We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Scandic Helsfyr

Stromsveien 108 | Gps Adress: Innspurten 9, Oslo 0663, Norway (Formerly Rica Helsfyr Hotel)
Hotel amenities
Scandic Helsfyr
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ranked #53 of 85 Hotels in Oslo
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 3 weeks ago
scarvisitor Sweden
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    72
    39
    9
    4
See reviews for
16
21
9
78
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (143)
  • Mar-May only
    (40)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (39)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (35)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (29)
All months
Wattens, Austria
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
23 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Business Hotel. You only want to stay in the Hotel if your are in the area for business. Because there are no Restaurants, shops, whatsoever around (Train Station is 300m away) The quality of the food in the restaurant is weak compared to other Scandic hotels. The hotel also does not offer Room service (the guest has to come down... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rune A, Front Office Manager at Scandic Helsfyr, responded to this review

Hi Michael, Thank you for taking the time to write a review! We appreciate all the feedback we can get from our guests. I am glad to hear that you liked our breakfast. We have recently re launched it based on Scandic standards. You are correct that the hotel has a good location if you are in the area for... More 

Sweden
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
23 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Easy to locate just off the main roads and no need to enter the city tunnel system for those who are simply passing by. Clean, modern and decent sized rooms with the usual doings in the bathroom etc. Breakfast was good, with freshly cooked produce etc.. Not cheap around 1300nok, but that's Norway/Oslo. Check out smooth, although I did get... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rune A, Front Office Manager at Scandic Helsfyr, responded to this review

Hi! Thank you for taking the time to write a review. And thank you for all the good feedback. I am thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your room, breakfast and the service. Normally the online check out is sent the day before. I will check in to the matter. I hope you will stay with us again. Have a... More 

Märsta
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The first time I stayed at this hotel, Impression was mixed. Had me a superior room, and that was great. Clean, nice view and a very comfy bed (most important to me). The hotel as such is old and a bit wore down, the bar is way too small, area for improvement there. Had me a dinner in the resturant,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rune A, Front Office Manager at Scandic Helsfyr, responded to this review

Hi NorthernSwede! Thank you for a great review. We appreciate the honest feedback we get from our guests. I am thrilled to hear that you enjoyed our superior room. They are truly a great investment if you want some more comfort. Welcome back! See you next time you are in town! More 

2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

First time in this Scandic and one of the best. The staff was very friendly and flexible when our plans changed during our stay. Breakfast was very good. Hotel is in an area with not much dining opportunities, so memu in their restaurant could be larger.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rune A, Front Office Manager at Scandic Helsfyr, responded to this review

Hi Timo, Thank you for the great review. I will surely share this with my colleagues first thing on Monday. We always strive to be flexible and creative in our service and it is great that you feel that we are flexible. Our restaurant menu is not the largest but it is definitely tasty and exciting. We focus on a... More 

Bratislava, Slovakia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2015

I stayed 2 nights at this hotel. Check in was very quick despite arriving at 1 am. The room (927) was large, clean, modern a comfortable. Breakfast was very good with very large choice. My colleague stayed in an older room, which was also spacious, the only complaint was the heating, which came out of very small heater.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rune A, Front Office Manager at Scandic Helsfyr, responded to this review

Hi Andrea, Thank you for a great review. We constantly strive to improve and reviews like this one helps us understand our customers. It is good to hear that your check-in was efficient and that you had an comfortable and good stay with us. Our superior rooms(on the 8 and 9th floor) has a lot of extra features and are... More 

Hasselt, Belgium
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2015

I stayed in this hotel for several nights due to my assignement in Norway. To me it is a basic hotel, a standard room is standard no more, its a typical hotel for meetings and business people. The people of the staff are doing there best to make your stay as comfortable as possible, they even know my name when... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rune A, Front Office Manager at Scandic Helsfyr, responded to this review

Hi Francis, Thank you for a great review. Thumbs up from our staff! They always look forward to the start of the week when you and your team arrives. Good to hear that you are pleased with the food we serve in our restaurant and during breakfast. We should serve fresh orange juice every day. I have talked to the... More 

Norway
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
49 hotel reviews
124 helpful votes 124 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2015

My first stay at Scandic Helsfyr. 4 nights stay, hotel choosen because its close to my scheduled meetings location in Helsfyr area. Regarding room standard its typical Scandic. No frills room. Contain what you need, but nothing more. Room was tired, and a little rough in the edges. Clearly not a new hotel. Bed was good, and room was clean.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rune A, Front Office Manager at Scandic Helsfyr, responded to this review

Hi Apeks, First of all, thank you for taking the time to write a review about your experience with us. As a service provider we are relying on the feedback we get from our guests. As you noticed on your stay we do not have minibar. However we have a well-supplied lobby shop full with fresh food, drinks, snacks and... More 

Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2015

I have just finished enjoying a pleasurable stay at Scandic Helsfyr Hotel in Oslo, Norway. Very friendly folks in reception, 24-hour shop where you can buy things to munch on and toilet articles etc. Fridge in room to store stuff you buy or want to keep cold. Bed was queen-size and very comfortable. I slept soundly. The windows at excellent... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rune A, Front Office Manager at Scandic Helsfyr, responded to this review

Hi Stephen, I am thrilled to hear that you had a great time at our Scandic Helsfyr. The front desk staff had a big smile on their face when they saw your response. Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts with us. Next time you stay here ask for a Superior Extra room which has a wider... More 

Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
89 hotel reviews
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2014 via mobile

i really enjoyed my short stay at this hotel but was actually glad it was a short stay as the location is a little out of the way but the staff and hotel itself makes up for this. The restaurant is a little basic but very nice all the same and the rooms are very well maintained.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rune A, Front Office Manager at Scandic Helsfyr, responded to this review

Hi Stephen, Thank you for your great review. We enjoyed having you as a guest and all the staff welcomes you back to us. See you next time you are in Oslo. Rune More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

42 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (29)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
Room/suite (9)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (13)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (4)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question