We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Clarion Collection Hotel Christiania Teater

#22 of 86 Hotels in Oslo
Certificate of Excellence
Hotel website
Stortingsgata 16, Oslo 0161, Norway (Formerly Doubletree by Hilton Oslo City Centre)
Special Offer
Up to 15% OFF Room rate
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Professional photos
Clarion Collection Hotel Christiania Teater
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

206 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    69
    90
    32
    12
    3
See reviews for
19
105
10
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (206)
  • Mar-May only
    (54)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (101)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (29)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (22)
All months
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
222 reviews
125 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 210 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We were generally happy enough with this hotel: the location is excellent for explorations of central Oslo and beyond. The rooms were clean and comfortable, if a bit dated. However we had three issues. 1. Sound: they are poorly insulated and our friends had to move rooms due to being kept up all night with music and drumming from the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed in this hotel previously & was happy enough. Like other recent guests I was hugely disappointed to find out about the restaurant being closed upon arrival. I feel the hotel should have made more effort to communicate the situation, as work was already underway by the time I booked. The room was also very warm & there was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
GM_ChristianiaTeater, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Christiania Teater, responded to this review

Dear ritchteadub, Thank you for sharing your experience staying at our hotel. We are renovating the lobby as well as the restaurant because when finished we want to give our guest the best possible hotel experience. If you read old postings you would see that everyone loves our location as well as the staff and rooms, however the lack of... More 

Wallingford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
108 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We arrived at the hotel to find major renovations under way. These would have been planned prior to when we booked, and it was disappointing not to have been told about this in advance. As compensation for guests, the hotel was offering 24 hour refreshments such as sandwiches, water, juices, coffee, and cereal. As the kitchen and restaurant are the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
GM_ChristianiaTeater, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Christiania Teater, responded to this review

Dear Nitramox1, Thank you for reviewing the hotel - yes we are renovating the lobby and restaurant as well as the kitchen. We think we have by far the best location and soon to have the best breakfast in norway as well as a fabulous lobby. In the meantime we listen to everyone and try to make a good experience... More 

Cortlandt Manor, New York
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We had a wonderful stay here. The rooms were lovely, large, and comfortable, and the bathrooms were spectacular. There is really interesting art in multiple places on every floor. We wandered around just to look at the paintings. The staff was helpful whenever they could be. And they not only provided breakfast (as advertised), but they also provided a free... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This hotel is in poor shape. It is past its use by date. We booked this hotel 6 months in advance. We were not notified that renovations to the lobby and restaurant were taking place. Thanks to trip advisor reviews we had some warning. On arrival we were upgraded to a bigger room. No breakfast was provided so the were... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The hotel location is just in the center of Oslo main attraction. Oslo Quay, Royal Palace, Opera House, Train Station all is within walking distance. The restaurant is under refurbishment and they never told us about this. They provide 24 hour free refreshment as a compensation, but I think the choice is not comparable to the room rate.. They must... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Dammam
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

we stayed in the hotel for 4 nights in July 2015 , we are a family with 2 children, the room we got was the family room and boy it was huge! loved the big space -but not much the wooden cold floor- the location of the hotel is superb, right in the middle of Oslo and a 5 minute... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Quebec City, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Spent two days at the hotel in August 2015. Great location, close from the central and national theatre station, very easy to get to by foot .As I am traveling alone I booked a standard single room and was impressed by the size of it. I also got a double bed while most hotel have a single bed in those... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
England
Level Contributor
47 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

we booked this hotel as the last night of a 2 week Norway holiday specifically because of the breakfast and complimentary evening meal offered. When booked the hotel was advertising this as home baked pastries between 3 and 6pm and a buffet including a main course and desert between 6 and 9pm, they also advertise that the breakfast includes organic... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Saint Helens, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This hotel is currently being refurbished. This means there is no breakfast and complementary evening meal. There are two fridges with some prepacked food that you have to eat in your room. These are salads and sandwiches in plastic wrappers, fruit juices, apples and croissants.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

136 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (108)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Room/suite (19)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (15)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (61)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (28)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oslo hotels
Sentrum
Thon Hotel Rosenkrantz Oslo
Sentrum
Comfort Hotel Grand Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Saga Hotel Oslo
#5 of 86 in Oslo
4.5 of 5 stars 400 reviews
Hotel Bristol
#8 of 86 in Oslo
4.0 of 5 stars 807 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay