We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel zur Post

#42 of 135 Hotels in Salzburg
Certificate of Excellence
Hotel website
Maxglaner Hauptstrasse 45, Salzburg 5020, Austria
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel zur Post
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Hotel zur Post
Add Photo Write a Review

143 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    59
    62
    13
    5
    4
See reviews for
61
46
7
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (143)
  • Mar-May only
    (12)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (56)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (43)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (32)
All months
Carlsbad, CA
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The Good: 1. The windows were the best! a. Double insulated b. Open from side or top c. Large windows with sheers & curtains - great light and ventilation d. Electric security metal roll-ups (security, allow ventilation and black-out for late sleeping.) 2. Good location, parking for a car but walking distance to "Old Town". 3. Excellent beds, storage &... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Allentown, Pennsylvania
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My husband and I stayed at this Hotel in May 2015. We had a room in the Garten Haus in the back of the Hotel. It was very nice. It rained the whole time we were there so we needed an umbrella just to get to the lobby, but it was very private and a large room. They even offered... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Belgrade, Serbia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2015

Excellent hotel,good location. The hotel staff is very friendly. The room is large and spacious. Linen perfectly clean. Pillow in natural materials without allergens. It belongs to a group of Green hotels. Water from natural resources and energy used for water consumption in the hotel. Breakfast is simple and excellent. The food is healthy and delicious. Lots of natural juices,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
16 hotel reviews
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2015

I agree entirely with JIF42's review about 3 reviews before this one, and I'm pretty sure we stayed in the same room. We walked downtown and back to see the city's New Years Eve fireworks display which is a bit of a walk, and we got a cheap cab ride other times. We loved the space so that 2 adults... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Prague
Top Contributor
152 reviews 152 reviews
75 hotel reviews
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2015

Did not expect that much from some small local hotel. Nice clean rooms, modern items, nice bathroom with shower, good sleeping. To bad there is no dining late night, so you have to walk few minutes to some local restaurant. But breakfest is fine and even so close to the main road and just a few steps to city centery,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2014

Service was terrible Parking is a nightmare Food is marginal Worn bathroom linens Bathroom is small, water temperature was either scalding or cold Staff is unfriendly seem irritated Just a very unpleasant stay

Was this review helpful? Yes
gmaier, Inhaber at Hotel zur Post, responded to this review

Dear Sir or Madam, Dear Ms. „Meadowgirl“! I regret to hear that you have not enjoyed your stay at our hotel, customer satisfaction being always our priority! Unfortunately, you have not notified our reception team of the issues, which is why we have not been able to address them immediately to your satisfaction and/or offer you a different room. We... More 

Stuttgart, Germany
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2014

Our family of four stayed in a room with two queen beds (one regular queen and the other a pull out couch queen) for a weekend recently. The accommodations were fine for our short weekend. The room was very clean. WIFI worked great. Enough personal supplies provided. Breakfast was plentiful with lots of "bio" options but not to a fault.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2014

This is really nice hotel with less than 10 min by bus and 20 min walk to the city centre. it has its own parking included in the price. Spotless clean with great stuff which went an extra mile to send some items we have forgotten from the room. Very tasty breakfast was an additional bonus. Jacek

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2014

really enjoyed staying with this Family Maier property recently. The owner himself is involved in the running of the establishment so if feels more like someones home than a hotel. The rooms are very comfortable and well furnished. Everyone is friendly and helpful. In fact we checked in past 10pm as we were held up in traffic in Munich but... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Marshfield, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
25 hotel reviews
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

Booked late in the evening and were lucky to get a room. English speaking desk help was welcoming. Room was clean, reasonably priced and they really made you feel like they were glad you were there. Maps helpful, morning breakfast on the outside patio was one of the best we had. Checkout painless and the staff was helpful in planning... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

44 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (32)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (12)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay