We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 17 Bergen B&Bs / inns

Alkoven Guesthouse

Save
You added Alkoven Guesthouse to your Saves list
Nordre Skuteviksveien 11, Bergen, Norway
Hotel amenities
Alkoven Guesthouse
Ranked #3 of 17 Bergen B&B and Inns
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bergen
Check In Check Out
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    13
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
19
8
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (32)
  • Mar-May only
    (5)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (17)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (8)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (2)
All months
Turku, Finland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I stayed in Kvisten for 5 nights during an intensive university course at NHH. Ok, The room is a tad far away from the kitchen, toilet and bathroom. Ok, the room itself is quite small. But for the price of my accommodation, this was easily tolerable. Then the pros. The hostess, Elisabeth, was wonderful. She was kind, cheerful and assisting... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Elisabeth R, Owner at Alkoven Guesthouse, responded to this review

Thank you for taking your time to write a review. It's good to hear that you where happy about the service and the fascilities at the house. The distance from us to the railwaystation is about 2 kilometers and max 1 kilometer from us to the fishmarket and the city centre, - it's nice to know for later guests who... More 

London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My partner and I were visiting Bergen for the first time, having been invited to an international conference at KODA. We wanted to find a quiet place, not too far from the centre of Bergen, and preferably a B&B. Elisabeth was incredibly kind and helpful when we enquired about a room, and she offered us a lovely, cosy room towards... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Elisabeth R, Owner at Alkoven Guesthouse, responded to this review

Thank you for a nice review. Kvisten is our most popular room for single travelleres, as it's cheap - and we keep different prices for single travellers then couple. It's a small room, but good to hear you find it was big enough for the two of you. The bed inside the room is easy to prepare as a double,... More 

Montgomery, Alabama
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I stayed at Alkoven for a total of four weeks over two visits during my trip to Bergen and it was, by far, the best accommodation I experienced while there. I rented Kvisten as I was traveling by myself and did not require much space. First and foremost, Elisabeth was fantastic in regards to communicating with me via email and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Elisabeth R, Owner at Alkoven Guesthouse, responded to this review

Thank you so much for this nice review! I'm glad you had this good experience while staying here. Welcome back if you ever get to Bergen again! More 

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2014

I stayed five nights at Alkoven Guesthouse and had the Chance to sleep in three different rooms. First of all Elisabeth and her family are great hosts, it begins with Elisabeth's helpfulness to make the organization as easy as possible before you even arrive at Bergen and continues while your are Staying at Alkoven. I stayed in the Loft, which... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Elisabeth R, Owner at Alkoven Guesthouse, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your nice review, - this was really three in one - I'm glad to hear that you had this good impression, and for taking your time for writing this review. Welcome back another time, - you only miss the Red room, that will be for your next visit. More 

Brighton
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2014

First of all we really appreciated how Elisabeth sent a well detailed email giving us information for our arrival as she would not be in. We arrived to find she had also left a helpful and friendly note which was sweet of her. The street itself was a quiet little row of traditional wooden townhouses looking down onto the sea.... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Elisabeth R, Owner at Alkoven Guesthouse, responded to this review

Thank you so much! This made my day :-) - good to hear you felt so welcome and home in our house. More 

Copenhagen, Denmark
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2014

We enjoyed our stay at the loft. It's a cozy little room with private toilet and a little kitchen. It was nice to have a private kitchen as the roomwas on the top floor (same goes for the toilet). The downside is that since the room is just under the roof the sloping walls makes it hard to stand up... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Elisabeth R, Owner at Alkoven Guesthouse, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review. Loftet is a nice room when you need a bit more privacy, and of course in this old house, dated back to 1885, stairs are narrow and steep, but hopefully the charming details makes my guest keep this as a memory for their vacation in Bergen. Welcome back another time! More 

Maribor, Slovenia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

The charming house, great owner, nice town and the weather was excellent. We stayed for three nights, we had parked our car in front the house for 100 NOK for a day. The house was clean, we were happy we could use the washing machine and dryer machine. You can just walk to downtown. It was a lovely stay, we... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Elisabeth R, Owner at Alkoven Guesthouse, responded to this review

So nice to hear you enjoyed your stay, and thank you so much for a nice review. This summer in Bergen has been extra ordinary, with a lot of sunny days. I'm glad you had this good experience of Bergen and your stay at Alkoven. Red room is absolutely the room with most space and a superb view to the... More 

Xi'an, China
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

Just checked out of Alkoven Guesthouse after spending 2 nights in the 'Loftet' which is the only room with a separate kitchen, toilet and sink supplied with warm water. We had a very warm welcome from Elisabeth's daughter as Elisabeth was out for the day, but she came by later in the evening after we returned from hiking which was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Elisabeth R, Owner at Alkoven Guesthouse, responded to this review

Thanks a lot for a nice and detailed review, I'm glad you had a nice stay and that you will recommend our house to friends and other travelers. Welcome back if you return to Bergen one day! More 

Italy
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

We spent 2 nights at Alkoven, our room (front street) was the biggest and maybe the nicest one, you can enjoy beautiful sunsets on the sea from its windows and it is very comfortable for 2-3 people. The house was clean and it is equipped with all the necessary also for a longer stay: kitchenware washingmachine and dishwasher. It is... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Elisabeth R, Manager at Alkoven Guesthouse, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your nice review, it's much appreciated! Welcome back at any time if you ever come back to Bergen :-) More 

Ghent, Belgium
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

We had a nice stay in the guesthouse. Good location, charming house. We stayed in the smallest room, which I would not recommend because it's not so practical. You need to take stairs and go outside to go to the toilet/bathroom/kitchen.So If you need to go to the toilet during the night, it's not so nice. If you come by... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Elisabeth R, Manager at Alkoven Guesthouse, responded to this review

Hello, and thank you for your nice review though you had some bad experiences. First about parking: all Bergen is divided into parking zones, I've taken notice from your experience and from now on I always ask my guests if they will come by car or not, so that they will be prepared. Parking tickets are available at Nok 100,-... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Alkoven Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alkoven Guesthouse

Address: Nordre Skuteviksveien 11, Bergen, Norway
Location: Norway > Western Norway > Hordaland > Bergen
Number of rooms: 4

32 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (22)
Viewed
Family/play areas (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (13)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (11)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay