We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Scandic Victoria

Rosenkrantzgate 13, Oslo 0121, Norway (Formerly Rica Victoria Hotel)
Hotel amenities
Scandic Victoria
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ranked #37 of 85 Hotels in Oslo
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 5 days ago
Amanda031CapeTown Cape Town
Add Photo Write a Review

355 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
    88
    158
    79
    17
    13
See reviews for
44
97
25
121
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (355)
  • Mar-May only
    (83)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (111)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (81)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (80)
All months
Cape Town
Level Contributor
87 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

I stayed at the hotel for a couple of night. Reception had good service. Even though I had room a the 8th floor, there was noice from the city and from the tower of town hall. Breakfast was below average for hotels in Oslo.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Level Contributor
53 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This hotel has an excellent location, next to Karl Johan St., the shopping district and restaurants in Oslo city center. No currency exchange on-site. The lobby is small and gets crowded with tour groups. The room and bathroom are average European size with amenities and toiletries, however, if you have to use a hair conditioner, all Scandic hotels provide hair... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ellen R, Leder  at Scandic Victoria, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us and the readers of Trip Adviser. Your contribution is highly appreciated. It is very pleasant to read about your experiences at Scandic Victoria. We greatly appreciates your feedback about our breakfast and staff! We hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to... More 

Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
245 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We had a standard room for 3 nights on a weekend break. This reasonable priced hotel is in an excellent location, a short stroll from the waterfront and city hall. Also moments from Karl Johans Gate, pretty much the main shopping or tourist street in Oslo. Check in and out was quick & efficient with very friendly & helpful staff.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ellen R, Leder  at Scandic Victoria, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us and the readers of Trip Adviser. It is very importent for us. We are delighted to hear that you had a pleasent stay with us, and we appreciate your comments about the staff, the rooms and the excellent breakfast. When it comes to the capasity of... More 

Charlwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
102 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

So while there were some really excellent features in this hotel, there were also some poor ones. The welcome and check-in were excellent, friendly and professional. The breakfast was fantastic, especially the bread selection. The location and price were good. But in the room it was a bit more mixed. The room was booked as a "Double as a Single"... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ellen R, Leder  at Scandic Victoria, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us and the readers of Trip Adviser. It is very importent for us. We are very glad to hear that you appreciate the service from our staff in the reception and that you found our breakfast fantastic! We are sorry to hear that you had problems with the Internet... More 

Vossevangen, Norway
Level Contributor
86 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The overall impression of the hotel was good. The location was perfect, just a few minutes walk to Akerbrygge or the Parliament (Stortinget). However, we noticed many things that make the hotel average. Cold air from the air condition which was not possible to adjust, it was blowing day and night and really uncomfortable. The room looked clean but we... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ScandicHotelManager, Hotel Manager at Scandic Victoria, responded to this review

Dear ToyotaLandCruiser - thank you for sharing you experience and thank you for rating our location so nicely. I am so sorry your experience did not match your expectations, and I do understand and agree with you - we always try to exceed expectations but here we failed. I do apologize and will adress these issues internally in order to... More 

Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
70 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The hotel position is incredibly convenient! It's 2 mins walking from the main street and from the deck where boats (for fjord sightseeing) leave. The staff is quite gentle and polite; the breakfast is not so rich for italian way to have breakfast. The only negative aspect is regarding the noisy room: there was no way to switch off the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ManagerOslo, Hotel Manager at Scandic Victoria, responded to this review

Dear Luppaciu – thank you for your review and rating our location. Regarding the ventilation - all our rooms have the possibility to reduce airflow, in room or from the front desk. For your next stay please contact the front desk and we wil be able to assist you. Pleas come back soon. Kristoffer Skagen Hotel Manager More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Ideal for business or tourist alike this is well placed for city or quay. Standard Scandic attention to comfort and cleanliness throughout and a youthful warm and helpful welcome from reception staff. Breakfast had a good selection of expected sustainable foods and the hot breakfast too, so it will suit all tastes. Good all round feel.

Was this review helpful? Yes
ManagerOslo, Hotel manager at Scandic Victoria, responded to this review

Dear LJO67 - thank you for your review. Im glad we made you feel welcome. Please come back soon. Kristoffer Skagen Hotel Manager More 

Sutton Coldfield
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

So the Victoria is not on the side of town a normal traveller BUT it is on the side of town you want to be. Situated only 500yds from the dock, it's a short walk away from where the locals and expats go to eat/drink and be merry which makes it excellent for nightlife. Also it's great in the day,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ManagerOslo, Hotel Manager at Scandic Victoria, responded to this review

Dear Bbi597 - thank you for sharing your experience. We hope you come back soon. Kristoffer Skagen Hotel Manager More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

I recently stayed at this hotel for a weekend break and found it to be great! The room itself was very comfortable- great size, clean, well looked after, and quiet. The location ideal for wandering around Oslo as near the ferry and tram lines. The breakfast as well was quite good - lots of great options and filling! Found the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ManagerOslo, Hotel Manager at Scandic Victoria, responded to this review

Dear Minesh, thank you for sharing your experience. Please come back soon Sincerely Kristoffer Skagen Hotel Manager More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

68 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (45)
Viewed
Room/suite (15)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (17)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (23)
Viewed
Room/suite (11)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay