We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 368 Vienna hotels

Hotel Royal

4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Singerstrasse 3 | 1010 Vienna, Vienna A-1010, Austria (Innere Stadt)
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Hotel Royal to your Saves list
Hotel Royal
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
74%
Ranked #159 of 368 hotels in Vienna
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
Trina J Downingtown, Pennsylvania
  • Overview
  • Reviews (351)
  • Photos (133)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (32)
  • Location
  • More
true
Write a Review

351 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    92
    165
    38
    26
    30
See reviews for
56
108
48
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Downingtown, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

While the Royal Hotel is at best a budget accommodation, it does have several things going for it to make it a good bet in Vienna. Though the rooms are sparsely decorated and not particularly inviting, ours was large and had big windows facing the street which I enjoyed. The breakfasts are superb – virtually everything you have a right... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
FamilieKremslehner, Inhaber at Hotel Royal, responded to this review

Dear guest! Thank you for your kind words regarding your recent stay at our Hotel Royal. As you mention, we are not the Four Seasons, but we are a small 4 star hotel and as we are family run we put much emphasis on personal services. We are glad to hear that our staff gave you the right directions and... More

Chicago, Illinois
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Terrible front desk staff. Guy who worked morning when I checked out (morning August 18th) accused me of "not properly talking to him" what absolutely shocked me. I've spent 13 years in hospitality industry and never heard anyone talked to guest like this front office clerk. Hotels only value is location ...otherwise nothing special.

Was this review helpful? Yes
FamilieKremslehner, Inhaber at Hotel Royal, responded to this review

Dear Guest! We are sorry to hear that you were not satisfied with our staff during your stay at the Hotel Royal. We want to excuse for the behaviour of our front office manager and want to assure you that we usually a lot of positive feed back as he has been working for us for many years now. We... More

Vienna, Austria
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Be aware. We booked into this hotel largely because of the central location, only to find on booking in after a tiring journey that despite our confirmation some months previously, they were over booked and we had to stay in the sister hotel some distance away. The staff were polite and courteous but generally unhelpful, the offer of 2 small... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
FamilieKremslehner, Owner at Hotel Royal, responded to this review

Dear Guest, thank you for taking the time to write a review after your stay in our house. We apologize again, that we could not accommodate you in the hotel you have booked. Unfortunately, faced to an unexpected overbooking we had to please you in an alternative hotel and were convinced that choosing one of our own hotels would have... More

spain
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Pluses: 1. location -- dead center in old Vienna, 2. abundant & varied breakfast buffet (included in our price), 3. helpful staff, especially charming young woman most mornings last week of July 2014, 4. Ours was a large room (7th floor), clean, old fashioned, fairly quiet, little fridge for your snacks; rooms on floors 8 & 9 probably smaller. Minuses:... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
FamilieKremslehner, Owner at Hotel Royal, responded to this review

Dear Guest, thank you for writing a review after your recent stay at our Hotel Royal. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you appreciated our perfect location, the rooms, the breakfast buffet, the staff… Regarding the less positive points, thank you very much for mentioning them. With each guest comment received we... More

New York City, New York
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

was a great experience . i love vienna , i loved my staying , great hotel staffs .what a great clean city . great location around the corner of all the action in vienna . i like the stephan platz , the museum quartier, the danube , the opera house , the city is very clean and great to move... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
FamilieKremslehner, Inhaber at Hotel Royal, responded to this review

Dear Yannick! Thank you for your kind words regarding your recent stay at our beautiful city and the Hotel Royal. Please recommend the Hotel to your friends! We would be very delighted to welcome you back soon! Best regards your Kremslehner family and the Royal team More

melbourne
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

The Hotel Royal has a location to die for, great breakfast buffet and great Italian restaurant. Yes indeed. But, the rooms we were allocated were smallish and just average on both our visits. Also, the bathrooms needed better ventilation. Worth checking out other hotels in the city centre.

Was this review helpful? Yes
FamilieKremslehner, Inhaber at Hotel Royal, responded to this review

Dear Guest, thank you for choosing again Hotel Royal for your recent stay in Vienna. We are happy to hear, that you get back to us and that you appreciate the very central location of our Hotel Royal as well as the delicious breakfast buffet. Regarding the rooms, we are sorry to hear, that they seemed to you to small,... More

Dublin, Ireland
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

hi david purcell hear,if you go to vienna this the place to stey so good alround love the place staff so good , if i go back to vienna ill stey there .anbody who say this a bad place is mad good for walking allround the rooms are very good

Was this review helpful? Yes
FamilieKremslehner, Inhaber at Hotel Royal, responded to this review

Dear Guest, thank you for taking the time to share your past experience at Hotel Royal. We are delighted to see your comments about our perfect amenities, our beautiful hotel and our friendly staff. Thank you again for posting your review on TripAdvisor! Looking forward to your return visit! Your Kremslehner family More

Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

This was the start of our Austrian holiday, 3 nights in Vienna. Maybe we should have read the directions and not rely upon the sat nav. After asking the same policeman twice, he accused our sat nav as being stupid and drove us there in our car, very friendly and helpful. The staff were incredibly helpful and nothing was too... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
FamilieKremslehner, Owner at Hotel Royal, responded to this review

Dear Guest, thank you very much for taking the time to write a review after your recent stay in our Hotel Royal. We are delighted to read, that you loved our hotel, especially the central location and our very helpful staff. Regarding the rooms, we are sorry to hear, that you had some problems to rest because of our pillows.... More

Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

The final stop on our honeymoon was Vienna. We chose the Hotel Royal based on its location within the old city and the good value. I would highly recommend this hotel to everyone traveling to Vienna. The location can not be beat as you're just around the corner from St. Stephen's Cathedral. We arrived via train and it was such... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
FamilieKremslehner, Owner at Hotel Royal, responded to this review

Dear Guest, thank you so much for your really nice feedback. We are pleased to hear that you had a wonderful time in Vienna and that you really enjoyed your stay in our Hotel Royal. It is correct that we offer in all our Hotels better rates directly at the Hotel or on our homepage than on the various suppliers.... More

Ogden, UT
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
12 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

There is not a better located hotel in Vienna. It is about as close to St. Stephan's as you can get. The room was small by American standards, but big enough. The breakfast was nice. No complaints, great stay

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
FamilieKremslehner, Inhaber at Hotel Royal, responded to this review

Dear guest! Thank you so much for your nice comment about our Hotel - please recommend us to your friends! We would be more than happy to welcome you soon back again at our Hotel Royal. Warmest regards from Vienna, your Kremslehner family and the Hotel Royal team More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Hotel Royal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Hotel Royal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Royal

Address: Singerstrasse 3 | 1010 Vienna, Vienna A-1010, Austria
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Innere Stadt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Royal 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Otel, Priceline, Booking.com, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA and Venere so you can book your Hotel Royal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vienna Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel Vienna
Hotel Royal Vienna

133 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (123)
Viewed
Bathroom (17)
Viewed
Room/suite (49)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (18)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (35)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (11)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (10)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in
any neighborhood
in Vienna with
any amenities

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style
#105 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
Hotel Class
Number of rooms
88

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Hotel Royal staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer