We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Thon Hotel Spectrum

Brugata 7, Oslo 0186, Norway
Hotel amenities
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Thon Hotel Spectrum
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Thon Hotel Spectrum
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    81
    97
    32
    12
See reviews for
21
57
36
70
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (239)
  • Mar-May only
    (66)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (78)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (60)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (35)
All months
bruxelles
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Nothing really special to say. On the positive: clean room and bathroom, excellent buffet, centrally located and near train station and major transportations and free wi-fi. On the negative: very noisy street at week-ends nights - double glazing, but doesn't protect from noise-, leaks from the bathtub, no real wardrobe, no place where to put personal belongings in the bathroom,... More 

Review collected in partnership with ThonHotels.no

Was this review helpful? Yes
Stine N, General Manager at Thon Hotel Spectrum, responded to this review

Dear Mollica62, Thank you for leaving a review for us on Tripadvisor. We are sorry that the rooms at the hotel did not live up to your expectations. We are aware of that some noise from the street below makes it to the rooms. We are hoping to be able to replace the windows to better soundproof the rooms in... More 

Kristiansand, Norway
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
23 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Excellent managed and situated hotel. In the centre of everything downtown Oslo. Lots of parking houses, restaurants, concert halls and what not in the nearest proximity. The hotel's atmosphere is friendly. I highly recommend Thon Spectrum

Review collected in partnership with ThonHotels.no

Was this review helpful? Yes
Stine N, General Manager at Thon Hotel Spectrum, responded to this review

Dear NorwayMorten, Thank you for your lovely review! We are happy to hear that you had a nice stay with us and especially that you found the atmosphere to be friendly. We wish you a wonderful week and hope to see you again at Thon Hotel Spectrum soon! Best regards, Stine Nordhaug General Manager More 

Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
11 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2015

We learned about the Thon hotel chain from Rick Steves and were glad we did! The price was reasonable and included a substantial breakfast. The location is close to the Oslo south (central) train station. some reviewers didn't care for the location--thought it was "unsafe". I felt fine and you can walk to the major sights. There are several OK... More 

Review collected in partnership with ThonHotels.no

Was this review helpful? Yes
Stine N, General Manager at Thon Hotel Spectrum, responded to this review

Dear MLC1965, We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us! It is good to hear that you found the price reasonable and the breakfast substantial. Together with the rest of the businesses located in the street, we have worked hard to make the street a place visitors feel safe. We are happy to hear that... More 

Madrid, Spain
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2015

noisy at night if you get rooms facing the street. Rooms on the other side are old and small. Good buffet breakfast but laking toaster. Near the train station but the neighbourhood is not nice. Within walking distance from the Cathedral, but then Oslo is a small city.

Review collected in partnership with ThonHotels.no

Was this review helpful? Yes
Stine N, General Manager at Thon Hotel Spectrum, responded to this review

Dear Xantal, Thank you for leaving a review for us. We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us. Located in the middle of Oslo, rooms facing the street will be more prone to noise during the night than the rooms facing the back. Our rooms were renovated in three stages, the oldest dating from... More 

Travelers are raving about these Oslo hotels

Copenhagen, Denmark
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2015

Basic but clean and quite spacious room. Bit worn in places, but good value for the money. Great location only 5 mins walk from the central railway station and 10mins from the main shopping street. Lovely buffet breakfast with wide range of foods. The only minor "complaints" are that the lighting in the bedroom was very dim (no lamps in... More 

Review collected in partnership with ThonHotels.no

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Stine N, General Manager at Thon Hotel Spectrum, responded to this review

Dear Tiina M, Thank you for leaving a review for us. We are happy to hear that you had a nice stay with us and that the stay provided you with value for money. We are also pleased to hear that you enjoyed our breakfast. Some of the rooms do not have lighting fixtures on the ceiling. We try to... More 

Stockholm
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
13 hotel reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2015

Good location walking distance from trainstation - clean and okay rooms - good breakfast lots to choose from - 2 boring things the bed was to soft and the toilette paper was of poor quality. So if you don't mid the soft bed its an excellent choice

Was this review helpful? Yes
Stine N, General Manager at Thon Hotel Spectrum, responded to this review

Dear MrLifeisGood, We are happy to hear that you had a nice stay with us! As you say, the hotel is located near the train station and it is located near most of the attractions in Oslo. The fact that you are happy with our breakfast is especially important to us. However, we are sorry to hear that you were... More 

Trondheim, Norway
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
10 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2015

I slept two weekends here while on a business trip and I was as happy with it both times. It is a great place to stay just in the middle of everything. If you are a light sleeper it might be difficult when the clubs close as there is a bit of noise, but if you close your window it... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Trondheim, Norway
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
6 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2015

Mayby I was unlucky, but this was not good. The room was clean, but with much wear and tear and location is not very attractive either. Breakfast was OK. I had room against the back yard and the car park. Perhaps the worst possible. If you are able to find other accommodation for the same price, go for that.

Was this review helpful? Yes
UK
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2015

Excellent value for money, and close to station and Oslo Spektrum but not a particularly good part of town and can be noisy. Free wifi is very good, and the breakfast very substantial. All in all pretty good.

Review collected in partnership with ThonHotels.no

Was this review helpful? Yes
Zwijndrecht, The Netherlands
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2014

Stayed here 3 nights with my sister and father. My father slept in a one person bedroom and my and my sister shared a room (and bed..) The bed was awefull and so were the pillows... Never slept this bad in a hotel! When my sister turned around, i almost fell out of bed because the matrass is very wobbly...... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

26 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (17)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (9)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities