We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Scandic Vulkan

Maridalsveien 13, Oslo 0175, Norway
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Scandic Vulkan
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Scandic Vulkan
Scandic Vulkan
Scandic Vulkan
Add Photo Write a Review

207 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    55
    96
    36
    11
    9
See reviews for
15
64
16
79
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (207)
  • Mar-May only
    (50)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (69)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (49)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (39)
All months
Kandy, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Its about 15-20 min walk all the way to the city center of Oslo, to its easy access. Also there are shopping malls, food outlets very close by to the hotel. Rooms were spacious and clean. Beds were very comfortable too. We asked for a electric kettle to heat water inside the room, they were very glad to provide one.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

WOW.. This hotel was amazing. From the moment we arrived to the moment we left, the staff was so friendly and helpful. The hotel is very modern and while away from the city center, it is within a 3 minute walk to the bus stop. Also, there is a nice shopping center nearby, a supermarket and lots of places to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Monica E, General Manager at Scandic Vulkan, responded to this review

It's the dream come true for a manager to get such a review. Everything you write, we love it! From all of us, thank you! More 

Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

Wonderful location in a hip and trendy corner of Oslo. The rooms are nice and clean, and the breakfast is delicious! Just outside is the famous "Mathallen", where it's a lot of restaurants and small shops. Just near by the hotel there is several small boutiques where you can shop! This is a place I would like to stay again!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Monica E, General Manager at Scandic Vulkan, responded to this review

Thank you for a wonderful review! You mention our location Vulkan, that our rooms are nice and clean, and the breakfast is delicious! This is what we strive for every day - to offer our guests the best possible stay, and it's so wonderful when we get such feedback. Welcome back, I hope we`ll see you soon! More 

Mumbai
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My husband and I checked in for one night on our last day at Oslo. A decent place with comfortable beds. Our room was overlooking the road with a good view. The art exhibit was quite interesting. The breakfast in the morning was good with a decent spread. Coming from India where there's staff all around to help, we felt... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Monica E, General Manager at Scandic Vulkan, responded to this review

Thank you for a nice and valuable review. If you ever come back to Norway, our greatest wish is that we see you again! More 

Oslo, Norway
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

A great atmosphere with wonderful art that made the ambience of the place wonderful. I loved that it was so quick to check-in and out, espescially the self check-out via mobile phone was great. Great value for money.

Review collected in partnership with ScandicHotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
Monica E, General Manager at Scandic Vulkan, responded to this review

On behalf of the artist Emma Tingård, and our team; thank you for such a wonderful review - we love it! More 

Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I had booked online, few weeks in advance, for 3 nights. Prepaid, no refund. I had warned I would have been a late check in , contextually to my reservation. When I arrived at midnight there was no room due to "technical problems". You can imagine I was not happy, But the worse need to come. They offered me to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Monica E, General Manager at Scandic Vulkan, responded to this review

As I mentioned in my email earlier today, I am truly sorry that you were sent to another hotel this weekend. This is never to happen. I also apologise for the lack of follow-up you got from us, when you arrived at the hotel, and when we were not able to answer your email until monday. This is not good... More 

Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This could easily have been a five star hotel; fine beds, super looking shower/toilet room, everything new and clean and with the hotel located in a nice area. Could have been five stars, had it not been for all these annoying details. My wife and I stayed for four nights from 3rd June 2015. We paid well over € 200... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Monica E, General Manager at Scandic Vulkan, responded to this review

Thank you for taking your time, and sharing your feedback with us. I truly apologize for the experience you had during your stay, and I really appreciate your thoughts. There is never an excuse for guest dissatisfaction, and we will go through all your pin points, to close our operational irregularities, and make sure that no other guests will experience... More 

Copley, Ohio
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

When you book a hotel online, you never really know what you're getting, even if you read reviews. However, this one was right on the money. The room was a nice size and very clean. It's located a 10 minute bus ride away from the city center, so it's away from the hustle and bustle and noise. The hotel is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Monica E, General Manager at Scandic Vulkan, responded to this review

Oh, how we love your review! We are incredibly proud of our art exhibition, and when it is mentioned on TripAdvisor, we feel especially proud. Vulkan is a creative area with wonderful neighbors - and we are genuinely excited when we get such feedback. Thanks! More 

Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Only about 15 minutes' walk from Oslo central railway station. Easy to access many sightseeing spots in Oslo where I recommend to purchase 24-hour ticket enable you to freely travel around the capital of Norway including Bus, Metro and Tram.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Monica E, General Manager at Scandic Vulkan, responded to this review

Thank you for your review! We hope you enjoyed Oslo and the attractions so much that you come back some time in the future! More 

Kristiansand, Norway
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Nice place to stay, close to mathallen and only about 15 minutes walk to the center of Oslo :-) Nice staff and a clean room made our stay worth remembering. We did not have a wiew to mention, but we really did not care. The room was a bit small, and we did not like two separate beds.

Review collected in partnership with ScandicHotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
Monica E, General Manager at Scandic Vulkan, responded to this review

There is only one thing to say; from all of us at Scandic Vulkan to you - thank you! More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

505 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (60)
Viewed
Room/suite (22)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (11)
Viewed
View from room (4)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Other (5)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (416)
Viewed
Amenities (45)
Viewed
Handicapped Room (43)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (86)
Viewed
Standard Room (61)
Viewed
Superior Extra Room - 808 (35)
Viewed
Superior Extra Room - 918 (52)
Viewed
Superior Room (36)
Viewed
The Hotel (58)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (29)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (13)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay