We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

First Hotel Grims Grenka

Kongensgate 5, Oslo 0153, Norway
Hotel amenities
First Hotel Grims Grenka
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ranked #42 of 85 Hotels in Oslo
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 2 weeks ago
RossB678 Dublin, Ireland
Add Photo Write a Review

385 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    116
    108
    78
    51
    32
See reviews for
28
167
23
99
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (385)
  • Mar-May only
    (89)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (139)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (79)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (78)
All months
Shanghai
Level Contributor
29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

For what you get, the price is ok. But: I like design. But here it becomes pretentious. The layout of the room is weird, like a corridor, all is dark, and has little steps and different layers. I expect a clean room. Dust seemed to rule.... And as we stayed two nights: I expect that the empty bottles and glasses... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
OARG, Guest Relations Manager at First Hotel Grims Grenka, responded to this review

Dear JunianSH, We are utmost grateful for your sincere review of First Hotel Grims Grenka. Your opinion is invaluable to us, and we thank you for taking your time to evaluate us. The hotel has a certain design, and we apologize for not exceeding your expectations this time. Nevertheless, your views will be taken into account and I will bring... More 

Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Great location and good value boutique hotel with lovely rooftop bar. Nice relaxed atmosphere in hotel. Good breakfast to start each day. Friendly staff when checking in and out. Would recommend this hotel

Review collected in partnership with FirstHotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
OARG, Guest Relations Manager at First Hotel Grims Grenka, responded to this review

Dear RossB678, Thank you so much for your praise and cordial recommendation of First Hotel Grims Grenka. It is a great pleasure to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and felt taken care of by our staff. Not to mention, that you found our location, atmosphere, breakfast and our rooftop terrace, Q Lounge, to be of satisfaction. We... More 

Haugesund
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The rooms were cleaned poorly, alot of old redwine stains on the carpet. The room was an okey size, but this made no difference, since the toilett is terribly loud, as in there is no difference in speaking to a person while in the shower or talking to someone on the other side of the bed. The bathroom also has... More 

Review collected in partnership with FirstHotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
OARG, Guest Relations Manager at First Hotel Grims Grenka, responded to this review

Dear Torbjørn B, I would like to extend our grand gratitude for taking your time to write a review of First Hotel Grims Grenka, Oslo's first design hotel. I am outmost sorry to read that your stay was not of a satisfactory level, and it is by sincere feedback we can truly uncover deviations and improve our hotel product. Your... More 

Travelers are raving about these Oslo hotels

Wellington, Florida
Level Contributor
76 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Quirky, trendy hotel in a great location. Staff was very helpful. We had a suite that was unconventional, but nice. Bathroom was a little strange as was the color scheme for the room. Comfy, clean beds. Restaurant downstairs was good. Rooftop bar was by far the best thing about staying here.

Was this review helpful? Yes
OARG, Guest Relations Manager at First Hotel Grims Grenka, responded to this review

Dear Kara S, Thank you so much for your lovely review and cordial recommendation of First Hotel Grims Grenka. It is a sincere pleasure to read that you appreciated our design and atmosphere, and enjoyed your stay with us. Especially that you felt taken care of by the staff, the location and the Q Lounge. This shows us that we... More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I stayed at the hotel payed 4000 for a night for a 50sqm suite and was really really disappointed. The room was so dark and showed obvious signs of being worn out, dirty with dust all over, A 15 sqm narrow passage so the room it self was not particularly big... The breakfast was a negative experience where they had... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
OARG, Guest Relations Manager at First Hotel Grims Grenka, responded to this review

Dear Henru01, Thank you for taking your time to evaluate First Hotel Grims Grenka in regards to your previous stay with us. Your sincere thoughts and comments are invaluable to us and most appreciated. Please do not hesitate to contact me should you have any further comments to your stay or to help us improve our product. We do hope... More 

Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
73 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I stayed in this hotel for one night. The location of the hotel is very central and in a quiet street. The hotel is very modern. The staff was not very warm at the welcoming or for the check out, which is somehow a pity. The room was very comfortable and nice but the A/C was not working while I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
OARG, Guest Relations Manager at First Hotel Grims Grenka, responded to this review

Dear FredK1412, We are outmost grateful for your sincere review. There is nothing more we appreciate than feedback from our dear guests. We are also very pleased to read that you especially enjoyed the breakfast, and we do hope to have the pleasure of accommodating you again where you also get the opportunity to enjoy a cocktail at Q Lounge.... More 

nyc
Level Contributor
25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2015

I have never given a poor review to a hotel. Usually we vet them sufficiently before hand. But not in this case. We found this hotel so dark and depressing, with such dingy hallways and low lighting everywhere....and the rooms so tiny as to barely to be functional. The bathroom? Basically a phone booth with a tiny open shower stall... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
OARG, Guest Relations Manager at First Hotel Grims Grenka, responded to this review

Dear doppel, Thank you for taking your time to write such a sincere and elaborate review of you stay at First Hotel Grims Grenka. There is nothing more we appreciate than honest feedback from our eminent guests. The hotel has a certain design, and we are very sorry to read that your expectations was not exceeded this time. I have... More 

Kristiansand, Vest-Agder, Norway
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2015

We chose to have our annual strategy meeting in one of the suites at Grims Grenka. Perfect location, good food with local ingredients, and especially the staff make this an overall excellent experience. The roof top bar was also a nice surprise! This is the right hotel for those who want something a bit different, with high quality. Anne-Kristin, Norsk... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
OARG, Guest Relations Manager at First Hotel Grims Grenka, responded to this review

Dear Anne-Kristin, We would like to extend our uttermost appreciations for your praise and cordial recommendation in regards to your stay at First Hotel Grims Grenka. I am very pleased to read that you felt taken care of by the staff and enjoyed all aspects of our product in terms of design, cuisine and atmosphere. I truly appreciate your kind... More 

London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2015

The service was great! The room as well! Hotel perfectly located, central and very near the harbor and the old fortress. I liked best the roof top bar and the excellent breakfast. Only, I wished I was in a room with a view of the city, rather than the hotel lobby.

Was this review helpful? Yes
OARG, Guest Relations Manager at First Hotel Grims Grenka, responded to this review

Dear 669fabri99, Thank you so much for your lovely feedback and cordial recommendation for your stay at First Hotel Grims Grenka. We are uttermost delighted to read that you enjoyed our rooftop terrace, Q Lounge, and the breakfast buffet. If you desire a room with an external view for your next stay, I can highly recommend one of our Winter... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

169 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (86)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
Room/suite (21)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
1:40
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (34)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (83)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (15)
Viewed
Room/suite (38)
Viewed
Dining (18)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (6)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay