We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Globo Plaza Hotel Villach

Ossiacher Zeile 39, Villach 9500, Austria (Formerly Congress Hotel Villach HB1)
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work directly with Cancelon to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Globo Plaza Hotel Villach
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Globo Plaza Hotel Villach
Globo Plaza Hotel Villach
Globo Plaza Hotel Villach
Add Photo

83 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    13
    16
    25
    14
    15
See reviews for
17
21
10
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (83)
  • Mar-May only
    (15)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (29)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (18)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (21)
All months
Kharkiv, Ukraine
Level Contributor
28 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Staying again in this hotel I can say that good days are gone for these hotel. Rooms are small. Breakfast was very poor - nothing from roasted sausages in meat, but it was enough food. Try to find better hotel any way.

Was this review helpful? Yes
WahahaParadise, Manager at Globo Plaza Hotel Villach, responded to this review

Dear dimonchick2000, concerning the rooms, we can tell you that they are standardized and every rooms has 20 square metres. Because we overtook the hotel by the end of the year 2014, we are still working on improving the rooms. Among many other things, we are continuously changing the furniture tro make the stay of our guests as comfortable as... More 

Sarajevo, Bosnia and Herzegovina
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2015

On our way to Germany we stayed in this hotel for 1 night. The hotel as it self is located in a some kind of an shopping center which was something that you have to get used to it. The rooms are spacious but worn out. The parking was free which is a plus. On the otherhand from the hotel... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
WahahaParadise, Manager at Globo Plaza Hotel Villach, responded to this review

Dear Miki, thank you for your nice words! We are happy, you liked our hotel. Since we started the Globo Plaza Hotel Villach last October we are continuously working on improving our service and room quality. We already realized a lot of improvements and there are even more to come! We hope to see you soon in Villach and not... More 

Launceston
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2015

My colleagues and I stayed there while visiting the region on a business trip and the hotel location is very good and only a 10 minute walk to some lovely bars and restaurants. The receptionist was very professional and helpful, and told us everything we needed to know. The rooms are absolutely fine - very comfortable with excellent WI-FI at... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
WahahaParadise, Manager at Globo Plaza Hotel Villach, responded to this review

Dear Ian, thank you for your great review! We are really happy you felt comfortable being a guest of ours. Best regards from Villach, Your Globo Plaza Hotel Villach Team More 

Teddington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2015

Comfortable if nothing fancy, one saves the average 10 Euro a night on parking, however rooms are a bit dark during winter due to the window sizes. Free breakfast is included which is nothing to shout about. Staff are very pleasant and friendly

Was this review helpful? Yes
WahahaParadise, Manager at Globo Plaza Hotel Villach, responded to this review

Dear David, thank you for your compliment to our staff! We are more than happy to hear you felt welcome at our Globo Plaza Hotel Villach! Best regards, Your Globo Plaza Hotrel Villach More 

Zagreb, Croatia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2015

This hotel is a 10-min walk from the city centre, but in a quiet neighbourhood. It is a good starting point for exploring Villach. The rooms are clean and spacious, bathroom is also very good. Breakfast is simple, not a lot of choices, but you will sometimes get an opportunity to try some local breakfast options. Within the hotel there... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
WahahaParadise, Manager at Globo Plaza Hotel Villach, responded to this review

Dear Nina, thank you for your review and good comments on our rooms. It is great you had a great time in Villach! Hope to see you soon! Your Globo Plaza Hotel Villach Team More 

Kiev, Ukraine
Level Contributor
64 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2014

Location: great, 5 minute walk from the town center, some distance from the main road, so it's not noisy there. The building has some offices too, so remember your floor and don't get lost in the building. ;-) Rooms: Nice, clean but nothing special. There was no soap, shampoo, or hairdryer in our room. Well, that was unusual. I hope... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Wellborn, Texas
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

Kind of hard to find. We didn't like having to carry our bags up to the registration desk two flights of stairs - then down again to get the elevator to our room. BUT this is an interesting old hotel with typical Austrian beds and huge soaking bath tub. We liked the old fashioned look of the real wooden furniture.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tumba, Sweden
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

One of the worst hotels i have seen for the price we paid. Its located inside what looks as an old suburb shopping center. Very depressing enviroment allower. Room was big but very old style, looked like from the 70 th. Aircondition did not work and it was hot and bad air in the room.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Travelers are raving about these Villach hotels

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2014

On completing my stay at this hotel I'd like to give people an honest review, The. Hotel is stunning and set in a perfect location if you want to spend your whole time sunbathing, I stayed there for a week all inclusive and I can say you are treated terribly once they find out your all inclusive, the service is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Whitehall, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

No longer owned by Grand-Media. Need to pay in full at check-in. No phones in the rooms anymore, empty minibar, things are starting to fray. Reception desk is only open 7-11. Some English spoken. Room was suitably warm in winter, but dark. Bed was comfortasble. Satellite TV and WIFI included, but 77 EUR/night is definitely too much for this place.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

53 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (13)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (40)
Viewed
Dining (16)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (15)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay