We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

InterContinental Wien

#84 of 364 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Johannesgasse 28, Vienna 1037, Austria
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
InterContinental Wien
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
InterContinental Wien
InterContinental Wien
InterContinental Wien
Write a Review

1,135 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    510
    420
    145
    37
    23
See reviews for
144
434
65
296
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (184)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (1135)
  • Mar-May only
    (248)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (280)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (299)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (308)
All months
Fresno, California
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

The hotel is exceptional from service, location, location, and food. The beds are absolutely heaven. Continental breakfast is the best we've seen; If you can't find what you want on this buffet it probably isn't available.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sandra_Hoesl, Manager at InterContinental Wien, responded to this review

Dear Gary W, I was very pleased while reading your nice comment. Great, that you enjoyed our rich buffet breakfast. Our beds are indeed very comfortable and we do provide a "bedding menu" for our guests where you can choose between a great selection of different pillows. We are looking forward to welcoming you soon again! All the best, Claudia... More 

Midlands
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

I stayed here for a work conference so most of the food was included. However, I had to pay for one breakfast and nearly choked at 33 euros for what was a pretty basic buffet breakfast. My advice would be to go and find a nice cafe outside. My room was nice, clean and welcoming although I wouldn't have been... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sandra_Hoesl, Manager at InterContinental Wien, responded to this review

Dear Lorrnotts, whilst I was very pleased to read your positive comments about the staff and the hotel itself, I am sorry that you were not fully satisfied with our breakfast buffet. To meet everybody taste, we trying our best by offering Asian corner, show cooking, fruits, a full extensive variety of fresh fruits and juices, hot and warm dishes... More 

London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We were a party of three adults and stayed at the hotel from 16 to 21 February 2015 and we were all very disappointed with it. We had elected to pay more to stay here because we had (wrongly) assumed that being an Intercontinental the place would be nice. We will not be back and do not recommend visitors to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Sandra_Hoesl, Manager at InterContinental Wien, responded to this review

Dear Margot C, thank you for taking the time and sharing your experience with us. First of all I am very happy that you did enjoy the variety of our great breakfast. I will also forward your positive feedback to our concierge team. They are always pleased to pass on insider know how. On the other side I am really... More 

Rome, Italy
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Staying at the hotel for a convention with rooms booked at least 6 months in advance. At check in they told me they have a very special room for me... nice view an king size bed.... in reality I got a vast room with a cot in the corner, no headboard, no side bed table, with pillow continuing to fall... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sandra_Hoesl, Manager at InterContinental Wien, responded to this review

Dear Sonia P, thank you for your recent review. We are constantly looking to improve our service and therefore your feedback is very important to us. I am extremely sorry that you had a difficult start with us and I do really hope that the upgraded room to one of our Deluxe Rooms and the complimentary treatments which you received... More 

Istanbul
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
34 hotel reviews
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

We stayed for three nights in the club floor. The hotel is well maintained, rooms are not big but has adequate space. The club lounge is very nice with excellent food. The hotel is located right across stadtpark and also the metro station. It is also walking distance to all the attractions such as museum quartier, belvedere palace, shopping area... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sandra_Hoesl, Manager at InterContinental Wien, responded to this review

Dear ZPinar, thank you for taking the time to write this nice comment about us. You are right, our hotel is very conveniently located, the metro is directly opposite and the city centre with all its great attractions is just a few minutes walk away. I will pass on your kind words to the concierge team. They are always striving... More 

Swindon, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

This lovely hotel is so easy to get to from the airport. S7 train or CAT directly from the airport, and then a one stop journey by metro to a station directly opposite the hotel. The outside architecture of the hotel is nothing special, but don't let that put you off, the inside is beautiful, with a stunning chandelier above... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sandra_Hoesl, Manager at InterContinental Wien, responded to this review

Dear JanAck2013, thank you for your kind words and for sharing your experience with us. I always say do not judge a book by its cover, because as soon as you are entering our lovely hotel you will be overwhelmed by the great atmosphere. We place a high value on our traditional lobby with wood panelling and the chandeliers, thus... More 

Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Overlooking a skating rink, has a rail system and park on the other side. The club lounge has 180 views almost of the city which is lovely. Due to illness the hotel let us (as royal ambassador's) stay in the hotel until 5.00pm which was just wonderful. I was overwhelmed with thanks for this small gesture that made our day.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sandra_Hoesl, Manager at InterContinental Wien, responded to this review

Dear Sandy S, your feedback as an IHG Platinum Royal Ambassador guest is very much appreciated and I would like to thank you for taking the time to write this nice comment about us. Our hotel is indeed very good located and the inner city is just about 10 walking minutes away. Great that you enjoyed the amazing view from... More 

Doha, Qatar
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
30 hotel reviews
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Hotel is in centre of Vienna, nice to walk around, park just across and the markets about 15 minutes walk away. Hotel is old, 50 years i Think, you can feel it when you enter but that adds to the charm of the atmosphere and plays a positive roll. Rooms are all updated and very plush decorated. Sleep quality was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sandra_Hoesl, Manager at InterContinental Wien, responded to this review

Dear Khurram-Dubai, thank you very much for taking the time to write this nice comment about us. I am happy to hear, that you enjoyed the variety of our great breakfast but I am sorry that you were not fully satisfied with the service. I will, of course, forward this feedback to our F&B team. Our hotel is indeed quite... More 

London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My girlfriend and I stayed here over the Easter weekend and really enjoyed it. It's clean, exceptional service from all staff, a great view over Vienna, good location and one of the best buffet breakfasts I have ever come across. WiFi is £15 per day unless you sign up to the IHG loyalty club (no cost, just junk email) -... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sandra_Hoesl, Manager at InterContinental Wien, responded to this review

Dear OshRice, I have just read your review and was very pleased about your nice words. The location and the view from our rooms are indeed one of our advantages and I am happy that you were able to enjoy our great breakfast. I will also forward your feedback to our team, which will be very delighted about your kind... More 

Bergen, Norway
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed here with my wife and 2 1/2 year old son over the Easter holiday, and it was a good experience. The suite was well equipped and the bed was comfortable. The staff were generally helpful, but there were some minor issues. For some reason, when they cleaned our suite, they would take away the dirty classes/cups, but they... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sandra_Hoesl, Manager at InterContinental Wien, responded to this review

Dear jamhat , thank you very much for taking the time to write this review. I am sorry to hear, that you did not enjoy the service in your room and that the service in the breakfast area was not efficient enough. Since your valued feedback is very important to us, I have already shared your experience with our F&B... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

489 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (448)
Viewed
Dining (31)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (109)
Viewed
Room/suite (121)
Viewed
View from room (51)
Viewed
Bathroom (16)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (4)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
1:25
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (113)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (41)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Other (12)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question