We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

First Hotel Victoria

3.0 of 5 Strandgaten 21, Hamar 2300, Norway
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
First Hotel Victoria
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
First Hotel Victoria
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    43
    19
    13
    12
See reviews for
13
25
11
41
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (102)
  • Mar-May only
    (16)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (35)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (33)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (18)
All months
Oslo, Norway
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Room was clean and spacious, with a view on the lake. Reception staff was very helpfull. Breakfast was excellent. However, we could not adjust temperature in our room, neither we could open the window. Room with lake view may be noisy because of the trains passing by below the windows

Review collected in partnership with FirstHotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
Trude O, General Manager at First Hotel Victoria, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your feedback after your stay with us. We truly appreciate this. Hope to se you again at First Hotel Victoria. Best regards Trude G. Oreld General Manager More 

Oslo
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
28 hotel reviews
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed here for one night and got a room with a nice bed with no extra cost. I think it was a promotion from the manufactorer. The room was quite modern and clean. The breakfast (on a Sunday) was a bit under par.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Trude O, General Manager at First Hotel Victoria, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments after your stay with us. It is important for us and I really appreciate it. Your comments regarding breakfast is taking further in the hotel. Welcome back to First Hotel Victoria. Best regards Trude G. Oreld General Manager More 

Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The hotel is central in Hamar and easy to find. My room was nice. The breakfast was OK. What I missed was a car park at the hotel. It's a big car park nearby, but there you have to pay during daytime (free from 17 - 09)

Review collected in partnership with FirstHotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
Trude O, General Manager at First Hotel Victoria, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your feedback after your stay with us. I truly appreciate it and its important for us. We hope to se you again at First Hotel Victoria. Best regards Trude G. Oreld More 

Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2015 via mobile

The First Hotel Victoria was an excellent choice as a base for spending Christmas with Norwegian relatives living near Hamar. Recently renovated, the rooms are comfortable and functional. The breakfast buffet has a reasonable selection of breakfast foods and the staff at the hotel are extremely friendly and helpful. The hotel has the added advantage of being very close to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Trude O, General Manager at First Hotel Victoria, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your feedback after your stay with us. It is important for us to receive comments from our guests. I am happy to se that you enjoyed your stay in First Hotel Victoria. Welcome back to us. Best regards Trude G. Oreld General Manager More 

Oslo, Norway
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2014

Great hotel situated perfectly in Hamar down at the lake. Closeness to the train station has advantages and disadvantages (sound) Breakfast does not start untill 07:00 giving a late start to the day. Earlier breakfast would have been great. If you sleep light ask for a room not towards the trainstation or on one of the top floors. Great service.

Review collected in partnership with FirstHotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
Trude O, General Manager at First Hotel Victoria, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback from your stay at First Hotel Victoria. I appreciate your feedback witch is important for us to improve our service. I am glad to see the service you received was great. Regarding opening hours for breakfast I am happy to inform you that we from last Monday have new opening hours. Monday to Friday from... More 

norway
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2014

if you like the view then the railroadside of the hotel is a good choice. however the railroad itself is not that pleasant. the rooms are Perfect, the breakfast is ok i will book this hotel again.....

Review collected in partnership with FirstHotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
Trude O, General Manager at First Hotel Victoria, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback after your stay at First Hotel Victoria. I appreciate it. It is important for us to receive comments from our guests to improve the service. I am glad to see you want to visit us again. Best regards Trude Grøndahl Oreld General Manager More 

Oslo, Norway
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2014

I got a room facing the railway. When the window was closed there was no nois, but it got warm and impossible to sleep. So i had to open the window but then it was nois from the railway all night long. Why did they not put aircondition in the rooms when they renovated the whole hotel? And the cleaning... More 

Review collected in partnership with FirstHotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
Trude O, General Manager at First Hotel Victoria, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your feedback after your stay at First Hotel Victoria. It is very important to receive comments from our guests and the experience they have with us, both positive and negative. I am sorry to see that the noise from the railway was disturbing. We do have rooms facing the back yard. The view is not... More 

Oslo, Norway
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2014

Excellent location near train station, beach and shopping. Nice "sea" view. I enjoyed the stay very much. Breakfast was good......................................................................................

Review collected in partnership with FirstHotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
Trude O, General Manager at First Hotel Victoria, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay at First Hotel Victoria. It is important for us to receive feedback from our guests. I am glad to read that you had a god stay with us. Welcome back. Best regards Trude Grøndahl Oreld General Manager More 

Aldershot
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2014

A good hotel with great view over lake from my 8th floor room. However the room was very small. No space for a chair to sit on. Also no table to write or use laptop. I had to go to the lounge to find space to work.

Review collected in partnership with FirstHotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2014

When you order there is several options. My option was a room with a view, wood floor, a desk, and close to the elevator. What I got was a room with a window to the back, far away from the elevator, no desk, I had to take my computer to bed because there where not even a chair there. I... More 

Review collected in partnership with FirstHotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to First Hotel Victoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about First Hotel Victoria

Address: Strandgaten 21, Hamar 2300, Norway
Location: Norway > Eastern Norway > Hedmark > Hamar Municipality > Hamar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — First Hotel Victoria 3*
Number of rooms: 161
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your First Hotel Victoria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
First Hotel Hamar

20 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (10)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (10)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Other (6)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay