We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Youth Hostel Luxembourg City

Certificate of Excellence
2, rue du Fort Olisy, Luxembourg City 2261, Luxembourg
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Youth Hostel Luxembourg City
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Youth Hostel Luxembourg City
Add Photo Write a Review

242 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    71
    120
    37
    8
    6
See reviews for
16
25
94
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (242)
  • Mar-May only
    (65)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (76)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (64)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (37)
All months
Dublin
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Really liked this hostel. The room was perfect for our family. Breakfast which is included in the fee is plentiful if a little dull. The restaurant is great value for dinner in the evenings and the staff are most helpful. We sat outside in the garden and the kids loved the swings. Would recommend.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
3 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed at this hostel with 2 people for one night in a 6 person room; very clean, toilet and shower in the room - everything you can expect from a nice hostel! Having booked through their website, we gave our credit card number during the booking process. After having payed for our stay in cash at the reception desk the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
YouthHostelsLXB, Guest Relations Manager at Youth Hostel Luxembourg City, responded to this review

Dear, thank you for your positive feedback on the room and facilities. As for the complaint, I'm sorry to see you were not satisfied with the e-mail response you had already received as clarification. As requested by you in the exchange, we thoroughly looked into the issue and found no problems at all. Furthermore, we have not experienced any problems... More 

Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

It was my first hostel so nothing to compare. It's clean, rooms are big enough, and location is really good. The breakfast was very poor. In my room we had to open window to get fresh air, but outside was sooo noisily.

Was this review helpful? Yes
YouthHostelsLXB, Guest Relations Manager at Youth Hostel Luxembourg City, responded to this review

Dear, I'm happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay overall and I would like to apologise for any noise. Unfortunately we only have a limited control over any noise outside of our building, and I can assure you it's usually a very calm area. As for the breakfast, I invite you to E-Mail us should you have any particular... More 

Napier, New Zealand
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed at this hostel for two weeks whilst working in Luxembourg. Having backpacked all over the world, I can safely say this is the nicest hostel you will ever stay in! The rooms are clean and tidy, the breakfast was good and available from half six, so so handy! Also ate dinner here one night and for 9.90euros you cannot... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
YouthHostelsLXB, Guest Relations Manager at Youth Hostel Luxembourg City, responded to this review

Dear Winston P, What a review! Thank you so much for that. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your time with us and hope that everything else you were in Luxembourg for worked out just as well. And you're right, the hill really isn't so bad. :-) We hope to have you over again some time in the future. Until... More 

Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed in a 6 person, group room that was spacious and had its own bathroom. Despite a slow check in, the beds were comfy and we had everything we needed. location was great, as was parking facilities. Breakfast was included and was good for price. No wifi in room was annoying but downstairs was very good.

Was this review helpful? Yes
YouthHostelsLXB, Guest Relations Manager at Youth Hostel Luxembourg City, responded to this review

Dear, I am glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us! We are currently reconsidering the wifi-situation and your feedback will be taken into consideration. The initial idea was to encourage people to mingle in the lobby/bar and get to know each other and make travel buddies, but we also acknowledge the continuously growing importance of being connected. Thank... More 

Pensacola, Florida
Level Contributor
56 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

From the Luxembourg Gare Central train station, we easily found bus 14 as directed by the hostel, Luxembourg City Hostel, and hopped on, with luggage. We were supposed to get off at the Plateau Altmunster stop, but the bus was so crowded that I sort of panicked when I saw the stop just before ours go by without stopping, and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
YouthHostelsLXB, Guest Relations Manager at Youth Hostel Luxembourg City, responded to this review

Dear, thank you for your extensive and detailed feedback. I am sorry to hear your were not entirely satisfied with our restaurant. As we rely on local and FairTrade products for our restaurant, we always think of food as being one of our strong points. Your criticism, however, is duly noted and will be forwarded to the reponsible person in... More 

Mexico City, Mexico
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2015

I couldn't be happier to have found a place like this. It's the best hostel I've ever been to. I, of course, recommend this place. They're all kind and ready to help us in any moment. The best of all is that the prices are not expensive and travellers like me are able to save some money.

Was this review helpful? Yes
YouthHostelsLXB, Guest Relations Manager at Youth Hostel Luxembourg City, responded to this review

Dear, thank you for your positive feedback! We're happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and hope that the rest of your trip through Europe goes just as well. All the best and hasta luego! :-) More 

New York City, New York
Level Contributor
189 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2015

The Hostel is nice and clean. The rooms have 4 beds per room. They have a restaurant that serves food and drinks which was good. It is close to the Museum of Modern Art which is nice. It is about a mile walk to the center of town. Good place to stay if your trying to stay at a hostel... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
YouthHostelsLXB, Guest Relations Manager at Youth Hostel Luxembourg City, responded to this review

We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay! If you like museums, I hope you also got a chance to visit the Luxembourg City History Museum. Much like the Museum of Modern Art, it is only a quick walk away and very interesting. Thank you for your review and all the best on your future travels! More 

Stavanger, Norway
Level Contributor
51 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2015

The one that I like most is the location, located in the old town, near the fortress, gives you an amazing view. It was quite hard to find at first, but apparently everyone is very helpful and knows where the hostel is located precisely. The hostel is big and very clean, almost like brand-new. There is also a sink and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
YouthHostelsLXB, Guest Relations Manager at Youth Hostel Luxembourg City, responded to this review

Dear Dinda, thank you for your nice review of our hostel. We're happy to hear you liked the location so much! As for WiFi in the room: The idea behind it is to encourage people to mingle and use the common areas and get to know each other; perhaps make new friends or travel buddies. We do, however, also acknowledge... More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2015

The hostel itself isn't too awful... the beds were decently comfortable. There were lockers in the room for your stuff. Showers down the hall which were okay. They're nice private showers but water kind of gets everywhere and all over the stuff you bring to change into. There is an in-house restaurant but the food is terrible. Well, the breakfast... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
YouthHostelsLXB, Guest Relations Manager at Youth Hostel Luxembourg City, responded to this review

Dear Lexy, Thank you for your feedback concerning your stay at our hostel. We are sorry to hear that you didn’t enjoy our restaurant’s food. Normally food is one of our strong points, especially given that we use Fair trade products and support regional producers. As for the kids at the hostel, I’m afraid to say that as a family-friendly... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

88 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (75)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (20)
Viewed
View from room (8)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (27)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (13)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Luxembourg City hotels
0.3 mi away
Melia Luxembourg
Melia Luxembourg
#2 of 56 in Luxembourg City
4.5 of 5 stars 844 reviews
0.8 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Luxembourg City
Park Inn by Radisson Luxembourg ...
#5 of 56 in Luxembourg City
4.5 of 5 stars 711 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sofitel Luxembourg Le Grand Ducal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Novotel Luxembourg Centre
Novotel Luxembourg Centre
#8 of 56 in Luxembourg City
4.0 of 5 stars 701 reviews
1.9 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Luxembourg
DoubleTree by Hilton Luxembourg
#10 of 56 in Luxembourg City
4.0 of 5 stars 857 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Cravat
Grand Hotel Cravat
#20 of 56 in Luxembourg City
3.5 of 5 stars 308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay