We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Britannia Hotel

Dronningensgate 5, Trondheim 7401, Norway
Hotel amenities
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Britannia Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Britannia Hotel
Share an Experience

356 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    134
    65
    32
    11
See reviews for
50
114
34
107
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (356)
  • Mar-May only
    (89)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (109)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (101)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (57)
All months
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

Charming room, good service, fantastic spa, lovely breakfast in Palmehaven, romantic and comfort. In the middle of Trondheim city. The best hotel I've stayed in in Trondheim! Central and quiet, perfect!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Lugano
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Hotel has lots of character, staff are very helpful and friendly, but the high spot of our stay was the breakfast, I have been in very few hotels in the world, if any, with such a fantastic breakfast in such a great location.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Trondheim, Norway
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Britannia hotel is a little expensive, but a nice hotel to stay in. The rooms are old-looking. The spa is relaxing and have a good atmosphere. Good food in the reasturant and beautiful seating. The staff is very nice and service minded.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ThonBritannia, Leder  at Britannia Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Jannicke M, Thank you very much for staying with us and for taking the time to give us your feedback. Im glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Britannia Hotel. We are constantly develpoing our product and all that comes with it, and its nice to hear that it is appreciated. Welcome back another time. Best regards... More 

Levanger
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2015

This was not our first time at this hotel, and absoloutely not our last.. The staff is very good, and our room was very nice, we paid for a upgraded room, and we got it, with too bedrooms and lots of place in our room. And the Spa are allways the best..... We be back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
ThonBritannia, General Manager at Britannia Hotel, responded to this review

Dear VillyV60, Thank you for taking the time to give us your "Fantastic" review. It is always a pleasure for us to see that our guests finds Britannia Hotel very satisfying. Welcome back for your next stay! Best Regards Arne Marius Berg General Manager More 

Tromsø, Troms, Norway
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
29 hotel reviews
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2015

Stayed at Thon Britannia from a Friday to Sunday with my girlfriend. The hotel is an old but venerable building in the very heart of Trondheim city centrum. The airport bus shuttle runs by not far from the hotel, and a big variety of shops and restaurants are within immediate walking distance. The hotel's central location turned out to also... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ThonBritannia, Leder  at Britannia Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Sigurd K, Thank you for your stay and for your feedback. Unfortunately some of our rooms are facing towards Karma Lounge Club. We are regularly communicating with the club regarding noise and disturbance. We soon hope to be initiating measures that will reduce the noise level and activity significantly. Apart from that I’m glad to hear that you enjoyed... More 

Norway
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
45 hotel reviews
186 helpful votes 186 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2015

This is an old gem with the restaurant "Palm Garden" as heart. Very good food. Perfect location. Had a somewhat tired room, but good space and well appointed. The Thon chain have preferred a new spa before a renewal of rooms. The spa was not included and a miss. The basic idea was "meditation" with a lot of odors and... More 

Review collected in partnership with ThonHotels.no

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
ThonBritannia, General Manager at Britannia Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Langvass, Thank you for staying at Britannia Hotel and for taking the time to give us your feedback. We are constantly developing our food and its pleasing to hear that its appreciated. The spa and wellness area was build years before Thon Hotels took over the operation at the hotel, but was indeed prioritized before room improvements. I’m sorry... More 

Molde, Norway
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
21 hotel reviews
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2015

We have stayed here several times before. I have also written reviews from this before. The first time we gave it excellent score. Last time a poor review. We was excited to see if there was any changes since this was the first time we stayed here after Thon hotels took over the hotel. We are staying here from Sunday... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ThonBritannia, General Manager at Britannia Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Ebsen, Thank you so much for taking the time to give us a good feedback. I am greatful to hear that you had a pleasant stay at the Britannia Hotel. We are constantly developing our product and I`m pleased to see that it`s noticed by our guests. Welome back to the Britannnia Hotel Best Regards Arne Marius Berg General... More 

1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2015

When we ordered the room they did not inform us that all the pools would be closed during our stay. This information we only got when we checked in. The balcony of our room had empty beer cans on it. Tough the inside was clean and well made. During the late evening there was some kind of student event at... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ThonBritannia, General Manager at Britannia Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Pål H, First of all, thank you very much for your stay with us. We appreciate you taking the time to give us your feedback. First of all, i am very sorry to hear that your experience with us was disappointing and couldn't live up to your expectations. Regarding your comments on our room service breakfast i can assure... More 

Trondheim
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2015

Nice hotel with beutiful restaurant Palmehaven. Close location in Trondheim. Nice Spa with pool and saunas but you have to pay extra for entrance. Dit not eat in the restaurants in the evening but there is two of them.

Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
ThonBritannia, General Manager at Britannia Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Lars, Thank you very much for your nice feedback and for staying at Britannia Hotel. It pleases me to hear that you enjoyed our fasilities during your stay. Welcome back another time. Best regards Arne Marius Berg General Manager More 

Trondheim Municipality, Norway
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2014

Great service, atmosphere and spa. Nice rooms, and the breakfast in Palmehaven is like beeing back in the glorius tweenties, with full service. You feel like a special guest, and in an luxury environment.

Review collected in partnership with ThonHotels.no

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

367 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (61)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (10)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
View from room (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (18)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (17)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (277)
Viewed
Amenities (90)
Viewed
Deluxe Room (31)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (62)
Viewed
Suite (29)
Viewed
The Hotel (38)
Viewed
Twin Standard Room (27)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (29)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (6)
Viewed
Other (3)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question