We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 368 Vienna hotels

Hotel Royal

4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Singerstrasse 3 | 1010 Vienna, Vienna A-1010, Austria (Innere Stadt)
Hotel amenities
Hotel Royal
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Royal to your Saves list
74%
Ranked #146 of 368 Hotels in Vienna
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 5 days ago
utkukavruk
Write a Review

367 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    99
    171
    40
    27
    30
See reviews for
59
114
50
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (367)
  • Mar-May only
    (100)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (88)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (91)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (88)
All months
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

The hotel is located 50m away from metro station and 200m away from Stephansdom. The hotel room (no 39) was very large. Toilet and shower were apart. Housekeeping was given everyday. 4 person can easily accommodate in the room. Breakfast is just ok. Reception desk is very polite and helpfull. But you can not tip because there is no tip... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The staff at this hotel were very welcoming and the situation is very good right by St Stephens Church, but the beds are very hard and the pillows are the worst I have ever encountered. Our room was very narrow and the bathroom very tiny but I gather there are larger rooms available and we were just unlucky. Fortunately we... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
FamilieKremslehner, Inhaber at Hotel Royal, responded to this review

Dear Helda! Thank you for informing us about your impressions, after your recent stay at Hotel Royal. The Hotel Royal is situated in the heard of Vienna, right next to the Stephen’s Cathedral. Our hotel rooms are all different in form and size, but respond – even the smallest room – to the 4-star hotel-guidelines. We would be very happy... More

Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
22 hotel reviews
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Let's start with the problem - we weren't booked into this hotel, but the Johann Strauss. However, arriving at reception there we were told 'the system' had made an error but that we had been provided with rooms at a sister hotel (they were home hotel to a conference - wonder if that had anything to do with it!). I... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
FamilieKremslehner, Inhaber at Hotel Royal, responded to this review

Dear Guest, first of all we would like to apologize again that we could not accommodate you in our Hotel Johann Strauss where your booking was made. Due to an unexpected overbooking we had to please you to our Hotel Royal, which is also a Hotel of the Kremslehner Group situated in the first district, only a few steps from... More

Portland, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I had to check out before breakfast bc the hours aren't very good for business persons. I asked if I could still get some coffee in the morning since no cafe around Vienna opens until 7:30. The woman at night said no problem so I got up 30 mins early. When I came down in the morning the person on... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
FamilieKremslehner, Inhaber at Hotel Royal, responded to this review

Dear Guest, thank you for taking the time to write a comment after your recent stay at Hotel Royal. In fact we propose our breakfast buffet in the restaurant from 7 am (which is standard) and you have the possibility to order (in advance) an early breakfast at the room service (for a fee) from 6.30 am on. We apologize... More

Roissy-en-France, France
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Closed to Stephansplatz, the geographical situation is ideal to visit easily the city center. Access to the subway at the foot of the hotel. Pleasant and thoughtful staff. The decoration is typical of Vienna with a very rococo style. The room is rather spacious with comfortable beds. The breakfast buffet is copious and satisfying.

Was this review helpful? Yes
FamilieKremslehner, Inhaber at Hotel Royal, responded to this review

Dear Guest, thank you for choosing Hotel Royal for your recent stay in Vienna. We really appreciate that you took the time to send valuable comments about your stay at our hotel, especially for mentioning our central location, our professional staff, the nice rooms and the delicious breakfast. Our team takes great pride in offering our guests nice stays. Looking... More

banbury
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2014

This hotel is the best place to stay as it is central to every landmark and is perfect for shopping. The hotel offers the most amazing breakfast buffet and caters for every palate. Eggs,bacon,sausages also fruits and cheeses etc..There is a rooftop restaurant for those wishing to indulge. The bedroom was excellent. We had to ask for 2 more pillos... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
FamilieKremslehner, Inhaber at Hotel Royal, responded to this review

Dear Guest, thank your very much for posting your feedback on TripAdvisor. We are pleased to hear that we could exceed your expectations and that you liked our location, especially the central location, the gorgeous breakfast, the lovely staff, … We hope to welcome you back in the future. Best regards from Vienna your Kremslehner family on behalf of the... More

Downingtown, Pennsylvania
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2014

While the Royal Hotel is at best a budget accommodation, it does have several things going for it to make it a good bet in Vienna. Though the rooms are sparsely decorated and not particularly inviting, ours was large and had big windows facing the street which I enjoyed. The breakfasts are superb – virtually everything you have a right... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
FamilieKremslehner, Inhaber at Hotel Royal, responded to this review

Dear guest! Thank you for your kind words regarding your recent stay at our Hotel Royal. As you mention, we are not the Four Seasons, but we are a small 4 star hotel and as we are family run we put much emphasis on personal services. We are glad to hear that our staff gave you the right directions and... More

Chicago, Illinois
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

Terrible front desk staff. Guy who worked morning when I checked out (morning August 18th) accused me of "not properly talking to him" what absolutely shocked me. I've spent 13 years in hospitality industry and never heard anyone talked to guest like this front office clerk. Hotels only value is location ...otherwise nothing special.

Was this review helpful? Yes
FamilieKremslehner, Inhaber at Hotel Royal, responded to this review

Dear Guest! We are sorry to hear that you were not satisfied with our staff during your stay at the Hotel Royal. We want to excuse for the behaviour of our front office manager and want to assure you that we usually a lot of positive feed back as he has been working for us for many years now. We... More

Vienna, Austria
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

Be aware. We booked into this hotel largely because of the central location, only to find on booking in after a tiring journey that despite our confirmation some months previously, they were over booked and we had to stay in the sister hotel some distance away. The staff were polite and courteous but generally unhelpful, the offer of 2 small... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
FamilieKremslehner, Owner at Hotel Royal, responded to this review

Dear Guest, thank you for taking the time to write a review after your stay in our house. We apologize again, that we could not accommodate you in the hotel you have booked. Unfortunately, faced to an unexpected overbooking we had to please you in an alternative hotel and were convinced that choosing one of our own hotels would have... More

spain
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

Pluses: 1. location -- dead center in old Vienna, 2. abundant & varied breakfast buffet (included in our price), 3. helpful staff, especially charming young woman most mornings last week of July 2014, 4. Ours was a large room (7th floor), clean, old fashioned, fairly quiet, little fridge for your snacks; rooms on floors 8 & 9 probably smaller. Minuses:... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
FamilieKremslehner, Owner at Hotel Royal, responded to this review

Dear Guest, thank you for writing a review after your recent stay at our Hotel Royal. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you appreciated our perfect location, the rooms, the breakfast buffet, the staff… Regarding the less positive points, thank you very much for mentioning them. With each guest comment received we... More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Do you own or manage Hotel Royal?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Hotel Royal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Royal

Address: Singerstrasse 3 | 1010 Vienna, Vienna A-1010, Austria
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Innere Stadt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Royal 4*
Number of rooms: 88
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Otel, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Royal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vienna Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel Vienna
Hotel Royal Vienna

136 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (126)
Viewed
Bathroom (17)
Viewed
Room/suite (49)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (18)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (38)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (11)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (10)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay