" because it kept coming unhinged and spraying all over... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
BestofBergen, General Manager at Augustin Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Jamie W, Thank you for your review and for your praise of the staff and breakfast. We are most sorry for the "shower beast" and will immidiatley try to locate the room so we can change to shower head at once. We have a maintenance team which continously takes care of the rooms. A project of 18 new and... More

East Lansing
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

It has laundry facilities for those travelers who need to run their clothes through a washing machine and dryer! How fantastic, for those who enjoy the close proximity of the great hiking Bergen has to offer (or those who drop fish on their clothes from eating everything at the Bergen fish market!).

Was this review helpful? Yes
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This old and comfortable hotel is near the Bergen waterfront.The rooms are nice, and the triple that we had was particularly comfortable. They have a good restaurant, very helpful service. It is well situated for touring Bergen

Was this review helpful? Yes
sydney
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We were lucky enough to secure a corner room on the third floor with a balcony which offered a nice but limited view of the harbour - we booked a triple room. The hotel staff was fantastic, always giving you their full attention and were extremely helpful which made you feel comfortable and at ease As we traveled with 2... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed 2 nights at this hotel. It is very centrally located within 5 minutes walk to the fish market and ferry terminal. The room that I had, 604, is located in a separate wing of the hotel. To access level 6, you have to take the elevator to 5 and then carry your luggage up a flight of steps... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Scottsdale, AZ
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed there about 10 days ago on the final leg of the Nutshell tour. Tiny room with very smelly drains and moldy caulking around the sink. The shower didn't drain properly and the floors were wet all the time in the bathroom. Heated bath floors made the tiny room too hot. Had a fire alarm go off at 5AM... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Delafield, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This isn't a fancy hotel, but the room was large and clean. The staff was very friendly and helpful, and the hotel was only blocks off the fish market, shopping, etc. At the restaurant located within (in what feels like an ancient wine cellar), we had one of our most memorable meals in Norway. Was a great atmosphere, the food... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Augustin Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Augustin Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Augustin Hotel

Address: C. Sundts Gate 22, Bergen 5004, Norway
Location: Norway > Western Norway > Hordaland > Bergen > Vågen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Augustin Hotel 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Otel so you can book your Augustin Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Augustin Hotel Bergen

76 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (60)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (15)
Viewed
View from room (8)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (11)
Viewed
Other (22)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (17)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (8)

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style
#8 Business Hotel in Bergen
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Centrally located in town centre with some rooms overlooking the harbour. All main attractions within walking distance. Shopping district and pedestrian street just outside the hotel. Family run since 1919. Award winning design(intarsia guestroom doors) in interior. Rich selection of contemporary art in guest rooms and lounges. Wine spectator awarded wine bar and restaurant in 400 year-old six room stone-vaulted cellar. Ten years with best occupancy rate in Bergen as a mid-class, great-value hotel with a homey atmosphere. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
109

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer