We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Thon Hotel Vika Atrium

Munkedamsveien 45, Oslo 0250, Norway
Hotel amenities
Thon Hotel Vika Atrium
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ranked #61 of 85 Hotels in Oslo
A recent review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2014
Blueangel1980 Oslo, Norway
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    47
    24
    15
    8
See reviews for
17
27
7
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (114)
  • Mar-May only
    (32)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (31)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (32)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (19)
All months
Oslo, Norway
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2014

My husband and my two sons stayed at this hotel recently and we booked a family room. It was spacious, complete with amenities and good breakfast. Stratetegically located too and accessible to all public transportation.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Vidar M, Front Office Manager at Thon Hotel Vika Atrium, responded to this review

Dear Blueangel 1980, Thank you for your nice comment after your stay with us this December. It is nice to read that our family rooms meet your needs, and that you had a nice stay here. Welcome back to us another time. More 

Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2014

Got a good deal for a family room and it was a big room. Clean with good amenities but no toothbrush. The room was facing indoor office area so the first thing we did was to pull the curtains to avoid office workers looking inside the room. I like natural light more than lamps😉 breakfast was quite ok but I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Vidar M, Front Office Manager at Thon Hotel Vika Atrium, responded to this review

Dear Mr. , Firstly thank you so much for your feedback. We are sorry to hear that your stay did not live up to the expectations you had. Regarding the noise I am truly sorry for the inconvenience of staying next to an elevator. Should you ever want to stay at our hotel again we would surely provide you a... More 

London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2014

I travel most weeks due to business and generally have no problems....I also understand that renovations need to take place, but I booked this hotel online and at nearly GBP200 per night I would have expected a little more......on arrival, the people at the temporary reception desk told me there was work going on and it should finish by 8.00pm.... More 

Review collected in partnership with ThonHotels.no

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Vidar M, Front Office Manager at Thon Hotel Vika Atrium, responded to this review

Dear Mr. Simon T, First and foremost thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are truly sorry to hear that your stay at our hotel did not live up to your expectations. Due to renovation we have faced a few difficulties such as the ones you are describing. Unfortuantly this is not gonna be helpfull for... More 

1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2014

Location is excellent, breakfast is good, roomtemperature too warm and hard to adjust. You could open window, but then you also opened for the noise from the city. And a total lack of sound-isolation against corridor!!! Was woken up twice due to noisy guests comming out of the elevator. (We had room 401, just by the elevator). Sounded close to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Vidar M, Front Office Manager at Thon Hotel Vika Atrium, responded to this review

Dear Mr. Odd Henning M, Thank you for taking the time to write us a review after your stay with us. It is nice to hear that both are location and breakfast was as you expected. I am sorry to hear that you were disturbed by noise from the hallway during night. We are aware of this problem, and has... More 

Gjovik, Norway
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
18 hotel reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2014

Spent a night here during rebuild. Didn't notice much about it other than an awful smell in the corridors and elevators. Thankfully the room had breathable air, but for a moment I was worried about getting blamed for farting in the elevator - it was that bad. The receptionist at arrival was very polite, gave me a nice room and... More 

Review collected in partnership with ThonHotels.no

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Vidar M, Front Office Manager at Thon Hotel Vika Atrium, responded to this review

Dear KRN-NO, Thank you for taking the time to write us a review after your stay at the hotel. I am very sorry that you had to experience a bad smell at the hotel, and unfortunately this was because of the renovation that you heard. The problem is luckely solved now, and the renovation of the conference department is finished... More 

Haugesund, Norway
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

Stayed here for two nights in a family (business) room on the fifth floor. Three adults and one child. Big room with all you need. Friendly and helpful staff. Parking in a locked garage at a good price inn the middle of Oslo. Superb breakfast :)

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Vidar M, Front Office Manager at Thon Hotel Vika Atrium, responded to this review

Dear Sunflower-Gerbra, Thank you so much for your friendly comment after your stay with us. And especially your nice comment about our staff and breakfast. We alwasy appreciate those type of feedbacks. Hope to see you back with us soon again. More 

Kapellen, Belgium
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

We had booked a double room in promotion. It cost 799 NOK. At this price it was good value. Only negative was that the room was really warm with only a bit of airconditioning. Opening the windows was not an option since the hotel is in the middle of Oslo. Really soft beds, good shower. Large breakfast. The way from... More 

Review collected in partnership with ThonHotels.no

Was this review helpful? Yes
Vidar M, Front Office Manager at Thon Hotel Vika Atrium, responded to this review

Dear Sofie V, Thank you so much for your nice comments about our hotel, from your stay August 2014. About the heat, it has been very warm in Oslo this summer, and unfortunately the ventilation system is not made for those temperatures in the long run. Luckily, we are working on upgrades on this system, so it would be better... More 

Molde, Norway
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

We booked a double room for 5 nights during Norway Cup. We had a room at the 7'th floor. Nice and clean. Quiet. Breakfast was very good. Personnel in reception were friendly and service minded. Very close to Aker Brygge and Flytoget (airport express train). We will come back!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Vidar M, Front Office Manager at Thon Hotel Vika Atrium, responded to this review

Dear MaritaFagerhaug, Thank you so much for your nice review, and your nice comment about our staff. We are constantly working on our improvments, and it is nice to see that our work is visable for you as a guest. I hope that the team you where here with came far in the tournement, and I hope to see you... More 

1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

We booked a double room during the weekend. The location is very good, 5-8 minutes walking from Nationaltheatret. 2 min to Aker Brygge. The room was of standard comfort, there was a good choice of different styles of food for breakfast (English, continental, Norwegian) even though there was no orange juice on Saturday morning :( The staff was very pro... More 

Review collected in partnership with ThonHotels.no

Was this review helpful? Yes
Vidar M, Front Office Manager at Thon Hotel Vika Atrium, responded to this review

Dear Robinson L, Thank you very much for your nice comment after your stay with us. Especially nice to hear that our staff is professional and welcoming. I wish you welcome back to us the next time you are staying in Oslo. More 

Stavanger, Norway
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014 via mobile

The room was quite dirty, there was no hot water, just lukewarm, and no chance of regulating the temperature, so the room was very hot. There are no coverage of wi-fi in the room. Since we would check out way too early for breakfast the receptionist promised us breakfast to take away but this was not available come checkout time.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Vidar M, Front Office Manager at Thon Hotel Vika Atrium, responded to this review

Dear Jon Fredrik, Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We appreciate all feedback, both positive and negative. Regarding the condition of the room, we appologize for this, and can assure you that the right department has been informed. The coverage of the Wi-fi will be checked. Luckily our hotel will be renovated during the next year... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

38 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (22)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (17)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (16)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question