We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Derag Livinghotel an der Oper

Certificate of Excellence
Kaerntner Strasse 44, Vienna 1010, Austria (Formerly Derag Livinghotel City Apartments Wien)
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Derag Livinghotel an der Oper
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Derag Livinghotel an der Oper
Review This Hotel

101 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    30
    8
    6
    4
See reviews for
37
35
3
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (101)
  • Mar-May only
    (23)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (20)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (32)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (26)
All months
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed here for one night, the room was large and generally well-appointed, although some fixtures were definitely beginning to show their age. Although most front desk staff were really kind, one fellow booked us a cab back to the Hauptbanhof station but the fare, only told at the end, was excessive (EUR45 for a 10-minute drive, about 4x the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Richard R, Front Office Manager at Derag Livinghotel an der Oper, responded to this review

Dear edddieee, thank you for taking the time to share your review. First off all I am glad to read you felt the Apartment and kindness of our staff to your liking, allthough there seemed to be an issue with the transfer for which I would like to apologize. Once we confirmed a transfer we always inform our guests about... More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2015

Rooms are really practical and spacious, confortable beds,excellent idea that bath tube and toilet are separated. Good quality on toiletries. Kitchen well equipped and is aprecciated to get soap and tab for dishwasher. The only aspect to improve a bit is the cleaning to take out dust of night table....

Was this review helpful? Yes
Richard R, Front Office Manager at Derag Livinghotel an der Oper, responded to this review

Dear peawi2001, thank you for reviewing us on TripAdvisor.com I am glad to read you felt comfortable at our Hotel and enjoyed the amenities of having an equipped kitchen. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. With kind regards Richard Rese Front Office Manager More 

Bangkok, Thailand
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2015

First of all, I haven't been to this hotel yet. Dissappointingly, I've reasons to write this review.. Today I have booked the apartment via expedia.com and made a mistake booked the room for 2 rooms instead of 1(the room I choose was 15% non-refundable condition). The reason for my mistake was that Expedia.com website doesn't allow me to book 2... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Richard R, Front Office Manager at Derag Livinghotel an der Oper, responded to this review

Dear Decha L, thank you for sharing your opinion. I certainly understand your dissatisfaction about the incididents, however the terms and conditions of a non-refundable rate are declared clearly and are the same for every guest. Despite your anger I still hope we can satisfy you during your stay and look forward to welcoming you to Vienna soon. With kind... More 

Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2015

Our apartment was very spacious; just perfect for a family of four. The front desk hotel staff are fantastic! one of the main reason we would come back and recommend it to our friends. Not only did they go out of their way to help us with our stroller; they also let us use a clean/empty guest room to clean... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Richard R, Front Office Manager at Derag Livinghotel an der Oper, responded to this review

Dear VanniKy, first of all I would like to thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to write such a nice review. I am very proud of my team; whom are motivated by the values of great service. I am delighted that you felt at home since this is just how we wish for all our... More 

Medical Lake, Washington
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
30 hotel reviews
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2015

This is my 3rd time staying here and it is great. Derag is located in first ring, right by the Opera House and everything else that you need to see in Vienna. Rooms are nice and comfortable. There is a full kitchen with all of cooking appliances, full bath, living and dining rooms and a small separated bedroom (in most... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Richard R, Front Office Manager at Derag Livinghotel an der Oper, responded to this review

Dear Diana O, thank you so much for staying with us for the third time and for sharing your kind review. I am more than happy to read that you enjoyed your stay for another time and that our new reception is to your liking. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. With warm regards Richard Rese Front Office... More 

Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2015

Outstanding location near Opera, underground, Nachtmarkt, St Stephens, Albertina, Sacher cafe, etcetera. Apartments are very comfortable, clean, with everything you need. Staff are very helpful and polite.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Richard R, Front Office Manager at Derag Livinghotel an der Oper, responded to this review

Dear Hectorama, Thank you for such a lovely review of our hotel. We are happy that you were all able to enjoy the nearby attractions, shops & restaurants and highly appreciate your kind words regarding our staff. We all hope we can welcome you back in the near future. With best regards Richard Rese Front Office Manager More 

Berkeley Vale, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2015

We were delighted when we checked into this hotel. The apartment was on the top floor and was huge! Comfortable bed, large living area and an excellent bathroom. The hotel staff were all very friendly and went out of their way to make our stay comfortable. A subway station just outside the door and a location that made it easy... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Richard R, Front Office Manager at Derag Livinghotel an der Oper, responded to this review

Dear simmo2015, thank you so much for writing such a fabulous review. I am delighted to read you both had a great time and thoroughly enjoyed your stay at our hotel. Moreover I am grateful for your kind words towards our reception staff which is certainly thankful. You are right, our Apartments are all large and the location is just... More 

Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2015

This hotel is in an old building with high ceilings and very large apartments (about 85msq). The location is very good in the center of the old city and with a major metro station and trams just about at the doorstep. Despite being in the center of the city it was very quiet. The staff were friendly and the apartments... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Richard R, Front Office Manager at Derag Livinghotel an der Oper, responded to this review

Dear ulakh2013, first of all I would like to thank you for staying with us and for sharing your positive review on tripadvisor.com. I am glad to read you enjoyed your stay and felt comfortable at our hotel. I will definitely make sure that the whole staff receives your kind words. We all look forward to welcoming you back soon.... More 

Utrecht
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2014

The location is perfect. On walking distance to the old city centre. The room is very spacious! With our 2 kids it was really very big. Very handy is the small kitchen for making tea of coffee. Also we enjoyed the complimentary ater and beer. Thanks for that! Dont use the elevator is you are afraid of small spaces. It... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Richard R, Front Office Manager at Derag Livinghotel an der Oper, responded to this review

Dear BartBlikman, Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to write a review. I am glad to read you enjoyed the size of the Apartments and felt comfortable. We would be happy to welcoming you and your family back soon. With warm regards Richard Rese Front Office Manager More 

Haifa, Israel
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
9 hotel reviews
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2014

First and foremost, location, location, location !!! From the airport of Vienna railway line S7 comes the city center (wien mite). Replacing to the subway line U4 and ride one station to CarlesPlatz station. The station has an exit to ElizabethStresa - the apartment hotel entrance placed just around the corner (now in renovation an improved entry that will be... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Richard R, Leiter Front Office at Derag Livinghotel an der Oper, responded to this review

Dear Odeh H, I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for staying with us and writing such a charming review afterwards. The thoughtfulness in writing and describing the location and the apartments is highly appreciated I am so happy to read that we were able to exceed your expectations. As you wrote, we are currently in the... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

53 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (43)
Viewed
Room/suite (17)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (12)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (10)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question