We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Mercure Josefshof Wien

Hotel website
Josefsgasse 4-6, Vienna 1080, Austria
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with ACCORHOTELS.COM to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mercure Josefshof Wien
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Mercure Josefshof Wien
Mercure Josefshof Wien
Mercure Josefshof Wien
Add Photo Write a Review

779 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    221
    394
    116
    33
    15
See reviews for
108
388
45
123
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (779)
  • Mar-May only
    (198)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (217)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (168)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (196)
All months
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Very good cleaning but too many disappointments: Bad service (we were not offered any discount when we complained about bad A/C), expensive parking and breakfast. Other than that the staff was helpful and it is a beautiful hotel at good location.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Seattle
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Friends and I are staying here for a few.days after a trip through Hungary and Slovakia. The price seems great until you see the rooms -- the lower priced ones are NOWHERE near the four-star quality that's advertised and the hotel amenities are a joke. A few plastic chairs in the lobby is called a "bar." We had 3 rooms.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
3 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

At first glance the hotel looks great - good location, price not bad, clean, environmentally friendly. Within a couple hours our opinion changed. First, the environmental stuff is a complete fraud. It's summer and the room felt like an icebox; we turned the temperature up, and the cleaning staff turned it way back down. There are excessive electronic controls running... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I stayed in the prestige part. Decor was rather too much for me - I don't particularly care for gilded surfaces or Klimt, but espresso machine in room was appreciated. The bed was a bit on the soft side for me, and you couldn't turn the TV all the way to face it. Great spacious bathroom, perfectly clean, and a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
66 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed here for 4 days, and got a free upgrade to a privilege room. These are in the connected adjacent building (it looks as if that used to be another hotel). Very nicely decorated rooms, good strong shower, and a very well-functioning airco (it was 30 degrees outside). Coffee machine in the room. Quiet street, yet very well located... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
MercureJosefshof, Manager at Mercure Josefshof Wien, responded to this review

Dear user donstefano, thank you very much for your feedback. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and liked our privilege rooms. The breakfast might seem to be a bit pricy with € 18,-- per person, but maybe you give it a chance during your (hopefully) next stay. We offer a very big variety and the... More 

1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The service is impolite, the air conditioning in the room wasn't working, no ironing board to borrow, smell of cigarets in the room. Not appropriate for business at al! The location is o.k., not quit in the center but near underground. There are plenty nice hotels in Vienna, wouldn't recommend this one!

Was this review helpful? Yes
MercureJosefshof, Manager at Mercure Josefshof Wien, responded to this review

Dear Maria M, we are very sorry about your impressions in the Mercure Josefshof Wien. We want to tell you that we have an extra room for ironing your clothes. For safety reasons we don´t take Irons to mthe rooms, sorry about that. We have a lot of nonsmoking rooms and if you had informed the receptionist, that your rooms... More 

Victoria
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

On a quiet side street in downtown Vienna just outside the ring road and near trams and subway stops. Although heavily renovated our room still had loose fixtures, unfilled soap container, and was barely big enough to fit a queen bed. But quiet which was important as it needed open windows to keep from being stuffy. Smokers are everywhere and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
MercureJosefshof, Manager at Mercure Josefshof Wien, responded to this review

Dear user roadkilt, thank you so much for your detailed comments. It is very important for us to get also feedback about things that did not work as they should. We have many rooms with bathtub and always encourage our guests to let us know about things they expected differetly. We always do our best to satisfy you as much... More 

Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I stayed here for a full week while in Vienna for work. Location is excellent but little else is with this hotel. The room was uncomfortably hot and my repeated requests to correct the thermostat went unheeded. Overall service was not on par with the price of accommodation. The buffet breakfast was a dim bright spot in any otherwise subpar... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
MercureJosefshof, Manager at Mercure Josefshof Wien, responded to this review

Dear DiploDave, we are very sorry about the Problems. But can you tell which roomnumber you had? More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2015

Stayed in a large room with a kitchenette for 6 nights. The room hadn't been refurbished for a few years but was still in a good condition, everything worked. We were surprised to find that breakfast WAS included in our rate which wasn't very clear when booking. The staff at the hotel were very helpful and even supplied us with... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
MercureJosefshof, Manager at Mercure Josefshof Wien, responded to this review

Dear user David P, we like to thank you very much for your great feedback. We forwarded it to our entire staff and they were very happy about it. See you soon at the Josefshof and best regards to London. Markus Schmid Resident Manager More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

233 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (201)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (20)
Viewed
Room/suite (92)
Viewed
Bathroom (40)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Other (42)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (32)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (12)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (3)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...

Staying in Josefstadt

Neighborhood Profile
Josefstadt
The eighth district is an older generation’s Vienna at its finest: and this is what makes it popular with locals of all ages. Josefstadt has theater, small independent shops, romantic passageways, neighborhood cafés with regular clientele, church squares, town palaces and shady communal gardens. Trendy hangouts have conquered distinctive places such as the Old General Hospital (Altes AKH) and the vaults of overground U6. Theater in der Josefstadt on Josefstädter Strasse is the district’s cultural epicenter. Even if your German isn’t good enough to watch a play, you can marvel at the typical Biedermeier building and take a glimpse into the foyer. Lange Gasse houses an iconic local restaurant at its corner, as well as a legendary sweet shop and a bustling neighborhood market every Saturday. For small palace atmosphere and a different view on Vienna’s history, make your way to Schönborn garden palace (Palais Schönborn), which houses the Museum of Folk and Folk Art (Volkskundemuseum). Maria-Treu-Platz, with its summer outdoor cafés facing baroque church Maria Treu, and the historic passageway of Lerchenfelder Strasse 13 hide top spots for insiders.
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay