We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 17 Bergen B&Bs / inns

Alkoven Guesthouse

Save Saved
You added Alkoven Guesthouse to your Saves list
Nordre Skuteviksveien 11, Bergen, Norway
Hotel amenities
  • Overview
  • Reviews (25)
  • Photos (32)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A (1)
  • Room tips (4)
  • Location
  • More
Alkoven Guesthouse
Ranked #2 of 17 Bergen B&B and Inns
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bergen
Check In Check Out
true
Write a Review

25 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    12
    10
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
16
5
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Maribor, Slovenia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The charming house, great owner, nice town and the weather was excellent. We stayed for three nights, we had parked our car in front the house for 100 NOK for a day. The house was clean, we were happy we could use the washing machine and dryer machine. You can just walk to downtown. It was a lovely stay, we... More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Elisabeth R, Owner at Alkoven Guesthouse, responded to this review

So nice to hear you enjoyed your stay, and thank you so much for a nice review. This summer in Bergen has been extra ordinary, with a lot of sunny days. I'm glad you had this good experience of Bergen and your stay at Alkoven. Red room is absolutely the room with most space and a superb view to the... More

Xi'an, China
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Just checked out of Alkoven Guesthouse after spending 2 nights in the 'Loftet' which is the only room with a separate kitchen, toilet and sink supplied with warm water. We had a very warm welcome from Elisabeth's daughter as Elisabeth was out for the day, but she came by later in the evening after we returned from hiking which was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Elisabeth R, Owner at Alkoven Guesthouse, responded to this review

Thanks a lot for a nice and detailed review, I'm glad you had a nice stay and that you will recommend our house to friends and other travelers. Welcome back if you return to Bergen one day! More

Italy
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We spent 2 nights at Alkoven, our room (front street) was the biggest and maybe the nicest one, you can enjoy beautiful sunsets on the sea from its windows and it is very comfortable for 2-3 people. The house was clean and it is equipped with all the necessary also for a longer stay: kitchenware washingmachine and dishwasher. It is... More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Elisabeth R, Manager at Alkoven Guesthouse, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your nice review, it's much appreciated! Welcome back at any time if you ever come back to Bergen :-) More

Ghent, Belgium
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We had a nice stay in the guesthouse. Good location, charming house. We stayed in the smallest room, which I would not recommend because it's not so practical. You need to take stairs and go outside to go to the toilet/bathroom/kitchen.So If you need to go to the toilet during the night, it's not so nice. If you come by... More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Elisabeth R, Manager at Alkoven Guesthouse, responded to this review

Hello, and thank you for your nice review though you had some bad experiences. First about parking: all Bergen is divided into parking zones, I've taken notice from your experience and from now on I always ask my guests if they will come by car or not, so that they will be prepared. Parking tickets are available at Nok 100,-... More

Knaresborough, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I would highly recommend Alkoven Guesthouse. I found it a really comfortable, homely and relaxing place to stay in Bergen, with great facilities and lovely rooms. It is in a peaceful location within easy walking distance of Bergen. Elisabeth is very friendly, welcoming and helpful.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Elisabeth R, Owner at Alkoven Guesthouse, responded to this review

Hello, and thank you so much for your nice review :-) - you are always welcome if you ever plan to return to Bergen! More

Nijmegen, The Netherlands
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

We spent 4 or 5 nights in the Red Room. The room was nice and spacious, and the kitchen was well equipped. Having a kitchen was great! By preparing our own dinner, we saved a lot of money we would otherwise spend in restaurants. The location is beautiful, with a nice view on the harbor, and walking distance from the... More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Elisabeth R, Manager at Alkoven Guesthouse, responded to this review

Hello Ture, and thank you for your nice review. I wanted to ask you one question about your comments to the mattress, to see if I can make it better. What is the reason that you think the mattress should be changed? Was it too soft/hard or other qualities about it you think could be made better? Thanks for answering... More

Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

We stayed in the Red Room for 3 nights in June 2014. Big room with a comfy bed, table and couch. Lovely location within easy walking distance of the town centre. Clean guesthouse with very nice hosts. The kitchen facilities were very handy for self catering.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Elisabeth R, Owner at Alkoven Guesthouse, responded to this review

Thank you very muck for your nice review, always good to hear that my guests had a good experience! :-) More

Baarn, Utrecht, Netherlands
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

In a beautiful street, near the centre, but quiet, Nicely furnished and decorated, comfortable. Good to be able to use the kitchen and the garden. The landlady was not at home, but left a good description and everything we needed was there.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Elisabeth R, Owner at Alkoven Guesthouse, responded to this review

Hello Suzanne, and thank you for your very nice review. I'm sorry I was not able to meet you during your stay, but happy to hear that you managed all well on your own :-) welcome back, if any time! More

Vilnius, Lithuania
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

I stayed in Alkoven for 5 days - from 18 to 23 July 2013. The guesthouse is situated close to the city center (10 min), in the calm place with nice view to the sea. I was in the Green room (it overlooks in the courtyard). The room has a double bed,clean linen and towels, electric heater (I used it... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Valmiera, Latvia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

Alkoven guest house is the perfect place where you can enjoy the Bergen! The wonderful view from the window to the sea we will stay long in the memory if you stay Red room. The guest house has a good geographic location. Good place to stay for a longer period of time because it is self-catering. It allows you to... More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Elisabeth R, Owner at Alkoven Guesthouse, responded to this review

Thank you for your nice feedback after your stay at Alkoven-rent a room. We wish you welcome back anytime if you'll visit Bergen again! More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Alkoven Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Alkoven Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alkoven Guesthouse

Address: Nordre Skuteviksveien 11, Bergen, Norway
Location: Norway > Western Norway > Hordaland > Bergen

32 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (22)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (9)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (11)
Viewed
Other (11)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in
any neighborhood
in Bergen with
any amenities

Amenities

Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Number of rooms
4

Questions & Answers

Here’s what questions travelers have asked, with answers from representatives of Alkoven Guesthouse and other travelers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Alkoven Guesthouse staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer