We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Thon Hotel Astoria

Dronningensgate 21, Oslo 0154, Norway
Hotel amenities
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Thon Hotel Astoria
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Thon Hotel Astoria
Write a Review

544 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    210
    180
    56
    24
See reviews for
47
134
110
132
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (544)
  • Mar-May only
    (107)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (173)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (165)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (99)
All months
Brisbane Australia
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
69 hotel reviews
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed today NEW

I understand what other reviewers mean when they talk about the size of the room. We had booked a Standard Double Room and were given a very small room - there was no room to move around at all and we didn't know where we could put our suitcases. As our stay was for 3 nights, we went back to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Does what it says. Great nights sleep in no frills hotel. Superb location for city exploration. A breakfast fit for a king and you can eat right up until 11am. Whats not to like? For those expecting some level of luxury, please chose elsewhere. The clue is in the title

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ulrich B, General Manager at Thon Hotel Astoria, responded to this review

Dear Michael L. Thank you for sharing your impressions of Thon Hotel Astoria on TripAdvisor. We really enjoyed reading your comments and feel encouraged to carry on to provide our guests with compact and clean rooms, friendly service and a great breakfast. Thanks again and welcome back to Thon Hotel Astoria and Thon Hotels. More 

Alesund, Norway
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We were supposed to stay here for two nights, but found ourselves another hotel after one night here. The room (they called it a standard double room) was so friggin' tiny we suspected they took the janitors closet and called it a room. We are both a bit chubby (but not very large) and the double bed was so tiny... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ulrich B, General Manager at Thon Hotel Astoria, responded to this review

Dear guest Thank you for sharing your personal opinion with your co-travellers. We are sorry that Thon Hotel Astoria's product and services did not live up to your expectations. We sincerely hope that you will find what you are looking for in due time at a different Thon Hotel. Welcome back to Oslo. More 

Groningen, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We selected this hotel due to its location, price (when compared to other places in Oslo) and the included breakfast. We were not disappointed: The room was nothing spectacular but a good size and clean. The location was very central and the selection at breakfast was simply enormous. There were so many different things to chose from (including Norwegian food),... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ulrich B, General Manager at Thon Hotel Astoria, responded to this review

Dear traveller Thank you for sharing your travel experience on TripAdvisor. Your feedback encourages us to go the daily extra mile for our guests. Thanks again and welcome back to Thon Hotel Astoria and Thon Hotels. More 

Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Small - uncomfortable bed - 1 tiny pillow/ cushion.. Tiny bathroom - Noisy building works had to play dodge with the builders as their tools were every where.Poor heating controls with a small electric convector heater. too hot or too cold.. Avoid!

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Ulrich B, General Manager at Thon Hotel Astoria, responded to this review

Dear traveller Thank you for sharing your hotel experience on TripAdvisor. We are sorry to learn about your poor experience at our hotel and wish you would have contacted us whilst you were staying with us. Please do contact us at astoria.bookingsjef.no whenever you plan to return and we'll do our utmost to ensure you get a great stay at... More 

Athens, Greece
Top Contributor
322 reviews 322 reviews
48 hotel reviews
169 helpful votes 169 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed there 2 nights that's why we did not bother to change hotels immediately! We had made the reservation through Booking.com for a room of 20m2 according to the feedback given and cost 160 euro per night!!!! Instead they gave us a tiny room no more than 8 m2 and said that the larger rooms were familly rooms even... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Ulrich B, General Manager at Thon Hotel Astoria, responded to this review

Dear travellers from Athens Thank you for sharing your travel experience with your co-travellers on TripAdvisor. We do apologize for our rooms not living up to your expectations. Our hotel is located in an elderly building. Hence not all rooms have the same layout, shape and size as eventually depicted on various netsites. Prepaid deals are always non refundable. We... More 

Malcesine, Italy
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Nice hotel, simple but pleasant. Spcially recommended by its excellent position, only a few steps from the railway station and the shopping streets of Oslo, a few minutes walk from the castle and near to the best restaurants in the centre. The service was good, nice people and we enjoyed very much the breakfast.

Review collected in partnership with ThonHotels.no

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ulrich B, General Manager at Thon Hotel Astoria, responded to this review

Dear guest from Italy Thank you for sharing your impressions with your co- travellers. We appreciate you taking your time for writing and thank you for the good marks that you attribute to Thon Hotel Astoria. Your review will encourage us to keep our rooms clean, our breakfast great and our staff on their toe tips. Thank you and welcome... More 

Copenhagen, Denmark
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2015

The location is good, 2 blocks from the central station, right on the corner of the main shopping street. The room was comfortable and clean, but we couldn´t manage the temperature of the room in no way. When the lights were on, it sometimes worked, sometimes not. When we turn of the lights to sleep, totally freezing (I was there... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ulrich B, General Manager at Thon Hotel Astoria, responded to this review

Dear guest Thank you for your visit and your extensive review. Indeed there are a number of small issues that we shall address immediately. We pride ourselves and strive daily to have clean rooms, very friendly staff and a great breakfast buffet. Your comments encourage us to keep on working .. Thanks for your useful feedback and welcome back to... More 

Lisbon, Portugal
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
40 hotel reviews
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2015

This hotel rooms are quite basic, do not expect any design or big toilets, there is only the essential. Nevertheless the spaces are clean and comfortable. The breakfast in really nice, with a great choice and quality. This a centrally located hotel for inexpensive stay in downtown Oslo.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ulrich B, General Manager at Thon Hotel Astoria, responded to this review

Dear Sergio Thank you for staying with us and sharing your hotel experience on TripAdvisor. We try hard to provide travellers with clean rooms, a friendly smile and a great breakfast. Your feedback motivates us to keep up the good work. Thank you and welcome back! More 

Paris, France
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2015

Very good staff, responsive and customer satisfaction oriented. Very good location, the central railway station is 3min walk. Single bed is a very tiny one and could be a little bit larger but Bathroom and room are very cleaned.

Review collected in partnership with ThonHotels.no

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ulrich B, General Manager at Thon Hotel Astoria, responded to this review

Dear Yann Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor. We strive every day to keep our hotel clean and our staff alert and smiling. Your comments are very much appreciated. Welcome back to Norway and Thon Hotels! We hope to seeing you back again soon. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

91 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (85)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (33)
Viewed
Bathroom (13)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (33)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question