We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Clarion Collection Hotel Aurora

Sjogata 19 - 21, Tromso 9291, Norway (Formerly Clarion Hotel Bryggen)
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Clarion Collection Hotel Aurora
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Clarion Collection Hotel Aurora
Write a Review

387 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    151
    150
    47
    27
    12
See reviews for
47
187
25
65
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (387)
  • Mar-May only
    (96)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (63)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (56)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (172)
All months
Granada, Spain
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

A fairly standard Scandinavian hotel. Rooms are clean and beds comfortable, but the key card and the locks is a mess everytime I visit. Breakfast is ok. I like the staff in the reception - they are very friendly and helpful. Location is perfect with no traffic.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bergen, Norway
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Hotel Aurora was a pleasure. There was a nice complimentary evening buffet, fantastic jacuzzi, sauna and exercise room. Rooms were clean and modern. The coffee at the morning buffet was disappointing.

Review collected in partnership with NordicChoiceHotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
Copenhagen, Denmark
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The hotel is located ideally in the city centre (its a small city anyways) with a short walk to all the local attractions. The hotel room was clean and stocked with all the amenities though the room is on the smaller side and congested (standard room) with a comparatively big bathroom. We were mostly outside so we did not care... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Helsinki
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This hotel was formerly known as "Bryggen", as it lies next to a row of old commercial seafront buildings (the most famous "Bryggen" in Norway is that in Bergen). There is a cluster of hotels in a small area next to the waterfront and competition is stiff. Rooms in Aurora are average and nothing special (somewhat even unpractical if you... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Chester, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2015

We would like to thank ALL of the staff for a really lovely stay, our room 419 (superior room) was clean, the beds were very comfortable and spacious. The room had two arm chairs, a coffee table, chest of drawers, a mini fridge, Writing desk and chair, telephone, TV, trouser press, suitcase storage rack Kettle and cups (teas and Coffee),... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Hjemvoll, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Aurora, responded to this review

Dear davechester2014, Thank you for taking the time to share such a 5* review of your stay with us on TripAdvisor. We are delighted to see so many positive aspects to your stay with us at Clarion Collection Hotel Aurora. It is also great to receive such amazing feedback regarding our team members. We will indeed pass on this rave... More 

Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2015

I booked a room with a standard bed and was in room 527. The rooms are very small and beds are really uncomfortable. Its like sleeping on a bouncy house with kids bouncing. The mattress is a few inches (maybe 3 or 4) thick and is laid on extremely soft springs, so if the person sleeping next to you moves... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hjemvoll, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Aurora, responded to this review

Dear Yash S Thank you for taking the time to share a review of your stay on TripAdvisor. I am disappointed to see your comments regarding our beds. The top-matresses are 7 cm and qiute normal in Norway. I am so sorry if the springs in the matress were too soft for you, unfortunately these are our standard beds. If... More 

Oslo, Norway
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2015

this is a perfect hotel if you want have a quite, silent and clean room in a really nice location in tromsø! the breakfast is really good with a large choice of food and served in a room with a stunning view! you can also get a waffel in the afternoon and a night food if you like :) and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hjemvoll, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Aurora, responded to this review

Dear VentoDoriente, Thank you for taking the time to share a fantastic 5* review of your recent stay with us. We are delighted to hear your comments regarding our clean romms, the location and the food and waffles we offer free of charge. We do hope to welcome you back sometime :-) Best regards Inger-Helen Hjemvoll / General manager More 

A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2015

We stayed at this hotel for 5 nights, returning just yesterday. I cannot recommend it enough...the location, the staff, the comfort of the beds. The option to have breakfast and an evening meal included was perfect, as it made the stay more relaxed as after a cold day on activities in the snow, it meant you could get warm and... More 

Review collected in partnership with NordicChoiceHotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Hjemvoll, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Aurora, responded to this review

Dear Sir, Thank you for taking the time to share a fantastic 5* review of your recent stay with us. We are delighted to hear your comments regarding our location, our staff and the food we provide our guests for free. We are also pleased to see we made up for the lack of storage in your room with the... More 

2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2015

after spending some nights on a cruise ship I liked the idea of a good bed but what I got was a great bed. the Hotel is right in the centre of town and within walking distance from the docking bay for the Hurtigruten cruise ships and very close to the main shopping street in Tromso. A vey good breakfast... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hjemvoll, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Aurora, responded to this review

Dear zzfftt Thank you for taking the time to share such a fantastic 5* review if your stay with us on TripAdvisor. We are delighted to see you liked sleeping in our beds end enjoyed our brekfast. We do hope to welcome you back some day :-) Best regards Inger-Helen More 

Oxford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2015

Excellent location.comfortable bed,well organised wet room,good varied breakfast. Coffee and tea readily available in foyer. Waffles in dining room after 3pm. Small gym,sauna and spa on floor 5. Room not cleaned until after 3 pm every day.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hjemvoll, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Aurora, responded to this review

Dear LynnHatch Thank you for taking the time to share with us your experience at Clarion Collection Hotel Aurora. It is great to hear so many positive aspects to your stay such as our breakfast and Compact gym. We are sorry your room was not cleaned until after 3pm, I will look into this as all our rooms are to... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

101 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (67)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (21)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (17)
Viewed
View from room (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (14)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (34)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (8)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question