We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Scandic Bergen City

Hakonsgaten 2, Bergen 5015, Norway
Hotel amenities
Scandic Bergen City
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ranked #26 of 43 Hotels in Bergen
A recent review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2015
Eduardo R Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Write a Review

298 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    93
    103
    49
    22
See reviews for
28
82
27
106
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (298)
  • Mar-May only
    (54)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (120)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (79)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (45)
All months
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I didn't want to sit on any of the furniture. There were visible bits of crumbs, food, dried stains. The peep hole had a tissue stuffed in it. Everything looks old and not cleaned very well. Grime in the corners in the bathroom. Carpet stained and vacuumed poorly. Paint on the walls chipped. Lots of street noise; windows thin. Furniture... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
biriv, Manager at Scandic Bergen City, responded to this review

Thank you for your reply! We are really sorry to hear that your room hadn’t been properly cleaned. This is really not how it’s supposed to be and if you should encounter something like this again, let us know right away. We’ll take care of it at once or give you another room. I’ll pass this on to our cleaning... More 

Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
24 hotel reviews
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2015

The Breakfast was fantastic, room was dated but comfortable, friendly staff, excellent location. The garage was small and expensive. It was not a cheap place to stay, but there is not such a thing in Bergen.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
biriv, Manager at Scandic Bergen City, responded to this review

Thank you for your review! We are glad to hear that you enjoyed the breakfast buffet, our central location and found our staff friendly. We wish you a happy new year and welcome back to Scandic Bergen City! Best regards, Birte Iversen Marketing Manager More 

Rhenen, The Netherlands
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2014

December 2014 I stayed 3 nights in this hotel. The neighbourhood of downtown Bergen is nice. the breakfast is excellent. Employees are very friendly, makes you feel welcome. What made me dissapointed was the internet bandwith, download drops down below 1Mbps makes it difficult to habe a facetime / skype, or watch some streams. The temperature is hard to control,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
biriv, Manager at Scandic Bergen City, responded to this review

Thank you for your review! We are glad to hear that you are semi-happy with your stays. If you ever experience trouble with the internet and in the bathroom, please do not hesitate to contact the reception so they can help solving the problem. We wish you a merry christmas and a happy new year! Best regards, Scandic Bergen City... More 

Bergen, Norway
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
15 hotel reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2014

As Scandic is kniwn as a midclass hotelchain, this stay gave great value! I ordered online and asked for a room with: bathtube, high up in the hotel and with a large doublebed. I got it all :) as it was Christmas season it surprised me... The room where rather large compared to other hotelroom I have stayed in this... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
biriv, Manager at Scandic Bergen City, responded to this review

Thank you for your review! We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you back one day and in the meantime: Merry Christmas & Happy New Year! Best regards, Scandic Bergen City Birte Iversen Marketing Manager More 

Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
23 hotel reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2014

Location is very convenient, but time is standing still here. Rooms are outdated, bit smelly. Staff is very friendly. Quite some noise from road outside, single glass window. No option to manage room temperature. Either too hot (cannot change setting on radiator) or too cold (with room open). There were stuffed tissues in noisy ventilation openings which looks very poor.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
biriv, Manager at Scandic Bergen City, responded to this review

Thank you for your review! We are so sad to hear that you did not like it here. If you ever choose to visit Bergen again we highly recommend one of our sister hotels, so you get another experience of Scandic. We are happy to hear that the staff took good care of you. We wish you a merry christmas!... More 

Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2014

We were travelling with our infant and stayed there. Breakfast is awesome. We are strict vegetarian and as we had requested in advance for some hot meal preparations for us in breakfast the staff first denied, later they did serve sauteed veggies and pizzas for the breakfast. For 2nights we stayed. We had booked all scandic properties for our stay... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
biriv, Manager at Scandic Bergen City, responded to this review

Thank you for your review! We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay! Good to hear that the staff took good care of you. Hope to see you back one day, and in the meanwhile: Merry christmas! Best regards, Scandic Bergen City Birte Iversen Marketing Manager More 

Taylors, South Carolina
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
14 hotel reviews
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2014

You can't beat the location of this hotel for walking convenience to what you need and want to see in Bergen. It was very clean and comfortable, with friendly and helpful staff. It is not luxurious, but I also did not pay the price for luxury. Our room was spacious and overlooked the city. The lobby has a lovely fireplace... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
biriv, Manager at Scandic Bergen City, responded to this review

Thank you for your review! We are so glad to hear that you enjoyd your stay and the hotel in general. With regards to the wake up call and the breakfast packet, we apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused. This matter has been forwarded to our front desk manager. Welcome back to Scandic Bergen City! Best regards Birte... More 

Ellon, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
35 hotel reviews
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2014

I stayed here mid week for one night. It was a twin room situated to the rear. The bar staff are very friendly and the bar comfortable enough. The rooms (we were in the hotel where the short stay guests are located) are clean, as you would expect, but the beds are very soft. To be fair, I slept well,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
biriv, Manager at Scandic Bergen City, responded to this review

Thank you for your review! We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that you would like to stay again. You are more than welcome to do that - hope to see you back one day! Best regards Scandic Bergen City Birte Iversen Marketing Manager More 

Hamburg, Germany
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
60 hotel reviews
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2014

I stayed for one night at the hotel. In general it is a very good hotel, but my room was facing to the street and the cars driving by were very noisy. I asked for another room (they said no rooms were available) and even some ear plugs they couldn't provide. In addition the hotel has no parking, so you... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
biriv, Manager at Scandic Bergen City, responded to this review

Thank you for your review! We are sorry to hear that you had trouble sleeping, and that we were fully booked and not able to help you get a new room. Keeping ear plugs in the reception is a good idea, so I´ll tell the front desk manager to buy some! Welcome back to Scandic Bergen City! Best regards Birte... More 

Umea, Sweden
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2014

Slightly quirky check-in with the reception being placed in one out of two buildings, however no big issue at all. I stayed in the building opposite of the reception, so my review is based on this. The room was okay overall, kept clean and free of noise despite the street being quite busy even in the small hours of night.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
biriv, Manager at Scandic Bergen City, responded to this review

Thank you for your review! We are happy to hear that you liked it here! Next time you visit us, please ask the reception for restaurant tip as there are several, nice restaurants within 5 min walking distance. We hope to see you back one day! Best regards, Scandic Bergen City Birte Iversen Marketing Manager More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

79 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (68)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (26)
Viewed
Bathroom (12)
Viewed
Other (21)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (11)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question