We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

MEININGER Hotel Wien Hauptbahnhof

Hotel website
Columbusgasse 16, Vienna 1100, Austria
Book on
TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
MEININGER Hotel Wien Hauptbahnhof
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

386 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
57 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I have stayed with Meininger Hotels before in Frankfurt, Brussels and now in Vienna. I always like their act of professionalism in every details from Check-in, to Check out, In all areas from Guest Security, Dinning, recreation and guest information. I stayed one night in mixed dorms of 6- People, as a returning guest, I availed a special discount, The... More 

Helpful?
Thank RohitJoban
Easley, South Carolina
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Hostel was perfect for our short stay in Vienna. It is technically outside of the main tourist sections of the city, but is within 5 min of the metro, so really it makes no difference! And it's located right beside the main train station which is very convenient for early travel mornings. We stayed in a private room and it... More 

Helpful?
Thank kapace88
Katerini, Greece
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I think this hotel is more for friends and young people...We stayed one night the room was clean but it had a problem with the toilet smell !! It had free wifi and space to keap luggage after check out if you want to go for walk before you leave the city! The reseption guys were willing to inform us... More 

Helpful?
Thank Haroulito
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The location is very convenient, it takes around 10 minutes walking from the Central Station (Hbf). The rooms are quite comfortable but it seems that they're not cleaned on a regular basis, which is not good. Almost 7 euro for a hostel-type breakfast definetely not the best deal. Staff is really friendly. In general, good price for what they offer.

Helpful?
Thank VrP11
Belgrade, Serbia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We booked triple room and stayed one night. It's located in quiet street, yet close to attractions. Our room was on the 3rd floor, spacious enough and clean, but nothing special. If you're looking place to stay for one or two nights and have real expectations regarding price/quality it's a good choice. Stuff is very polite, friendly and helpful. Parking... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank NSweety
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2015

The hostel is not really easy to find but once you know the route you reach the central station in 5min by walk, a Metro station is right at the corner. The hostel looks great everything is new and modern, the staff is very kind but the prices are a bit high for a hostel...It looked more than a hotel... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Pau P
MEININGERHotels, Reception at MEININGER Hotel Wien Hauptbahnhof, responded to this review

Hi! Thank you for taking time and sharing your feedback. It's good to see that you enjoyed your stay and we hope to welcome you again in this or any other MEININGER all over europe! Many greetings, Toni More 

Slovenia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2015 via mobile

The hostel's location is great, just a minute walk to the next underground station where the u1 line brings you directly to the city center. I've stayed in a 6 person room and there were 4 standard beds plus one bunk. Beds are rather small, narrow, and there are reading lights missing at the bunk beds as well as more... More 

Helpful?
Thank HNina
MEININGERHotels, Reception at MEININGER Hotel Wien Hauptbahnhof, responded to this review

Hi! Thank you for sharing your feedback! As we are in an ongoing renovation process, some rooms are not refurbished yet. We're sorry that we couldn't completely meet your expectations, but we hope to welcome you back after our refurbishment to show you what s' new. Best regards Toni More 

Dresden, Germany
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2015

The hotel is one metro stop or a 10 minutes walk from Hauptbahnhof. The double room we had booked was spacious and had everything we needed. Except there was just one towel and two single beds but we got along. The staff is young and friendly. The checkout took rather long because there was just one receptionist.

Helpful?
Thank stevy_dd
MEININGERHotels, Reception at MEININGER Hotel Wien Hauptbahnhof, responded to this review

Hi! Thank you for taking time and sharing your feedback! We are doing our best to avoid long waiting times but on the othe side we want to give best service to every guest :) It's good to see that you had a good stay with us and we hope to see you again in this or any other MEININGER... More 

Ludhiana, India
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2015 via mobile

It is a hotel, converted into a hostel, it means you have attached bathroom & toilet. Really clean hostel, amazing cafe and pool table. Hostel in cheap but stuff like pool table, using computers, are little expensive than the normal.

Helpful?
Thank Puneet A
MEININGERHotels, Reception at MEININGER Hotel Wien Hauptbahnhof, responded to this review

Hi! Thank you for this nice review! We are happy to see that you had a good stay with us and hope to see you again soon in this or any other MEININGER all over europe! Many greetings, Toni More 

Porto, Portugal
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2015

It's kind of like a glorified hostel. Cheap, pleasant and next to a metro station. Staff was helpful. We were a group of 4 and were told on arrival we'd be "promoted" to a private 4-bed room, which was great. Didn't try breakfast. Good value for money.

Helpful?
Thank vicfsh
MEININGERHotels, Reception at MEININGER Hotel Wien Hauptbahnhof, responded to this review

Hi there! Many thanks for this super nice review! It's always good to see that our guests had an enjoyable stay. We hope to see you again for your next trip to vienna! Many greetings, Toni More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

101 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (86)
Viewed
Room/suite (27)
Viewed
Bathroom (11)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (17)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (30)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (15)
Viewed
Other (15)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Leopoldstadt
MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Franz
Leopoldstadt
MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Sissi
Hotel Schani Wien
#21 of 368 in Vienna
4.5 of 5 stars 232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay