We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Youth Hostel Luxembourg City

Certificate of Excellence
2, rue du Fort Olisy, Luxembourg City 2261, Luxembourg
Hotel amenities
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Youth Hostel Luxembourg City
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

251 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    74
    124
    38
    9
    6
See reviews for
16
27
95
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (251)
  • Mar-May only
    (65)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (83)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (66)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (37)
All months
Level Contributor
104 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

This isn't your average youth hostel; the place has really nice facilities including a conference room, so attracts a pretty diverse range of customers. So there's unlikely to be a big party vibe. That said, it's very clean, efficiently run, and has a great kitchen. It's also brilliantly located close to town. Further, I think it's the only hostel in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We were travelling by car so parking was a requirement. We didn't have any difficulty parking here using their free on-site car park. The hostel is located in a nice, clean area surrounded by trees and fairly decent views considering it's in a bit of a valley. The staff were friendly and helpful while the hostel itself, although very large... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
YouthHostelsLXB, Guest Relations Manager at Youth Hostel Luxembourg City, responded to this review

Dear, thank you for stopping by in Luxembourg City and reviewing us here on Tripadvisor. We're happy to see you were pleased with everything and were able to enjoy the nice scenery. Indeed, we're quite fortunate to be so close to the centre and yet surrounded by so much green and spectacular views. Should you ever be in town again,... More 

Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed there for one night on our hiking trip through Luxembourg. The hostel was very clean, spacious and felt safe. There is plenty of room in the lovely common spaces including a garden and a terrace, until late you can grab a drink or a snack in the cafeteria, wifi is good, the breakfast is sufficient and the staff... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
YouthHostelsLXB, Guest Relations Manager at Youth Hostel Luxembourg City, responded to this review

Dear Liene, thank you very much for staying with us and taking the time to write such a nice review. I'm sorry to hear that you weren't able to obtain all the maps you required from the reception. Feel free to contact us and let us know what you required and we'll make sure to add it to our inventory!... More 

Bern, Switzerland
Level Contributor
70 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This is a very good, clean and friendly youth hostel in Luxembourg City. We stayed only for one night, the location near the city center is perfect for excursions into Luxembourg City. The rooms were spacious and clean. The only thing that could be improved would be the showers. While they were very clean, the floor became flooded (fixed showerhead)... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
YouthHostelsLXB, Guest Relations Manager at Youth Hostel Luxembourg City, responded to this review

Dear Simon, thank you for taking the time to review and rate us. We're happy to hear you liked the rooms and location and hope you managed to enjoy the city to its fullest despite only staying for one night. Apologies for not liking the showers; We'll forward your comment to the responsable people! Kind regards from Luxembourg! More 

Swan Hill, Australia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This is a large spacious hostel, suitable for families as it has a garden area and playground out the back. Rooms are large and clean. Ours had ensuite shower and separate toilet. Did have to keep 'pumping' the shower though to keep hot water flowing which is annoying. The main negative for me was the lack of a guest kitchen.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
YouthHostelsLXB, Guest Relations Manager at Youth Hostel Luxembourg City, responded to this review

Dear, thank you very much for your review. We hope you enjoyed your time in Luxembourg and are happy to hear you liked the location! We understand and acknowledge the benefits of having a guest kitchen, especially for those on longer backpacking trips and smaller budgets. We did actually used to have a guest kitchen for the majority of the... More 

Dublin
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2015

Really liked this hostel. The room was perfect for our family. Breakfast which is included in the fee is plentiful if a little dull. The restaurant is great value for dinner in the evenings and the staff are most helpful. We sat outside in the garden and the kids loved the swings. Would recommend.

Was this review helpful? Yes
YouthHostelsLXB, Guest Relations Manager at Youth Hostel Luxembourg City, responded to this review

Dear, thank you for your review and for recommending us. As we are doing our best to run a family-friendly hostel, we're happy to see that you and the kids enjoyed your stay so much. We're glad you enjoyed your trip and hope to see you in Luxembourg some time again! Kind regards from Luxembourg More 

Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
3 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2015

Stayed at this hostel with 2 people for one night in a 6 person room; very clean, toilet and shower in the room - everything you can expect from a nice hostel! Having booked through their website, we gave our credit card number during the booking process. After having payed for our stay in cash at the reception desk the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
YouthHostelsLXB, Guest Relations Manager at Youth Hostel Luxembourg City, responded to this review

Dear, thank you for your positive feedback on the room and facilities. As for the complaint, I'm sorry to see you were not satisfied with the e-mail response you had already received as clarification. As requested by you in the exchange, we thoroughly looked into the issue and found no problems at all. Furthermore, we have not experienced any problems... More 

Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2015

It was my first hostel so nothing to compare. It's clean, rooms are big enough, and location is really good. The breakfast was very poor. In my room we had to open window to get fresh air, but outside was sooo noisily.

Was this review helpful? Yes
YouthHostelsLXB, Guest Relations Manager at Youth Hostel Luxembourg City, responded to this review

Dear, I'm happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay overall and I would like to apologise for any noise. Unfortunately we only have a limited control over any noise outside of our building, and I can assure you it's usually a very calm area. As for the breakfast, I invite you to E-Mail us should you have any particular... More 

Napier, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2015

Stayed at this hostel for two weeks whilst working in Luxembourg. Having backpacked all over the world, I can safely say this is the nicest hostel you will ever stay in! The rooms are clean and tidy, the breakfast was good and available from half six, so so handy! Also ate dinner here one night and for 9.90euros you cannot... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
YouthHostelsLXB, Guest Relations Manager at Youth Hostel Luxembourg City, responded to this review

Dear Winston P, What a review! Thank you so much for that. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your time with us and hope that everything else you were in Luxembourg for worked out just as well. And you're right, the hill really isn't so bad. :-) We hope to have you over again some time in the future. Until... More 

Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2015

We stayed in a 6 person, group room that was spacious and had its own bathroom. Despite a slow check in, the beds were comfy and we had everything we needed. location was great, as was parking facilities. Breakfast was included and was good for price. No wifi in room was annoying but downstairs was very good.

Was this review helpful? Yes
YouthHostelsLXB, Guest Relations Manager at Youth Hostel Luxembourg City, responded to this review

Dear, I am glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us! We are currently reconsidering the wifi-situation and your feedback will be taken into consideration. The initial idea was to encourage people to mingle in the lobby/bar and get to know each other and make travel buddies, but we also acknowledge the continuously growing importance of being connected. Thank... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

90 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (77)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (20)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (12)
Viewed
View from room (8)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Other (27)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (13)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Luxembourg City hotels
0.3 mi away
Melia Luxembourg
Melia Luxembourg
#3 of 56 in Luxembourg City
4.5 of 5 stars 884 reviews
0.8 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Luxembourg City
Park Inn by Radisson Luxembourg ...
#5 of 56 in Luxembourg City
4.5 of 5 stars 747 reviews
1.9 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Luxembourg
DoubleTree by Hilton Luxembourg
#10 of 56 in Luxembourg City
4.0 of 5 stars 910 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Sofitel Luxembourg Le Grand Ducal
0.5 mi away
Novotel Luxembourg Centre
Novotel Luxembourg Centre
#8 of 56 in Luxembourg City
4.0 of 5 stars 733 reviews
0.2 mi away
Parc Beaux-Arts Hotel Luxembourg
Parc Beaux-Arts Hotel Luxembourg
#15 of 56 in Luxembourg City
4.0 of 5 stars 135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay