We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Youth Hostel Luxembourg City

Certificate of Excellence
2, rue du Fort Olisy, Luxembourg City 2261, Luxembourg
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Youth Hostel Luxembourg City
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

285 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Sandakan, Malaysia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

The hostel is far away from the train station. We took a cab to get to it when we arrived. However it is located in a nice secluded downhill area in the center amongst the old architectures of Luxembourg. Check in was quick rooms and beds were decent. The bathroom was small but not an issue. Everything was super clean... More 

Helpful?
Thank thelousyllama
YouthHostelsLXB, Guest Relations Manager at Youth Hostel Luxembourg City, responded to this review

Dear lousyllama (hah, thumbs up on the username!) Thank you for staying with us and leaving us with those nice words. We are happy to read that you were satisfied with the facilities and appear to have had a nice time in Luxembourg. It's true that we are conveniently located (despite the topography) to visit the sights in the city... More 

Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Most probably the best hostel I've ever been! A place suitable to all kind of people, from families to university students. The rooms are small (6 beds each), with private bathroom and very clean. Unfortunately we did not have the chance to try the breakfast, but they told us it was very good. Absolutely an excellent quality/price ratio!

Helpful?
Thank Giuliano B
YouthHostelsLXB, Guest Relations Manager at Youth Hostel Luxembourg City, responded to this review

Thank you, Giuliano, for your visit and very lovely review! We are happy to read you had such a good time at the hostel. We can only hope that you come back some day and get to try our breakfast. Given that it's included in the price and that we rely heavily on local and Fairtrade products, we are pretty... More 

Greater Adelaide, Australia
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

This hostel is nice and well located but just... terribly run. I'm sure you've already seen that there is only wifi in the lobby in an effort to help guests socialise. Unfortunately what this has actually done is squash all chances of meeting people, because the lobby area is only used by people absorbed in their phones. Secondly, breakfast ends... More 

Helpful?
Thank Chrispybell
YouthHostelsLXB, Guest Relations Manager at Youth Hostel Luxembourg City, responded to this review

Dear Chrispybell, thank you for visiting Luxembourg with your friend and leaving us some feedback to improve on. As there is *always* room for improvement, we appreciate your honest criticism and will do our best to improve. We are sorry to hear you felt bothered by the cleaners, but you have to understand the tremendous pressure they're under to have... More 

2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Hostel is cheap and the only one available but is ridiculous and has poor attention to the needs of its visitors. No internet in the rooms and the Internet downstairs keeps disconnecting. All bathrooms and showers are cleaned at the same time every morning at prime time people are using them, and not just a quick clean, but the "pour... More 

Helpful?
Thank Bonnie C
YouthHostelsLXB, Guest Relations Manager at Youth Hostel Luxembourg City, responded to this review

Dear Bonnie, thank you for staying with us and taking the time to leave some feedback even though you have several grievances. We are sorry you felt bothered by the cleaners and would like to apologies on their behalf. You must understand, however, that the cleaners are on a tight schedule in the mornings to have everything spotless before check-in... More 

Missoula, Montana
Level Contributor
92 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed here and loved it. It is a little more expenisve than some other hostels but has a full retaurant and bar, game room, wifi in common area and ensuite bathrooms. It is part way down the mountain but it is in the heart of the city. A short climb and you can hop a city bus.

Helpful?
Thank dr_deborah1030
YouthHostelsLXB, Guest Relations Manager at Youth Hostel Luxembourg City, responded to this review

Dear Deborah, thank you so much for visiting us and taking the time to leave us some flattering feedback! We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and hope to have you back again some day! If you thought this place was nice, you should see it in the summer! Kind regards from Luxembourg, More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2016 via mobile

My stay in this hostel was short, only 2 nights, however it made a great impression. Staff are so welcoming and helpful, rooms are clean and spacious, restaurant is of a high standard at reasonable rates 😊 in such an ideal location only a 10/15 minute walk to city centre and busses are easy to get as well. Really enjoyed... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ellen R
YouthHostelsLXB, Guest Relations Manager at Youth Hostel Luxembourg City, responded to this review

