We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 86 Oslo hotels

Scandic Edderkoppen

3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   St Olavs Plass 1 | P. B. 6981, Oslo 0165, Norway
Hotel amenities
Scandic Edderkoppen
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Scandic Edderkoppen to your Saves list
Ranked #60 of 86 Hotels in Oslo
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 2 weeks ago
John S Toms River, New Jersey
Write a Review

284 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    116
    85
    25
    9
See reviews for
28
84
38
84
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (284)
  • Mar-May only
    (54)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (104)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (84)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (42)
All months
York, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
32 hotel reviews
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I stayed for two nights and found the hotel very good. Room on the second floor was noisy until 3.30 however as I was above the bar. I requested a move the next day and this was handled efficiently and the result was a much better sleep! The bar is pleasant, dining room also, although there was no room service... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Nina T, General Manager at Scandic Edderkoppen, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your nice review and I am glad you found our hotel very good. I am pleased to hear we managed to meet your request concerning room change efficiently. We will take your comments concerning the ironing board into account when renovating. Look forward to welcome you back to Scandic Edderkoppen. Best regards Nina Thomassen General... More

Haram Municipality, Norway
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Very good location, adequate hotel with reasonable and clean rooms.with nice staff.As common with Norwegian hotels cooked breakfast was bad. This one had congealed eggs with a tiny piece of bacon perched on top. The worst was the baked beans, which were not being kept hot properly and were lukewarm at the best.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Nina T, General Manager at Scandic Edderkoppen, responded to this review

Thank you very much for you comments on your stay at Scandic Edderkoppen, I am pleased to hear you enjoyed our location and staff. I will look in to your comments concerning the warm food at breakfast and hope we can get it solved. We look forward to welcome you back to Scandic Edderkoppen Best regards Nina Thomassen General Manager More

Gothenburg, Västra Götaland, Sweden
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2014

This hotel is located about 15 minutes walk from Carljohans gate. Nice staff and very good breakfast! Close to museums and also tramstations are really close by. The staff was very helpful woth what to do around Oslo!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Nina T, General Manager at Scandic Edderkoppen, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your nice review , appreciate your comments about our staff and breakfast! We look forward to welcome you back at your next visit to Oslo. Best regards Nina Thomassen General Manager More

Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2014

I booked for 1 night stay in a double room and they gave me a single room. I checked with the reception and they said that all double rooms were taken and that was the only room left. I asked how much was the difference in price and she said since i have already made payment was via Hotel.com, she... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Nina T, General Manager at Scandic Edderkoppen, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay with us. I am terrible sorry to hear that you did not get the room you had booked and no compensation for the downgrade . Please contact me directly so we can get this settled. Once again please accept my sincere apology for the inconvenience we caused you. Best... More

Helsinki, Finland
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2014

I've been here several times now, always on business. The hotel is in a good location, right downtown and yet just enough to the side so there's no busy traffic whirring by the hotel. It takes about 5 minutes leisurely walk to get to the metro. The smallest rooms in the hotel are truly small, I'd go as far as... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Nina T, General Manager at Scandic Edderkoppen, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to comment on your stay at Scandic Edderkoppen, I am pleased to hear you enjoy our location, wireless and our staff. I am very sorry that you have had minor complaints concerning the room condition on several occasions. This is not up to our standard, and will be taken up with the... More

Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
41 hotel reviews
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2014

For a city centre hotel this has affordable rates but not great luxury. The room was standard for a Scandinavian style hotel, no luxuries, very small, no air conditioning. Elevators appreciated, small market in lobby for snacks and drinks, front desk staff spoke English and were knowledgable and helpful. Good place to stay if you are seeing a theatre production... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Nina T, General Manager at Scandic Edderkoppen, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review of your stay at Scandic Edderkoppen, appreciate to hear you found our staff knowledgeable and helpful! We look forward to welcome you back at your next visit to Oslo. Best regards Nina Thomassen General Manager More

Almere, The Netherlands
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2014

When I arrived I was met by a receptionist that questioned me to much. Almost like I was suspected of not telling the truth about booking a room here for the night. I do understand that they have to make sure, but there's nothing wrong with being pleasant in the way you address the customer. When I then arrived in... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Nina T, General Manager at Scandic Edderkoppen, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to comment on your stay at Scandic Edderkoppen. I am very sorry to hear about your experience at our hotel. We work very hard to make sure we deliver good service and keep the hotel neat and clean. Unfortunately we failed during your stay. The hotel is in the process of planning... More

Hobart, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2014

The hotel seemed to be extremely busy all the time and there was a distinct lack of staff (though the staff were friendly and helpful). I had to wait in a line a number of times. The room seemed a bit tired, though it was clean and comfortable. It was also quite noisy, but I guess it's a big city... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Nina T, General Manager at Scandic Edderkoppen, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay at Scandic Edderkoppen, appreciate to hear you found our staff friendly and the breakfast amazing. We look forward to welcome you back at your next visit to Oslo. Best regards Nina Thomassen General Manager More

Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2014

I stayed at the Scandic Edderkoppen over Christmas. My first impression was disappointment. Nothing like in the pictures. The hotel lobby looked tired and had definitely seen better days. I requested a change of rooms, and the staff was quick to accommodate me. Although my new "theme" room (featuring photos of a by-gone theatre star) also looked like it had... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Nina T, General Manager at Scandic Edderkoppen, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your nice review, I especially appreciate your comments about our staff! The hotel is starting to get worn and we are in the process of planning renovation, we hope to get started in the near future. We look forward to welcome you back to Scandic Edderkoppen. Best regards Nina Thomassen General Manager More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Scandic Edderkoppen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Edderkoppen

Address: St Olavs Plass 1 | P. B. 6981, Oslo 0165, Norway
Location: Norway > Eastern Norway > Oslo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Scandic Edderkoppen 3.5*
Number of rooms: 241
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Otel, Odigeo, getaroom.com and Tingo so you can book your Scandic Edderkoppen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scandic Edderkoppen Oslo
Scandic Edderkoppen Hotel Oslo

129 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (116)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (26)
Viewed
View from room (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (29)
Viewed
Bathroom (20)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Other (28)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (14)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (3)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay