We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 367 Vienna hotels

Meininger Hotel Wien Downtown Franz

2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rembrandtstrasse 21 | 1020 Wien, Vienna 1020, Austria (Leopoldstadt)
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Meininger Hotel Wien Downtown Franz to your Saves list
Meininger Hotel Wien Downtown Franz
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Booking.com Expedia.com Hotels.com
and 8 more sites!
79%
Ranked #81 of 367 hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence 2013
A recent review
Write a Review

303 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    106
    136
    47
    5
    9
See reviews for
56
82
20
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Thank you to the staff at the hotel during our stay. We were all delighted with our stay, excellent value, great room, slept really well. Vienna city centre is a 20 minute walk, a 10 minute tram ride or if trying to avoid the rain as we were, the tram system will take you there with one stop, one metro... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Meininger H, reception at Meininger Hotel Wien Downtown Franz, responded to this review

Hey, we are happy to hear that you had a great time here in Vienna :) So we really hope to welcome you again one day!!! Lovely greetings from Vienna, your MEININGER Team More

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

This was a great hostel, in fact the cleanest hostel I have ever been too. I feel bad calling it a hostel when it seemed to be a combination of a hotel and a hostel. Overall I would recommend this hotel and give it four stars out of five. However, I really suggest reading my list of cons if you... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Meininger H, reception at Meininger Hotel Wien Downtown Franz, responded to this review

Hey, thanks for the nice and honest comment. We are really happy to hear that you like staying with us. We are a mix of hotel and hostel, so you can find in our lobby students, families, businesstravellers and backpackers :) We hope to see you again one day, your MEININGER Team More

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

I have stayed at 3 other Meininger Hotels - all very decent and this one hasn't let the chain down im pleased to say I am backpacking so staying in shared dorms - clean and tidy, comfy beds, good bathrooms the kitchen is decent and well equipped, staff and friendly and the hotel itself is modern, clean and comfortable. Location... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Meininger H, Receptionis at Meininger Hotel Wien Downtown Franz, responded to this review

Hey, thanks for the comment. Well, we hope to welcome you in the other 13 MEININGERS soon :) Visit us soon again, your MEININGER Team More

Portsmouth
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Great value for money. Comfortable bed and pillows. Good size bathroom with great shower. Hair dryer, tissues and shower gel provided. Good all you can eat breakfast. Staff very accommodating. Guest kitchen if you want to cook for yourself.

Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces

Was this review helpful? Yes
Meininger H, Receptionist at Meininger Hotel Wien Downtown Franz, responded to this review

Hey, thank you for the review. See you soon in one of our houses :) Kind regards, your MEININGER Team More

Bucharest, Romania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The hotel is very well positioned close to the city center and reasonably close to the metro station, which is very handy. The rooms, while not really large, are very well provided and clean. I appreciated the bathroom a lot, having enough space and a fantastic power-shower. The breakfast is OK and will do for the few days you will... More

Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces

Was this review helpful? Yes
New York
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed here for 2 nights and wish we stayed for 3. The hotel was well-kept and modern. Our room was clean and spacious. Unfortunately the hotel seems to be always overrun with tour buses full of rowdy teenagers. On the bright side our room was quite soundproof and the heavy door blocked all the noise of partying teenagers in... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Meininger H, Receptionist at Meininger Hotel Wien Downtown Franz, responded to this review
Google Translation

Hallo, vielen lieben Dank für das nette Kommentar. WIr hoffen dass wir Sie bald wieder begrüßen dürfen in unserem Hotel... More

Kyustendil, Bulgaria
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
16 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

If you are looking for an inexpensive, clean, friendly, fairly good location, place to stay, then this is your place. We are a family of 6 and stayed in a room of bunk beds just for one night. The bathroom was very nice and they were very kind to let us leave our luggage the day of check in and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Meininger H, Receptionist at Meininger Hotel Wien Downtown Franz, responded to this review

Hello, first of all we want to say thank you for the nice comment!!! We want to apologize for the inconveniences with our bunk beds. Nevertheless we hope to see you soon in one of our Meininger houses. Kind regards, your MEININGER Team More

Nottingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

Very clean and well laid out hostel - seemed more like a hotel! Had a great breakfast and a great service for ordering pizza and pasta to the hostel! A little bit of a walk from the main attractions, but that was justified by the price and standard of the hostel - would definitely go back!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Meininger H, Leiter Front Office at Meininger Hotel Wien Downtown Franz, responded to this review

Hi there! Thank you so much for the nice review! We are happy that you enjoyed your stay here, and would be glad to welcome you again at MEINIGNER! Many greetings, the MEININGER Team More

Budapest, Hungary
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

Not the best place to spend a night (maybe I picked the wrong time). Disadvantages: WiFi didn't work for the whole day (staff told us that there were some issues with wireless router (or it might have been overloaded)). Very scarce breakfast, quite expensive parking. Unfriendly staff. Advantages: clean and quite rooms.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Meininger H, Leiter Front Office at Meininger Hotel Wien Downtown Franz, responded to this review

Hi! Thank you for rating us. Sometimes technical problems occur suddenly, but we always trying to solve them as soon as possible. We are sorry that you were not that happy. Maybe you will give us a chance to change you mind about our house for your next trip? :) Many greetings, the MEININGER-Team More

El Paso, Texas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

Expect an enjoyable stay here. The staff was extremely warm and welcoming, and the common areas are clean, neat and spacious. You will get a good sense of community with fellow travelers hanving a drink at the bar or even cooking alongside some others you just met. Though the rooms and lockers are a bit small, they are very comfortable... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Meininger H, Leiter Front Office at Meininger Hotel Wien Downtown Franz, responded to this review

Hi! Thank you so much for the good review! We are happy that you enjoyed your stay here! See you next time :) Many greets from vienna! The MEININGER-Team More

Been to Meininger Hotel Wien Downtown Franz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Meininger Hotel Wien Downtown Franz

Address: Rembrandtstrasse 21 | 1020 Wien, Vienna 1020, Austria
Location: Austria > Vienna > Leopoldstadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #81 of 367 hotels in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Meininger Hotel Wien Downtown Franz 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Franz is in Vienna's second district of Leopoldstadt between Augarten and the Danube canal. The Karmeliter market with its many delicacies and Vienna's Old Town are just around the corner. The Franz hotel with its functional and modern design is ideal for city breaks that call for simplicity and precision. With services such as free WiFi, guest kitchen, bar and gaming area... Holidaying with MEININGER is more than just low-cost accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, HostelWorld, Tingo, EasyToBook, HostelBookers, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Meininger Hotel Wien Downtown Franz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Meininger Hotel Wien Downtown Franz, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.