Dear Ellen, thank you so very much for staying with us and taking the time to post such a flattering review on Tripadvisor! We are thrilled to read that you had such a great time and were satisfied with all the facilities and services provided. We sincerely hope that the rest of your trip goes as well as your stopover... More 

Regina, Canada
Level Contributor
60 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2016

The rooms were great with comfortable beds, decent amenities, and a decent cafeteria. It did seem a little lacking in personality though (it felt like I was back in high school). While located closely to many of the sites, and overall in a decent location, it's about as far as you can get from the main train station and it's... More 

Helpful?
Thank Velouaaj
YouthHostelsLXB, Guest Relations Manager at Youth Hostel Luxembourg City, responded to this review

Dear Velouaaj, thank you for visiting our hostel in Luxembourg City and leaving us some very nice feedback! You are right that the walk to the train station is rather hilly and quite a task for people with heavy luggage. Unfortunately Luxembourg is a very hilly city, and we are aware of the implications it brings with it. As you... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2015

I stayed here with the European Union Youth Wind Orchestra whilst on our course. In total, we must have stayed about a week or just over. I shared a room with 3 other girls, all of whom I knew. We had two sets of bunkbeds, a shower room and a toilet room (it did seem a bit odd that the... More 

Helpful?
Thank RebeccaLToal
YouthHostelsLXB, Guest Relations Manager at Youth Hostel Luxembourg City, responded to this review

Dear Rebecca, thank you for visiting us with your orchestra and taking the time to leave us with some feedback. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your time with us and sincerely hope that your group's trip to Luxembourg was successful. Restricting the WiFi to the ground floor was a conscious decision in order to encourage people (who, in... More 

Wellington
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2015 via mobile

We stayed at this hostel for one night, as it's the only hostel in Luxembourg city. The pros: It appears reasonably new, and was very clean and tidy. It was the best price for a private room we found in the city, and the rate included breakfast. It is close to the casements & city wall. Had a cheap shuttle... More 

Helpful?
Thank EHMcQ
YouthHostelsLXB, Guest Relations Manager at Youth Hostel Luxembourg City, responded to this review

Dear EHMcQ, thank you for staying with us in Luxembourg and taking the time to leave us some very valuable feedback and helping us improve! We are sorry you felt the overall vibe rather sterile and would be happy to hear any suggestions you may have to improve on that end. We used to actually have a guest kitchen for... More 

Brampton, Canada
Level Contributor
595 reviews
160 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 419 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2015 via mobile

The hotels in Luxembourg are expensive so this is the best to stay . Very near old town, rooms are to avoid, free breakfast but wifi is only in the lobby. Airport shuttle is just 4 euros. You make ur own bed.showers and toilets are separate Just make sure u are up to climbing a steep hill

Helpful?
Thank betty l
YouthHostelsLXB, Guest Relations Manager at Youth Hostel Luxembourg City, responded to this review

Dear Betty, thank you for staying with us and taking the time to leave some feedback for us and fellow travellers. We actually have several kinds of rooms, so the toilets and showers aren't necessarily separate - in fact the majority are ensuites. We would be eager to hear what else you didn't like about the rooms or if you... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

110 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (97)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (20)
Viewed
Room/suite (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
View from room (8)
Viewed
Other (44)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (13)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Luxembourg City hotels
0.8 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Luxembourg City
Park Inn by Radisson Luxembourg ...
#5 of 50 in Luxembourg City
4.5 of 5 stars 850 reviews
0.3 mi away
Melia Luxembourg
Melia Luxembourg
#2 of 50 in Luxembourg City
4.5 of 5 stars 1,003 reviews
0.5 mi away
Novotel Luxembourg Centre
Novotel Luxembourg Centre
#8 of 50 in Luxembourg City
4.0 of 5 stars 787 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Sofitel Luxembourg Le Grand Ducal
1.9 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Luxembourg
DoubleTree by Hilton Luxembourg
#9 of 50 in Luxembourg City
4.0 of 5 stars 1,100 reviews
0.5 mi away
Le Royal Hotels & Resorts - Luxembourg
Le Royal Hotels & Resorts - Luxe...
#6 of 50 in Luxembourg City
4.5 of 5 stars 521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay