We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 88 Oslo hotels

Scandic Sjolyst

3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Sjolyst Plass 5,, Oslo 0212, Norway (Formerly Scandic Oslo Sjolyst)
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Scandic Sjolyst to your Saves list
Scandic Sjolyst
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
50%
Ranked #63 of 88 hotels in Oslo
A recent review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014
Arteta_10 Norway
  • Overview
  • Reviews (142)
  • Photos (43)
  • Location
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (13)
  • More
true
Write a Review

142 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    18
    45
    49
    25
    5
See reviews for
15
23
16
77
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Norway
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
26 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

The hotel is close to our office and therefore used much. The hotel has nice personell and efficient check-in and check-out. Breakfast is good. What is really needed is an upgrade of the rooms, and aircon(not in place) Will not stay here during summer.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jannicke L, General Manager at Scandic Sjolyst, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you for leaving a comment regarding your stays with Scandic Sjølyst. We are very happy to hear that the location is convenient, that the breakfast is good and that you are experiencing effecient check in and check out. We are in a refurbishing process, we just finished the eight floor with the new rooms and a gym. In... More

London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

Had to stay here 1 night for a wedding. The room was hot, the window barely opened, and apparently no air con. We called the reception and they said there was nothing we could do. At night, guests were standing out talking very loudly, from about 3-8 AM and we couldn't shut the window in order to avoid suffocation. There... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jannicke L, General Manager at Scandic Sjolyst, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us at Scandic Sjølyst. We are very sorry to hear that you had a bad experience with us and that you could not "wait to leave". We want all our guest to feel at home and that they had a pleasent stay. The heat that Oslo has experienced... More

Helsinki, Finland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

Recently I visited Norway, did some exploring on my own. So I stayed in this Scandic Sjolyst. Had a nice little room, cozy breakfast. I remember belgian guy working there, so he advised me some good places to visit. Made my trip way more exciting. Definitely coming back!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jannicke L, General Manager at Scandic Sjolyst, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you very much for taking the time to leave a comment regarding your stay with us! We are so grateful and thankful that you took the time to honor our staff and not but least Tijs (the belgium guy) in the reception! He will be very happy to hear that with his advice made your trip better! We... More

Märsta
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

At least you know what you get when you stay in a Scandic hotel. Comfy bed, but it stays there. At least this hotel is close to the trainstation for easy/cheap access to/from airport. And there are plenty of small restaurants in the area if you dont want to eat at the hotel. But thats pretty much it, doubt if... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

I was here for business trip last week and this is the hotel my colleague recommended as this is near to my office. I booked the superior plus and it turn out to be very comfortable and spacious. The room can be shared by 4 person. There are window glass from the front door where people can view into the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jannicke L, General Manager at Scandic Sjolyst, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review about your stay here with us! We are happy to hear that you found the location conventient to your office and that you would like use the hotel again. During your stay you have stayed in our newfly refurbished deluxe rooms with private balcony. The purpose of the "windows"... More

The Hague
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
45 hotel reviews
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

This hotel provides you with all the basic needs of a business traveller. But it takes away most of the joys of a stay. Interior quite a bit worn out and dull as hell. Tiny little rooms with tiny little beds (single beds, really...?). No A/C ('but you can open the windows'). On the bright side: reasonable breakfast (lousy coffee... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jannicke L, General Manager at Scandic Sjolyst, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you for taking the time to leave a comment regarding your stay. Most of the hotel has twin beds or king beds, but we do however have some single beds room. The interior and design is varied in the hotel. We have 5 different styles, so I do not know which floor you stayed on, but you are... More

London, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

Not a great hotel. I was there for a 2 night business trip. After waiting in the queue to check in I was asked to pay for both nights on arrival... The room was old and shabby (single bed). The bathroom had cracks in the tiles and the coating on the tap had worn down to the bare metal underneath.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jannicke L, General Manager at Scandic Sjolyst, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay about us! We are sorry you had to quaue at the front desk. From time to time many customers can arrive at the same time, but we try our best to be quick and efficient. We are however sorry to hear you had to wait. When it comes to... More

UK
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
29 hotel reviews
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

I stayed here on a recent business trip. The hotel is ideally situated - close to the railway station which has a fast train directly to the airport. My room was a superior king sized room on the 8th floor. Tv ironing board kettle hair dryer - all the usual Things you'd expect to find in your hotel room. Best... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jannicke L, General Manager at Scandic Sjolyst, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you first of all for taking the time to write such a detailed an informative description of your stay! We are very happy to hear we managed to accomdate a good stay for you as a customer! Thank you and we look forward to welcomin you back! Best regards, Jannicke Holmgreen Lorentzen More

Tromso, Norway
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

We have had several overnights at this hotel, really because its a great place to stay! We travel here as a group of 10-12 people, and we always have to check in early, but it seems to never be a problem, helps us a lot. Nice, standard rooms with good beds, but the breakfast buffet and the people working in... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Jannicke L, General Manager at Scandic Sjolyst, responded to this review

Hello, What a pleasent review to read! With a comments such as:"the breakfast buffet and the people working in the kitchen there is the best! Always a smile on their face, and with great service" we get very motivated and happy! I will share the great feedback with the staff, we are proud to hear that you have experience good... More

Kristiansand
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
26 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014

I was here two nights. The reception and the bar/restaurant were nice. The staff was friendly and helpfull. I was a bit disappointed about the standard to the room I got. It was signs of use. The minibar was empty, so the purpose was to cool down your bring-along-drinks? The breakfast was well assorted in Scandinavian standard. The rooms facing... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jannicke L, General Manager at Scandic Sjolyst, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you for taking the time to review your experience with us. We are happy to hear the staff was helpful and that the breakfast met your expectations of a Scandinavian standard However we are sorry to hear the room did not live up to your expectations. In Scandic we do not offer the service of stocked minibars, our... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Scandic Sjolyst, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Scandic Sjolyst? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Sjolyst

Address: Sjolyst Plass 5,, Oslo 0212, Norway (Formerly Scandic Oslo Sjolyst)
Location: Norway > Eastern Norway > Oslo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Scandic Sjolyst 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, Otel and Venere so you can book your Scandic Sjolyst reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scandic Oslo Sjolyst Hotel Oslo
Scandic Hotel Oslo

43 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (28)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (12)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (16)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (9)

Near Scandic Sjolyst

Enlarge Map
Top-rated Attractions Nearby
No photo provided
Holmsbu Church
Churches/ Cathedrals
Gol Stave Church
Churches/ Cathedrals

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Class
Number of rooms
216

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Scandic Sjolyst staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer