We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Thon Hotel Brygga

Nedre Langgate 40, Tonsberg 3126, Norway
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Thon Hotel Brygga
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Thon Hotel Brygga
Share an Experience

73 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    41
    15
    1
    1
See reviews for
7
13
1
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (73)
  • Mar-May only
    (16)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (19)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (19)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (19)
All months
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Six days stay....no shampoo....promised newspaper, never got it, etc. Simple breakfas, just ok. Room was ok. Broken table. Dirty bathroom. Check in was good and fast. Good location close to the sea. Friendky staff.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Marianneteien, General Manager at Thon Hotel Brygga, responded to this review

Good afternoon! Thank you for your feedback after staying at our hotel! I am sorry that you did not get the shampoo etc. in your room, and that the bathroom was not cleaned properly. There has been a miss in our routines, and we have reviewed these to avoid this in the future. I am sorry that you did not... More 

Paris, France
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
6 hotel reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2015

Everything is in the title =) Very nice place to stay in Tonsberg. Well located. Rooms pretty big, very very clean. Each time I'm going to this hotel I wake up very early to enjoy the crazy breakfast. Two bad points: the single bed, too small, and if you you a bedroom without the view you will have a very... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Marianneteien, General Manager at Thon Hotel Brygga, responded to this review

Good morning Pascaline C! Thank you for your positiv feedback concerning your stay at our hotel. I am glad that you wil share your experience and that you like our breakfast. We want all our guests to have a good start to the day! Concerning the beds and the rooms; we have both single, twin and double rooms. To avoid... More 

Emirate of Sharjah, United Arab Emirates
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2015

I was very disappointed in my stay at this charmingly-named, but otherwise disappointing location. I was amazed that this relatively new location would not have some kind of exercise facility--it's been so long that I have found a hotel with no exercise facility that I assume it is a standard part of every hotel in 2015--but not here. Also parking... More 

Review collected in partnership with ThonHotels.no

Was this review helpful? Yes
Marianneteien, General Manager at Thon Hotel Brygga, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback! I am sorry that your stay did not respond to your expectations. We have no exercise facilities at the hotel, but cooperates with a local gym in towm. If you are wondering which facilities there are at the hotel, do not hesitate to visit our website or send us an email. Here you also will... More 

Brussels, Belgium
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2014

Tønsberg, Norways' oldest town is dating its history to the Vikings,it is more civilized these days. Thon Brygga is on the waterfront, a rather small hotel but recently constructed. But is fits in with the older part of the harbour. Nice rooms, a good a la carte restaurant with out-door service during warm summer days.

Review collected in partnership with ThonHotels.no

Was this review helpful? Yes
Marianneteien, General Manager at Thon Hotel Brygga, responded to this review

Thank you for telling us how you experienced your stay in our hotel! We appreciate your feedback regarding our great location and restaurant. Welcome back to thon Hotel Brygga next time you visit Tønsberg! Enjoy your Christmas preparations! More 

Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2014

The Thon is a pretty standard hotel but is clean and functional. Part of the Thon chain. More than hoppy to stay here. The breakfast is good and quite close to an English. One of the two best hotels in Tonsberg. There is a car parking charge of about £11 per night.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Marianneteien, General Manager at Thon Hotel Brygga, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback! I am glad yoy enjoyed your stay at our hotel an especialle that you liked our cleaning and breakfast! Welcome backt to Thon Hotel Brygga the next time you visit Tønsberg! More 

Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
20 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2014

Overall: 4 Other comments: central location, services delivered, parking space run by the someone charging a lot 24/7 Location: 4 Reception: 4 Room: 4 View: 4 WiFi: 4 Cleanliness: 3 Breakfast: 4 Parking: 1 Service: 4 Additional offers: 4 Price: 3 Price/value: 4

Was this review helpful? Yes
Marianneteien, General Manager at Thon Hotel Brygga, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback! Welcome back! More 

Stavanger, Norway
Top Contributor
152 reviews 152 reviews
45 hotel reviews
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

This is a charming and well kept hotel on the quay side. Nice clean rooms, very good breakfast and helpful staff. The location is one of the best things about this place, and everything you need is within walking distance. There are some very good restaurants further down the quay. The service minded and helpful staff in the reception and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Marianneteien, General Manager at Thon Hotel Brygga, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your feedback! We appreciate that you are satisfied with both the location, cleanliness and service in restaurant and reception! Welcome back to Thon Hotel Brygga the next time you visit Tønsberg! More 

Copenhagen, Denmark
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

We stayed two nights in February of 2014 to attend a wedding. Rooms were comfortable and very clean, although the decor is a little outdated. The breakfast each morning was included in the price of our room, which was nice and they had a great selection. We especially lliked that there was always coffee or tea available for guests in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Marianne6730, Manager at Thon Hotel Brygga, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your nice review. I am glad that you enjoyed both breakfast, coffee and our nice location, and especially glad that you found our staff helpful and friendly! Welcome back to Thon Hotel Brygga next time you visit our beautiful city! More 

Chester, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

I have spent many weeks over the course of two and a half years staying in this hotel. I came to regard it as my home from home. The staff were always very friendly, and helpful, there was always a welcoming smile as I returned from a long hard days work. The rooms, although not that big, were clean and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Marianne6730, General Manager at Thon Hotel Brygga, responded to this review

Hello Tony! Thank you very much for your nice review. It is nice to see that you are still thinking of us! Hope to see you again either during a work trip or as a tourist! Wish you the very best! More 

Oslo, Norway
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
25 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

Spent two nights at Thon Hotel Brygga. The hotel itself was nice and the staff were very helpful. We really enjoyed the complementary coffee and cake in the lobby (five to seven). The bed was very comfortable and I really enjoyed that the bed came with one soft and one hard pillow. The parking was very expensive, I paid almost... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Marianne6730, Manager at Thon Hotel Brygga, responded to this review

Thank you for your resonse! I am glad that you enjoyed your stayt at our hotel and that you appreciated both our staff, the bed and the afternoon coffee especially. Regarding the prices on the municipal parking outside, we apologize, but unfortunately there is nothing the hotel can do! Welcome back the next time you visite Tønsberg. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

21 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (15)
Viewed
View from room (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question