We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Franz

#128 of 364 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Rembrandtstrasse 21, Vienna 1020, Austria
Hotel amenities
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Franz
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Franz
Write a Review

507 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    165
    227
    87
    15
    13
See reviews for
103
124
37
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (507)
  • Mar-May only
    (102)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (127)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (125)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (153)
All months
Hamburg, Germany
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We didn't realise when we booked the hotel that it was more a hostel than a hotel. We traveled with 2 kids, so we had a bedroom with a double bed and a bunk bed. The size of the room was fine, beds comfortable, bathroom functional. We found that the top bunk bed was unmade. I see that it is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
MEININGERHotels, Front Office Manager at MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Franz, responded to this review

Hi! Thank you for taking time and rating us. The upper bunk beds are never prepared, this is standard in all Meinigner Hotels, so we can provide a better price. Anyway we hope you enjoyed your vienna trip and would behappy if you choose Meininger again for your next trip! Many greetings, the M-Team More 

Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed here for 2 nights, I had just an okay experience. More cons than pros Pros: -location; not in the center of Vienna, but there's a train stop less than 10 minute walk from the hostel -decently clean Cons: -small rooms (I stayed in a 4 person dorm) -small bathroom -wifi barely worked -had to make our own bed (nothing... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
MEININGERHotels, Front Office Manager at MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Franz, responded to this review

Hi, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We hope you had some nice days in vienna! Sincerely, the M-Team More 

London, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

A short walk over the river to the main city centre, clean, comfortable and friendly staff. Wi-fi was a bit poor, but other than that, can't fault it. Drinks and table pool available for leisure, and good restaurants just a few minutes walk across the bridge. Would happily stay again. Great for backpackers. At €69 a night for 3 people... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
MEININGERHotels, Front Office Manager at MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Franz, responded to this review

Hi there! Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon. Many greetings, the M-Team More 

Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Booked a 6-person room. There were 3 sets of bunk beds, each with its own powerpoint and night light. Very cosy, but a bit weird as the top bunks were unmade (we had to put the sheets and pillowcases on ourselves). The bathroom was alright, had constant hot water, although the hand soap in the toilet was a squeezy bottle... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
MEININGERHotels, Front Office Manager at MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Franz, responded to this review

Hi! Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon. Sincerely, the M-Team More 

Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

It is very difficult to find a place to stay in Europe that sleeps more than 4 people to a room. While searching my sister came across the Meininger in downtown Vienna. She found us a room that slept 6, not only was the hotel staff extremely friendly, the price was great and the room was very clean and spacious.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
MEININGERHotels, Front Office Manager at MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Franz, responded to this review

Hi! Thank you so much for your nice review! We are happy that you enjoyed your stay here and hope to see you again very soon! Many greetings from sunny Vienna :) the M-Team More 

Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The hostel was exact what I expected. The staff were helpful at the front desk and the room was affordable. It was clean and had a nice washroom. It is a slight walk to the centre, but I enjoyed it as you get to cross the river and see a few more nice churches and other buildings as you walk... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
MEININGERHotels, Front Office Manager at MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Franz, responded to this review

Hi! Thank you for taking time and rating us! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay here and hope to see you again soon! Many greetings, the M-Team More 

Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
4 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

It's our first day here. From the check - in we like it. The staff is friendly and ready to help, be that a phone call or problem with anything. They provide breakfast at about 6 euro. Escalators work perfectly, snacks and beverages are available at the reception. Different games are on offer. Rooms are not large though, instead of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
MEININGERHotels, Front Office Manager at MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Franz, responded to this review

Hi! Thank you so much for rating us! We are happy that you enjoyed you stay here and hope to see you again for your next Vienna trip! Kind regards, the Meininger Team More 

Bristol
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

We stayed here for four days during March. The Lobby was busy as we walked in, and all I wanted was a sit down, but unfortunately the massage chair was out of order. We were given our key card to our room and set off. I was impressed to find there were 2 lifts as it was busy and the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
MEININGERHotels, Front Office Manager at MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Franz, responded to this review

Hi, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We hope to welcome you back to our hotel very soon! Sincerely, the M-Team More 

Brighton, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2015

We've been for 4 days and we had no problem with this hotel,we had a good customer service from reception which was very helpful,The hotel is pretty nice,it's got lovely rooms with nice furniture especially the big room for the breakfast,the only thing that made me disappointed was the housekeeping's act that was very rude and without speaking english ...I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
MEININGERHotels, Front Office Manager at MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Franz, responded to this review

Hi! Thank you for taking time and rating us! We are happy that you enjoyed your stay here and hope to see you again! Many greeting, the M-Team More 

Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2015

Stayed for one night in mid June. Screaming kids everywhere and very noisy. Quite hard to get to from the city centre. Clean and modern approach but needed better service to be rated any higher, wouldn't stay again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
MEININGERHotels, Leiter Front Office at MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Franz, responded to this review

Hi there, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. While I wish you had a better experience, it is feedback like this that we learn from and use to improve. We work hard to deliver an exceptional guest experience, and it's apparent in this case that we fell short. If you give us a chance to earn... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

122 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (112)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (25)
Viewed
Bathroom (22)
Viewed
Room/suite (38)
Viewed
View from room (6)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Family/play areas (3)
Viewed
Other (12)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (10)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (7)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Staying in Leopoldstadt

Neighborhood Profile
Leopoldstadt
Welcome to one of Vienna’s trendiest quarters. The second district has witnessed a turbulent ride, from medieval swamp to vibrant Jewish quarter, from pleasure ground for the noble and humble to current hip residence and workplace of Vienna’s creative crowd. Cross the Danube Canal from the city center and take in life on Taborstrasse with its mix of old townhouses, churches, theaters, discount shops and ethnic restaurants. Head for Augarten via Karmelitermarkt, Leopoldstadt’s trendy marketplace. Baroque Augarten itself hosts a bizarre mix of manicured hedges and flowerbeds in front of a colossal World War II defense tower, the publicly accessible 300-year-old Augarten porcelain manufactory, the palatial boarding school and funky concert hall of the Vienna Boys Choir, and the modern art museum TBA21. At its opposite corner, The Prater not only houses the Giant Ferris Wheel but blends a bustling amusement park with lush woodland, perfect for a bike tour. Further east is the old derby racing ground of Krieau.

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question