We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Clarion Collection Hotel Hammer

Travelers' Choice award winner
Storgata 108B, Lillehammer 2615, Norway
Hotel amenities
Clarion Collection Hotel Hammer
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Lillehammer
A recent review
Add Photo Write a Review

248 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    116
    95
    23
    9
    5
See reviews for
50
83
12
59
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (248)
  • Mar-May only
    (57)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (95)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (50)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (46)
All months
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Stayed here for one night in June. The location is great, the hotel looks nice and has a good atmosphere. However, the selection of different bread types etc for breakfast could be better - the breakfast was very basic by Norwegian standards. Also, they have twin beds that does not work when you are a couple - they slide away... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bellevue, WA
Level Contributor
88 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

The hotel contacted us prior to our visit, saying that the kitchen would be under construction, and the included dinner would be just bread and soup. It was nice of them to let us know, and we decided to stay anyway. We didn't mind the kitchen, but scaffolding outside one of our rooms was not pleasant. Rooms were ok, but... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Norway
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Have stayed here often. Love the free simple dinner buffet, coffee at all times and waffles in the afternoon. Helpful receptionists. This hotel is expanding which means scaffolds and barracks outside many windows. Which again means no view, closed curtains and uncertain open window at night. Still love the place.

Review collected in partnership with NordicChoiceHotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
M_Haraldsen, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Hammer, responded to this review

Hello Thank you very much for your very nice review. We know that the hotel is not looking very good during the renovation (at least o the outside), but are hoping you will come back and se the final result. We think it will be great. hav a nice summer. Yours sincerely Marianne Haraldsen, GM CCHHammer More 

Trondheim, Norway
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Currently being rebuilt, though, which means some mess. Central location, very friendly staff, good breakfast. A small evening meal is free for the guests, very convienient when travelling alone and just need to grab something before going to bed. Concerning beds: I have never been offered a king bed, only twin beds even when travelling With my spouce.

Review collected in partnership with NordicChoiceHotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
M_Haraldsen, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Hammer, responded to this review

Hello Thank you very much for your nice review - especially in times with renovation and construction work, it means a lot to us to get positive feed-back. We hope to see you again next time you visit Lillehammer and show you our "new" hotel. Wish you a wonderful summer. Yours sincerely Marianne Haraldsen, GM CC Hotel Hammer More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I have stayed in many hotels and B&B's and written a number of reviews. This hotel unfortunately the worst I have experienced. Initially we were given a room with a view of green netting. The hotel is being extended yet they do not close. Towels are thin. Tea/coffee making facility in room is non existent. Water in shower takes 10... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
M_Haraldsen, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Hammer, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am deeply sorry to read about your bad experience at our hotel. We are doing our best to please our customers, but obviously we did not manage this the night you stayed here. Since I don't know when you stayed here (nor your name) you could perhaps send me an e-mail with some more... More 

Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Very good hotel in centre of the town. Comfortable and quiet rooms. Very good breakfast and coffee all day. Free eveningmeal included With hot and Cold Food. Nowadays they do a renovation which can make some noise. But otherwise very good and affordable option.

Review collected in partnership with NordicChoiceHotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
M_Haraldsen, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Hammer, responded to this review

Dear Åge Thank you very much for your nice review. We are really happy to read that you enjoyed your stay here. As you write we are expanding and renovating the hotel - and we are looking forward to show you the results. Hope you will come back and give us a review then too. Wish you a wonderful summer.... More 

Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

First I got a room with construction work going on outside. Asked to change to a quiet room and got another that was dark, but seemed quieter at first. 7 AM next morning they started drilling and hammering directly in the concrete walls of my very room. The loudest noises ever. And all I could do was get out. The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
M_Haraldsen, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Hammer, responded to this review

Dear Mr.AlfBrero Thank you for your review. I am deeply sorry to read about your bad experience at our hotel. We are doing our best to avoid noice before 9 o'clock inside the hotel, but obviously we did not manage this the night you stayed here. Since I don't know when you stayed here (nor your name) you could perhaps... More 

Waxhaw, North Carolina
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2015

This is one of the worst hotels I have ever stayed in. And yet it was $200 a night! In the U.S. this hotel would fetch maybe $60 a night. The furnishings, carpeting and decor looked as if it was put in place 30 years ago and never updated nor properly cleaned. The room smelled of mold and decay. There... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
M_Haraldsen, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Hammer, responded to this review

Dear Mr 3Papageno Thank you for telling us your thoughts about your stay here. You almost leave me speechless. Because as you mention, we are no.1 in Lillehammer - and that must mean we normally do much much better than this. I guess this was the day were everything went wrong. One could find hundred excuses - but the important... More 

Hamar, Norway
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2015

Very good hotel in center of Lillehammer. Recommended for all. Easy access from trainstation, Easy to park if you travel by car. All facilities available within a short walk from hotel. Friendly staff

Review collected in partnership with NordicChoiceHotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
M_Haraldsen, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Hammer, responded to this review

Hello Thank you very much for giving us such a positive response. We are very happy to read that you were satisfyed. Hoping to welcome you back sometime. Yours sincerely Marianne Haraldsen, gm CCHHammer More 

Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
55 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2015

We stayed here for our last night in Norway, we arrived late, and went straight to bed-sharing a Twin bed. The hotel and surrounding buildings are under renovation and while it was quiet on a Friday night/Saturday, it seemed to affect the liveliness of the street and area. I appreciated the tea station and reading room. Breakfast was fine, but... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
M_Haraldsen, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Hammer, responded to this review

Hello Megan Thank you for taking time to give us your honest feedback. This part of the mainstreet i Lillehammer is often quiet - and not far from the hotel (one block) you will find the pedestrian street where there are an liveliy atmosphere almost 24/7. Many of our guests find it quite good since that makes the nights much... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

24 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (16)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (8)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay