We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel Imlauer

4.0 of 5 Rainerstrasse 14, Salzburg 5020, Austria (Formerly Best Western)
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Imlauer
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Hotel Imlauer
Write a Review

405 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    220
    78
    35
    8
See reviews for
94
165
32
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (405)
  • Mar-May only
    (64)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (137)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (111)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (93)
All months
Western Australia, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed at Hotel Brau Imlauer over the Christmas season. The hotel is about a 5-10 minute walk away from the Salzburg train station. Rooms are neat and cosy with very good heating. Wifi was very fast and reliable during our stay. A great hotel if you are looking for a clean and comfortable place at a reasonable price! The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
26 hotel reviews
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

In an otherwise expensive city, this hotel is well appointed and very clean and well maintained and close to the train station. It was, however, further from the old town than I'd calculated and while I have no problem with mobility this is something those reading this review who do might wish to consider (buses run past the front door,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Stockholm, Sweden
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2015

Great for a short stay, we stayed 1 night but the room is not that modern, The staff are very friendly and helpful and the breakfast was great. Also very close to the central station with great Austrian romantic feeling.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Klagenfurt, Austria
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2015

Very clean hotel, big room for 3 of us.Good location, great breakfast, great for familys. The main railway station very close but no noise in the hotel. The only minus you have to pay for parking abou 14€ a day.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Milan, Italy
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
45 hotel reviews
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2015

The hotel is the typical Best Western, nothing memorable and a little bit old but after all we paid 89 euros for a room at the end of December, not bat at all. Position is also quite convenient. Overall I would say it is more a three stars hotel than a four, considering it needs serious renovations. The reason why... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
sarnhole, ontario
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2014

Great location, walking distance from shopping and all daily tours. Stayed for two nights not really a compliant. Breakfast was average but was a nice option. I usually stay in hostels so this was a slight change.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Italy
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2014

The room was spacious with the normal amenities, to include a mini-fridge. We decided to eat at the hotel restaurant and was sadly disappointed. Although the staff was great, every dish was salted heavily. The spinach ravioli tasted "sour" and the cream cheese dip for the potato pancakes tasted awful. Recommend the hotel, skip the restaurant.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Monika S, Manager at Hotel Imlauer, responded to this review

Dear Jason F,. thank you for writing on trip advisor regarding your experience at our Hotel and Restaurant. I am glad, that you were confident with the room - also the Minibar fridgerator was to small. I apologize regarding the meal in the Restaurant, that you did not like the meal in the Restaurant, I hope you have mentioned it... More 

Chesterland, Ohio
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2014

Au contraire to what others have written, we found this hotel delightful, near public transportation to old town, a walk away from the train station, helpful front desk, and delicious/convenient restaurant for full spread of breakfast choices! Room was clean and comfortable! We were here for 2 nights, and wished we could have stayed longer.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Monika S, Manager at Hotel Imlauer, responded to this review

Dear Linda, thanks for the nice words, written by you. It makes me feel happy, that you have had a good stay. I will let my staff know, that you enjoyed our breakfast buffet and the hospitality of the employees giving you Information. Wish you all the best, if you will visist Salzburg again, we are happy to welcome you... More 

Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2014

I am staying for 3 nights (16 - 19 Dec 2014). Location is good, 15 min walking from Central Station. Convenience to reach by foot with 60 liter back pack and 86 liter Rimowa. Though location is not in old town, where we have to walk another 15 min, I think the hotel is good for traveler using train and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Monika S, Manager at Hotel Imlauer, responded to this review

Dear Angkola Ingrade, thank you for writing on trip advisori your experience regarding your stay at our Hotel. Thank you for letting us know, that you had a comfort and good stay here in Salzburg. If you visit Salzburg again, we would be happy to welcome you here at the Best Western Hotel Imlauer again. Regards More 

Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2014

We were in Salzburg, a great city, for two nights - the 25th and 26th June and stayed at the hotel. Our first brush with poor room service in Europe left us shocked. On our request for some sugar and coffee sachets, we were told curtly by the receptionist that they would not be in a position to give additional.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Monika S, Manager at Hotel Imlauer, responded to this review

Dera Brahma, thanks for your comments regarding your stay. I am glad, that you had a good time in Salzburg and hopefully also in our Hotel. I apologzie regarding the missing coffee, sugar for the third Person in the room. And I am also glad, that you finally got some coffee, milk etc., as this is a free Service provided... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Hotel Imlauer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Imlauer

Address: Rainerstrasse 14, Salzburg 5020, Austria (Formerly Best Western)
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Salzburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Imlauer 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Imlauer reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Stieglbrau
Best Western Salzburg
Salzburg Best Western
Best Western Hotel Salzburg
Hotel Style:
#32 Luxury Hotel in Salzburg

105 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (87)
Viewed
Bathroom (15)
Viewed
Room/suite (36)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (10)
Viewed
View from room (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (21)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (18)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Other (4)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay