We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 17 Bergen B&Bs / inns

Alkoven Guesthouse

Save Saved
You added Alkoven Guesthouse to your Saves list
Nordre Skuteviksveien 11, Bergen, Norway
Hotel amenities
Alkoven Guesthouse
Ranked #2 of 17 Bergen B&B and Inns
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bergen
Check In Check Out
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    12
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
19
6
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (29)
  • Mar-May only
    (5)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (17)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (7)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (0)
All months
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I stayed five nights at Alkoven Guesthouse and had the Chance to sleep in three different rooms. First of all Elisabeth and her family are great hosts, it begins with Elisabeth's helpfulness to make the organization as easy as possible before you even arrive at Bergen and continues while your are Staying at Alkoven. I stayed in the Loft, which... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Elisabeth R, Owner at Alkoven Guesthouse, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your nice review, - this was really three in one - I'm glad to hear that you had this good impression, and for taking your time for writing this review. Welcome back another time, - you only miss the Red room, that will be for your next visit. More

Brighton
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

First of all we really appreciated how Elisabeth sent a well detailed email giving us information for our arrival as she would not be in. We arrived to find she had also left a helpful and friendly note which was sweet of her. The street itself was a quiet little row of traditional wooden townhouses looking down onto the sea.... More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Elisabeth R, Owner at Alkoven Guesthouse, responded to this review

Thank you so much! This made my day :-) - good to hear you felt so welcome and home in our house. More

Copenhagen, Denmark
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We enjoyed our stay at the loft. It's a cozy little room with private toilet and a little kitchen. It was nice to have a private kitchen as the roomwas on the top floor (same goes for the toilet). The downside is that since the room is just under the roof the sloping walls makes it hard to stand up... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Elisabeth R, Owner at Alkoven Guesthouse, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review. Loftet is a nice room when you need a bit more privacy, and of course in this old house, dated back to 1885, stairs are narrow and steep, but hopefully the charming details makes my guest keep this as a memory for their vacation in Bergen. Welcome back another time! More

Maribor, Slovenia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

The charming house, great owner, nice town and the weather was excellent. We stayed for three nights, we had parked our car in front the house for 100 NOK for a day. The house was clean, we were happy we could use the washing machine and dryer machine. You can just walk to downtown. It was a lovely stay, we... More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Elisabeth R, Owner at Alkoven Guesthouse, responded to this review

So nice to hear you enjoyed your stay, and thank you so much for a nice review. This summer in Bergen has been extra ordinary, with a lot of sunny days. I'm glad you had this good experience of Bergen and your stay at Alkoven. Red room is absolutely the room with most space and a superb view to the... More

Xi'an, China
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

Just checked out of Alkoven Guesthouse after spending 2 nights in the 'Loftet' which is the only room with a separate kitchen, toilet and sink supplied with warm water. We had a very warm welcome from Elisabeth's daughter as Elisabeth was out for the day, but she came by later in the evening after we returned from hiking which was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Elisabeth R, Owner at Alkoven Guesthouse, responded to this review

Thanks a lot for a nice and detailed review, I'm glad you had a nice stay and that you will recommend our house to friends and other travelers. Welcome back if you return to Bergen one day! More

Italy
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

We spent 2 nights at Alkoven, our room (front street) was the biggest and maybe the nicest one, you can enjoy beautiful sunsets on the sea from its windows and it is very comfortable for 2-3 people. The house was clean and it is equipped with all the necessary also for a longer stay: kitchenware washingmachine and dishwasher. It is... More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Elisabeth R, Manager at Alkoven Guesthouse, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your nice review, it's much appreciated! Welcome back at any time if you ever come back to Bergen :-) More

Ghent, Belgium
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

We had a nice stay in the guesthouse. Good location, charming house. We stayed in the smallest room, which I would not recommend because it's not so practical. You need to take stairs and go outside to go to the toilet/bathroom/kitchen.So If you need to go to the toilet during the night, it's not so nice. If you come by... More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Elisabeth R, Manager at Alkoven Guesthouse, responded to this review

Hello, and thank you for your nice review though you had some bad experiences. First about parking: all Bergen is divided into parking zones, I've taken notice from your experience and from now on I always ask my guests if they will come by car or not, so that they will be prepared. Parking tickets are available at Nok 100,-... More

Knaresborough, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

I would highly recommend Alkoven Guesthouse. I found it a really comfortable, homely and relaxing place to stay in Bergen, with great facilities and lovely rooms. It is in a peaceful location within easy walking distance of Bergen. Elisabeth is very friendly, welcoming and helpful.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Elisabeth R, Owner at Alkoven Guesthouse, responded to this review

Hello, and thank you so much for your nice review :-) - you are always welcome if you ever plan to return to Bergen! More

Nijmegen, The Netherlands
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

We spent 4 or 5 nights in the Red Room. The room was nice and spacious, and the kitchen was well equipped. Having a kitchen was great! By preparing our own dinner, we saved a lot of money we would otherwise spend in restaurants. The location is beautiful, with a nice view on the harbor, and walking distance from the... More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Elisabeth R, Manager at Alkoven Guesthouse, responded to this review

Hello Ture, and thank you for your nice review. I wanted to ask you one question about your comments to the mattress, to see if I can make it better. What is the reason that you think the mattress should be changed? Was it too soft/hard or other qualities about it you think could be made better? Thanks for answering... More

Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

We stayed in the Red Room for 3 nights in June 2014. Big room with a comfy bed, table and couch. Lovely location within easy walking distance of the town centre. Clean guesthouse with very nice hosts. The kitchen facilities were very handy for self catering.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Elisabeth R, Owner at Alkoven Guesthouse, responded to this review

Thank you very muck for your nice review, always good to hear that my guests had a good experience! :-) More

Do you own or manage Alkoven Guesthouse?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Alkoven Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alkoven Guesthouse

Address: Nordre Skuteviksveien 11, Bergen, Norway
Location: Norway > Western Norway > Hordaland > Bergen
Number of rooms: 4

32 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (22)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (9)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (11)
Viewed
Other (11)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Near Alkoven Guesthouse