We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 88 Oslo hotels

Scandic Edderkoppen

3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   St Olavs Plass 1 | P. B. 6981, Oslo 0165, Norway
Hotel amenities
Scandic Edderkoppen
Best prices from these 11 sites
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Scandic Edderkoppen to your Saves list
63%
Ranked #56 of 88 Hotels in Oslo
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 3 weeks ago
Sydwest Helsinki, Finland
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    109
    77
    24
    8
See reviews for
26
80
37
74
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (264)
  • Mar-May only
    (54)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (104)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (64)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (42)
All months
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I booked for 1 night stay in a double room and they gave me a single room. I checked with the reception and they said that all double rooms were taken and that was the only room left. I asked how much was the difference in price and she said since i have already made payment was via Hotel.com, she... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Nina T, General Manager at Scandic Edderkoppen, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay with us. I am terrible sorry to hear that you did not get the room you had booked and no compensation for the downgrade . Please contact me directly so we can get this settled. Once again please accept my sincere apology for the inconvenience we caused you. Best... More

Helsinki, Finland
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I've been here several times now, always on business. The hotel is in a good location, right downtown and yet just enough to the side so there's no busy traffic whirring by the hotel. It takes about 5 minutes leisurely walk to get to the metro. The smallest rooms in the hotel are truly small, I'd go as far as... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Nina T, General Manager at Scandic Edderkoppen, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to comment on your stay at Scandic Edderkoppen, I am pleased to hear you enjoy our location, wireless and our staff. I am very sorry that you have had minor complaints concerning the room condition on several occasions. This is not up to our standard, and will be taken up with the... More

Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
41 hotel reviews
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

For a city centre hotel this has affordable rates but not great luxury. The room was standard for a Scandinavian style hotel, no luxuries, very small, no air conditioning. Elevators appreciated, small market in lobby for snacks and drinks, front desk staff spoke English and were knowledgable and helpful. Good place to stay if you are seeing a theatre production... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Nina T, General Manager at Scandic Edderkoppen, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review of your stay at Scandic Edderkoppen, appreciate to hear you found our staff knowledgeable and helpful! We look forward to welcome you back at your next visit to Oslo. Best regards Nina Thomassen General Manager More

Almere, The Netherlands
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

When I arrived I was met by a receptionist that questioned me to much. Almost like I was suspected of not telling the truth about booking a room here for the night. I do understand that they have to make sure, but there's nothing wrong with being pleasant in the way you address the customer. When I then arrived in... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Nina T, General Manager at Scandic Edderkoppen, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to comment on your stay at Scandic Edderkoppen. I am very sorry to hear about your experience at our hotel. We work very hard to make sure we deliver good service and keep the hotel neat and clean. Unfortunately we failed during your stay. The hotel is in the process of planning... More

Hobart, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The hotel seemed to be extremely busy all the time and there was a distinct lack of staff (though the staff were friendly and helpful). I had to wait in a line a number of times. The room seemed a bit tired, though it was clean and comfortable. It was also quite noisy, but I guess it's a big city... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Nina T, General Manager at Scandic Edderkoppen, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay at Scandic Edderkoppen, appreciate to hear you found our staff friendly and the breakfast amazing. We look forward to welcome you back at your next visit to Oslo. Best regards Nina Thomassen General Manager More

Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I stayed at the Scandic Edderkoppen over Christmas. My first impression was disappointment. Nothing like in the pictures. The hotel lobby looked tired and had definitely seen better days. I requested a change of rooms, and the staff was quick to accommodate me. Although my new "theme" room (featuring photos of a by-gone theatre star) also looked like it had... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Nina T, General Manager at Scandic Edderkoppen, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your nice review, I especially appreciate your comments about our staff! The hotel is starting to get worn and we are in the process of planning renovation, we hope to get started in the near future. We look forward to welcome you back to Scandic Edderkoppen. Best regards Nina Thomassen General Manager More

Horten, Norway
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

I had an overnight stay here for a business trip. The only thing I needed was an iron and a bed for the night. The iron from the reception was far from good, and it took forever because of the tiny flip-out-from-the-wall ironing board in the room. Very much limescale on the shower head suggests sloppiness with the cleaning (even... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Nina T, General Manager at Scandic Edderkoppen, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay at Scandic Edderkoppen. I am very sorry to hear you were not satisficed with our iron and ironing board and that there was lime scale on the shower head. I can assure that we take cleanliness very serious, this is not according to our standard and will be addresses... More

Suffield, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
6 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

This isn't a five-star hotel, but it doesn't claim to be. Our room was a decent size, clean, and cool. The bathroom was clean and a decent size as well. The complimentary breakfast was definitely worth it and the free wifi. It was a large buffet with many options and included in the price, which is an added bonus in... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Nina T, General Manager at Scandic Edderkoppen, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your nice review, I am glad to hear you enjoyed our breakfast and found our staff helpful. We look forward to welcome you back to Scandic Edderkoppen Best regards Nina Thomassen General Manager More

Norway
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

When we arrived late in the evening, there was only one extra bed made ready for our two children. The room was not cleaned out properly; with sticky spots on the bedside table and floor. I will not recommend this hotel to friends and family, and we will definitely book another hotel next time in Oslo. A small plus for... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Nina T, General Manager at Scandic Edderkoppen, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay at Scandic Edderkoppen, I am glad to hear you were satisfied with the service. We work hard everyday to meet our guest’s expectations, so I am sorry that you found the room was not properly cleaned and that there was only on extra bed made. This will be taken... More

Copenhagen, Denmark
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
3 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

I enjoyed my stay in Scandic Edderkoppen for the next reasons: - the location of the hotel, which is close to the Karl Johans gate, and so close to many points of interest; - the room, which was clean, and big enough for a couple (the only funny thing was we didn't have toilet paper in our toilet :); -... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Nina T, General Manager at Scandic Edderkoppen, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your nice review, I especially appreciate your comments about our staff! We look forward to welcome you back at your next visit to Oslo. Best regards Nina Thomassen General Manager More

Do you own or manage Scandic Edderkoppen?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Scandic Edderkoppen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Edderkoppen

Address: St Olavs Plass 1 | P. B. 6981, Oslo 0165, Norway
Location: Norway > Eastern Norway > Oslo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Scandic Edderkoppen 3.5*
Number of rooms: 241
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Scandic Edderkoppen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scandic Edderkoppen Oslo
Scandic Edderkoppen Hotel Oslo

129 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (116)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (26)
Viewed
View from room (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (29)
Viewed
Bathroom (20)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Other (28)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (14)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (3)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Near Scandic Edderkoppen

Enlarge Map