We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 17 Tromso hotels

Rica Ishavshotel

3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Fr Langesgate 2, Tromso 9008, Norway
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Rica Ishavshotel to your Saves list
Rica Ishavshotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Booking.com Hotels.com Travelocity
and 5 more sites!
74%
Ranked #13 of 17 hotels in Tromso
Certificate of Excellence 2013
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
TheLegos Vilanova i la Geltru, Spain
Write a Review

349 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    123
    136
    52
    17
    21
See reviews for
39
136
30
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vilanova i la Geltru, Spain
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
42 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

If you choose this hotel, make sure you book a room on the seaside. The view of the (snowy in April) mountain range together with the water and a full moon isn't something you will be fast to forget. The bed was too soft and they are currently rebuilding the place, but everything else is more than fine.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Oslo, Norway
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is not a hotel, this is a construction ground. You're living and eating with the construction workers, who's chain smoking in their rooms and corridors and who's coughing roughly over the breakfast buffet. Drilling starts at 7, even though the breakfast doesn't start by any chance before that time. You won't be able to get as much as a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Bergen
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
36 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We arrived at the hotel to find that parts of the hotel are under construction, so the whole place is a mess and very difficult to discover where the temporary reception was. However, the staff managed pretty well to surmount the difficulties. This was our second time at the hotel, and we found to our amusement that the breakfast food,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Farnborough
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

A very well sited hotel, right on the water front with excellent views over the fjord. The rooms were exceptionally clean, with new showers, bedding etc. Cant fault the breakfast, we were given a takeaway breakfast when were leaving at 6.30. The outside of the hotel still had some scaffolding but this did not affect the inside of the hotel,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

As others have noted, the public parts of this hotel have been under construction which was a bit inconvenient, as there wasn't a bar or restaurant and you had to go through a makeshift reception and construction site to go in and out. The rooms and breakfast facilities were good despite this, and the staff were good despite obviously difficult... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Palo Alto, California
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

We disembarked from a Hurtigruten ship around midnight and had a challenge finding the entrance to the hotel because of the construction. The lobby was still a disaster area, with trestles and ladders about. The night clerk couldn't find the reservation that Hurtigruten had made, but took pity on us in the wee hours of the night and gave us... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Magnar S, Leder  at Rica Ishavshotel, responded to this review

To all our guests who have been affected by the redevelopment of Rica Ishavshotel. We apologize to everyone who has been affected or damaged their stay here at the hotel this winter. This project was much larger than we had anticipated. If we were to do this again, then the outcome would have been different for sure. We've thought a... More

Worthing, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
10 hotel reviews
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

We were not aware that both bars and restaurant would be shut, no reception area, no chairs, coffee facilities were 2 flasks on a table with paper cups - so disappointed. Builders were working weekends and evening. Only entrance was being used by builders carrying in materials, staff trolleying out dirty breakfast plates to mobile food van in car park??... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Magnar S, Leder  at Rica Ishavshotel, responded to this review

To all our guests who have been affected by the redevelopment of Rica Ishavshotel. We apologize to everyone who has been affected or damaged their stay here at the hotel this winter. This project was much larger than we had anticipated. If we were to do this again, then the outcome would have been different for sure. We've thought a... More

Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014 via mobile

Receptionist was literally ducked under scaffolding to check us in. Building materials and hardhats sitting all over our hallways. Carpet is half torn up. Bar is completely closed. Exit signs hanging from their wires. Rates should be discounted 75% or more for this.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Magnar S, Leder  at Rica Ishavshotel, responded to this review

To all our guests who have been affected by the redevelopment of Rica Ishavshotel. We apologize to everyone who has been affected or damaged their stay here at the hotel this winter. This project was much larger than we had anticipated. If we were to do this again, then the outcome would have been different for sure. We've thought a... More

Lake district, England
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
26 hotel reviews
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

We had booked to stay at this hotel for our 5 night stay in Tromso after looking at the hotel on their website and it looked like a lovely hotel in a great location. Fortunately before we went I checked the reviews on Tripadvisor and found that there was building work going on - a fact which was made little... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Magnar S, Leder  at Rica Ishavshotel, responded to this review

To all our guests who have been affected by the redevelopment of Rica Ishavshotel. We apologize to everyone who has been affected or damaged their stay here at the hotel this winter. This project was much larger than we had anticipated. If we were to do this again, then the outcome would have been different for sure. We've thought a... More

Bristol, UK
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

This was our last night in Norway after a fantastic week and what a huge disappointment this hotel was. On arrival the hotel was a building site with the restaurants and bars closed, a temporary reception only, scaffolding over most of the outside of the hotel and the hotel full of builders, trailing wires and building equipment. They were even... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Magnar S, Leder  at Rica Ishavshotel, responded to this review

To all our guests who have been affected by the redevelopment of Rica Ishavshotel. We apologize to everyone who has been affected or damaged their stay here at the hotel this winter. This project was much larger than we had anticipated. If we were to do this again, then the outcome would have been different for sure. We've thought a... More

Been to Rica Ishavshotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rica Ishavshotel

Also Known As:
Rica Ishavshotel Hotel
Rica Ishavshotel Tromso Tromsø
Rica Ishavshotel Tromso Hotel Tromsø
Address: Fr Langesgate 2, Tromso 9008, Norway
Location: Norway > Northern Norway > Troms > Tromso
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 17 hotels in Tromso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Rica Ishavshotel 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, HotelTravel.com, Expedia and Otel so you can book your Rica Ishavshotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rica Ishavshotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.