We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Villa Trapp

Traunstrasse 34 | Aigen, Salzburg 5026, Austria
Hotel amenities
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Villa Trapp
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Villa Trapp
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    46
    28
    12
    20
See reviews for
68
78
10
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (190)
  • Mar-May only
    (44)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (61)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (59)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (26)
All months
Germany
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

We were charged for our hotel stay at the Villa Trap even though we cancelled within the policy of the hotel. We needed to modify our reservation. We could only stay one night rather than two. They did not want to work with us, and figure out the new price. The hotel wanted to charge us the full amount for... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
acul2001, Inhaber at Villa Trapp, responded to this review

Hello You may call it a terrible customer service, I say, this are the terms and conditions. A booking is a contract, both sides have to agree and stick to the letter of it. You simply did not cancel within the cancellation time! The Villa Trapp is always available via phone or email. More 

Colchester
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We booked this hotel online using Trip Advisor reviews and were not disappointed. The suite we had had 2 bedrooms and a sitting room. Breakfast was plentiful and tasty. It is a little way out of the centre of the city but the bus service is good and the taxi back to the hotel at the end of the evening... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This place offers so much more than a regular hotel would. The history is literally displayed everywhere and guests are more than welcome to peruse the walls and displays of the actual Von Trapp family. My friend and I were treated wonderfully by staff and had an incredible pleasant stay. Breakfast itself was marvelous. The check-in times are between 7am-7pm... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
acul2001, Inhaber at Villa Trapp, responded to this review

What more could I say than, thank you, thank you, thank you! More 

Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
41 hotel reviews
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Beautiful old house in Salzburg. It was nice to come and experience Villa Trapp and see first hand where the actual family lived. We arrived on the train from Vienna and it is about a 10-15 minute cab ride away. We arrived before checkin time at 3 and were happy to wait for someone to arrive to check us in,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Basel, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2015

I booked this hotel for the experience to stay at the actual house of the Von Trapp family. The house is beautiful, and you can see all the pictures of the family and a brief story about the room you stay in. Our room (Junior Suite) was nice, but my parents rooms (a double room) was not, instead of a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
acul2001, Inhaber at Villa Trapp, responded to this review

Dear Nancy M Thank you very much for your review, I am glad you liked the Junior Suite you had and the arrangement for your late arrival was perfect. You might even have ordered food and beverages in advance, or we could make a reservation in one of our excellent restaurants nearby. I am sure you were aware of the... More 

1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2015

We checked in and checked out after 10 minutes when we were informed by the one member of staff that the hotel seems to have , that from 7pm - 7 am a total of 12 hours there are no staff on the premises !! If for some unforseen reason there is an emergency the lobby phone has an emergency... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
acul2001, Inhaber at Villa Trapp, responded to this review

Dear Amy Fulcher Thank you for taking special trouble and register at Trip Advisor. We appreciate every review, even those who try to put us down, because we are happy to learn more about people. You must have been very upset, when writing this review. I am sorry that our hotel did not meet your expectations, but you certainly read... More 

Spangdahlem, Germany
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
16 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2015

We loved seeing and staying in the actual home of the von Trapp family. The family memorabilia and photographs throughout the villa were fun to look at as well as to read about the various family members on the plaques by the doors. Since we had a car it wasn't a problem getting to the villa which is located in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2015

We booked two rooms well in advance but unfortunately when we arrived we found out they had double booked us... It was very annoying as we were travelling with 2 young children, one aged 5 and one 4 months. The manager blamed one of the staff for the error. After getting over this the rooms given to us were large... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
acul2001, Manager at Villa Trapp, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review. Let me again apologise for the duoble booking of one room you booked. I am glad we could offer our biggest suite as a compensation to you. You could even change the booking you made for the second room, to a much bigger suite. So even if a mistake occurred, you had better... More 

giussano
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
17 hotel reviews
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2015

I stayed here for 1 night with my husband. It's situated just outside the centre in a very well kept residential area. We stayed in Agatha's room. It was well decorated, clean and spacious. Wendy checked us in and was very kind and spoke very good English indeed. We didn't have breakfast. I would definitely return if i return to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2015

It was a real pleasure to stay in this beautiful hotel, or I shall say a summer villa of a aristocratic family! It was amazing experience despite the fact that it was raining the whole time (which turned out to be quite normal for Salzburg). We arrived like 4 hours before the reservation time but they gave us a beautiful... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
acul2001, Manager at Villa Trapp, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your enthusiastic review. We'll love to welcome you again and again and again. For transportation there is also bus number 7 that takes you directly to the city centre and is in front of the S-Bahn station S3. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

179 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (166)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (22)
Viewed
Room/suite (36)
Viewed
Dining (15)
Viewed
View from room (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Other (85)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (13)
Viewed
Room/suite (11)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities