We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Best Western Hotel Imlauer Altstadt

Rainerstrasse 12-14, Salzburg A-5020, Austria
Hotel amenities
Best Western Hotel Imlauer Altstadt
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Ranked #47 of 135 Hotels in Salzburg
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 4 days ago
countconti Miami FL
Add Photo Write a Review

146 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
    43
    59
    27
    11
    6
See reviews for
37
51
12
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (146)
  • Mar-May only
    (37)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (52)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (27)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (30)
All months
Miami FL
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
37 hotel reviews
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Not far from the heart of Salzburg. parking around the corner. WiFi, A/C and a lift. Helpful staff and easy access to the main roads should you want to take day trips. Quiet part of town. Short, safe walk to town.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Location is a 5 mins walk from train station ...our triple room ws nice but ws on the ground floor and wth a very strange passage way!!!i hv never in my life stayed on the Ground Floor of ANY hotel !! Ever!!! So it ws weird....they hv two hotels combined wth the same reception staff!! And when i wnted to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Napa, California
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
25 hotel reviews
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This hotel is in the business district, but within walking distance to the train station and the old town. The rooms are well appointed and spotless. The staff is very helpful and friendly. The traditional Austrian restaurant next door with a shady patio is excellent. The air conditioning was great on the hot days we were there, which was good,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Monika S, Manager at Best Western Hotel Imlauer Altstadt, responded to this review

Dear JG Tripper, thank you for staying with us and sharing your experience on tripadvisor, Also Salzburg is not California, but when it gets hot/warm we also need air condition, especially it is important to all of our guests. Regaridng the Windows, our Windows are Sound proofed, that is why you did not hear the Trains running......I will let my... More 

West Palm Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
13 hotel reviews
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2015

Simple & inexpensive, but quite nice, actually. Our room was clean & well-kept. The bathroom looks modern. Plenty of hot water, towels, & comfy pillows. We had a great stay for 2 nights in Salzburg! We stayed in room 61 on the top floor & had no complaints. Booked last-minute on HotelTonight for €88, then asked to stay another night... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Monika S, Manager at Best Western Hotel Imlauer Altstadt, responded to this review

Dear Sky1207, thank you for lett ing me and all the tripadvisor guests now, that you had a good time here and that you liked your room. And I also say thank you for extending the stay, it was a good sign, that you are satisfied. Regards Monika Seibold - Resident Manager More 

Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2015

A close walk to the train station, but not as much to the tourist sites. But the beds are comfortable, the bathrooms spacious, and the front desk friendly. The restaurant is also great, along with the breakfast.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Monika S, Manager at Best Western Hotel Imlauer Altstadt, responded to this review

Dear Laura W, a comfortable Hotel to stay and nice and friendly staff is what you need to have a good time for a City Holiday. It sounds like you hade it here. Wish you all the best Regards Monika Seibold - Resident Manager More 

Sydney
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
42 hotel reviews
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2015

We spent three great nights at this hotel and it offered everything we needed. It was spotlessly clean and the rooms very spacious. The reception staff very friendly and helpful. Location wise it was perfect for our exploration of Salzburg and environs. We enjoyed the walks through Mirabell Gardens to the old city, which took a leisurely 10 to 15... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Monika S, Manager at Best Western Hotel Imlauer Altstadt, responded to this review

Dear Burkedin, thank you for sharing your good experience regarding your stay at our Hotel on tripadvisor. Regarding the staff in our Restaurant I apologize, as they are ususally friendly. But I am glad, that you had an Overall really good stay here. Thank you for staying with us. Regards - Monika Seibold - Resident Manager More 

Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2015

You know what to expect!! Typical American chain hotel. Well located, comfortable rooms, good selection of TV channels and amazing front desk staff... Most helpful of all Austrian cities... Breakfast was a disappointment. No croissants! Unimaginable!!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Monika S, Manager at Best Western Hotel Imlauer Altstadt, responded to this review

Dear Kalkudi, thank you for writing on trip advisor regarding your experience at our Hotel. Thank you for letting me know, that you had a nice time here at the Hotel and that you felt a warm hospitality. Regarding the missing Croissant at breakfast, I apologzie, maybe they run out of it, but I hope, that this did not have... More 

Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2015

After an initial problem with the door lock - the room was clean and comfortable. The hotel restaurant was excellent - prices reasonable for a city. Plenty to do and see and very close to the train station. Reasonable price but staff were ok - one was a bit sniffy but I don't judge the hotel on one person maybe... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Monika S, Manager at Best Western Hotel Imlauer Altstadt, responded to this review

Dear Mr. WanderlustScots, thank you for writing on tripadvisor regarding your recent stay. I am happy, that you had a good time here in our Hotel and that you also enjoyed the dinner or meals in our Restaurant. I also want to apologize if you have not been treated friendly by all of our staff. Hopefully it did not effect... More 

Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2015

I just loved the Hotel since I arrived! Next to the train station, in 5 minutes walking you'll get there! The reception was excellent, very quick. In a few minute I was able to rest in my room. The room was amazing! I stayed in a triple room, with an enormous bed and a comfortable sofa bed. The breakfast is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Monika S, Manager at Best Western Hotel Imlauer Altstadt, responded to this review

Dear Helena B, thank you for writing on tripadvisor regarding your stay last June. Also it is a Long time ago, I wanted to apologize that you felt not treated to warmly welcomed when coming late in the Restaurant. But now quite a Long time passed over and it is almost unpossible for me to figrue out, what was on... More 

Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2015

Stayed here overnight when passing through Salzburg. It is very conveniently located in the centre of Salzburg near the Station. It has a restaurant and the food was good and reasonably priced. There is a car park, albeit an additional charge. The hotel cost was around £50 for a single room with breakfast which I thought was good value. I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Monika S, Manager at Best Western Hotel Imlauer Altstadt, responded to this review

Dear MikeJ1906, it is nice to hear, that you were satiesfied with the Hotel, Restaurant and Service. Thank you also for recommending us. If you stop again in Salzburg, we would be happy to welcome you again. Regards Monika Seibold - Resident Manager More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

41 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (37)
Viewed
Room/suite (16)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay