We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Grand Hotel Cravat

Hotel website
29 Boulevard F.D. Roosevelt, Luxembourg City 2450, Luxembourg
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Grand Hotel Cravat
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

392 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Brussels
Level Contributor
69 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I staid in the grand hotel cravat during the week of February 1st and I was rather disappointed. The picture in the site are definitely outdated. The room given to me was small, the mattress of poor quality and the whole room had a carpet of considerable age. The bathroom had been renovated a number of years ago but did... More 

Helpful?
Thank Claudiobxl
CarloCravat, Gérant at Grand Hotel Cravat, responded to this review

Dear Guest, I am sorry to read that you did not enjoy your stay at my hotel. Maybe a new style hotel will be more likely the style you will feel at home. Luckily the city of Luxembourg has many chain hotels that will for sure please you. Best regards, Carlo Cravat More 

Ankara, Turkey
Level Contributor
78 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

the hotel is located at behind of the old city with a great valley view.The rooms take you to the 20th century with french smells. Everyone is so kind in the hotel with english speaking also. Breakfast could be improved.

Helpful?
Thank eggemenn
CarloCravat, Gérant at Grand Hotel Cravat, responded to this review

Dear Guest, thank you and I am happy to read that you liked our hotel and enjoyed your stay. Sorry that breakfast did not meet your needs. Let us know next time maybe we can prepare your wish à la carte. Best regards, Carlo Cravat More 

Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I only stayed for a night, but very short stays are the occasion when you want everything to work. I found the hotel staff very welcoming both at arrival and check-out, the room was quite large, and there was no noise from the road. overall the facility was clean and comfortable. I had dinner in the restaurant part of the... More 

Helpful?
Thank sgnappo
CarloCravat, Gérant at Grand Hotel Cravat, responded to this review

Dear Guest, after such a nice comment I can only say thank you and I hope to welcome you soon again at the "Cravat". Carlo Cravat More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Location of the hotel is one of the best in Luxembourg city. Service of staff is good. Concierge the old fashion way, very good service. Cravat is an old hotel and got really old nice features. The decoration and furnish is traditional but good. Breakfast is simple but okay. Pity there is no free wifi.

Helpful?
Thank Marcel S
CarloCravat, Gérant at Grand Hotel Cravat, responded to this review

Dear guest, thank you for your remarks and looking forward to welcoming you again in Luxembourg at the Grand Hotel Cravat very soon. Best regards, Carlo Cravat More 

Bexhill-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We travelled to Luxembourg for the Christmas market the last weekend in November and picked the hotel as it appeared to be a central location. Location was spot on! We could see one of the Christmas Market's from our window and the other market was a 3 minute walk away. What was outstanding at the hotel was the welcome and... More 

Helpful?
Thank AliRounc
CarloCravat, Gérant at Grand Hotel Cravat, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank your for your nice comments as well for my staff as for the hotel. We alwyas try to please as much as possible our guests so to get the feeling you described in your comments. All the Best for 2016. Carlo Cravat More 

Jerusalem, Israel
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Its a "location trap": 4 stars hotel, dream location, very cheap. Too good to be true? Well, it is. the standard rooms are far from being 4 stars worthy as advertised. The bad stuff: - The worst thing were the mattress and pillows. after a couple of nights, my back was so trashed by the old supportless mattress, that I... More 

Helpful?
Thank DeJollyJoker
CarloCravat, Gérant at Grand Hotel Cravat, responded to this review

Dear Guest, I thank you for your comments and the time you took to write them. If I read well you stayed more days in my property so why not asking for another room. Many guests are happy in my hotel (see other new comments) and I am sad that you had not the same feeling. Some points will be... More 

Travelers are raving about these Luxembourg City hotels

1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

Wasn't expecting much as very cheap room rate with breakfast included. Everything was fine, big enough room although slightly dated, but we did expect that. Loved the old elevator! Had a nice view out over the Christmas market. Perfect location to explore the city and very easy to get to from the airport. Staff friendly and helpful enough, especially at... More 

Helpful?
Thank Juliet M
CarloCravat, Gérant at Grand Hotel Cravat, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your comments and I am happy that you enjoyed your stay at the Grand Hotel Cravat. Have a good year 2016. Kind regards, Carlo Cravat More 

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2015

The location of the hotel is great for seeing around the older areas of Luxembourg. The staff are friendly and the breakfast is fine. However, the pillows are awful, the towels should have been thrown out years ago, and you get a grand total of 30mins free internet only, then if you want access be prepared to rob a bank... More 

Helpful?
Thank Rob_from_Sydney2013
CarloCravat, Gérant at Grand Hotel Cravat, responded to this review

Dear Guest, thank you for your comments and concerning the towels I will see where the problem is and also concerning the pillows. Concerning the internet it is only half the truth as 2 hours cost 6 euro and you do not need to rob a bank for that else it is a small bank. Merry Christmas Carlo cravat More 

Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2015

Excellent location, right in the centre of the city - very close to Place d'Armes as well as the Christmas markets. Booked a Superior Double Room and it was excellent (room 448) - on the 4th floor which had been refurbished to a high standard. Very large room, with extremely large bathroom - bigger than some bedrooms I have been... More 

Helpful?
Thank Lynda679
CarloCravat, Gérant at Grand Hotel Cravat, responded to this review

Dear Guest thank you for your correct comments, our executive floor seems to please our guests. I hope this will help the futur guests to book our hotel. Best regards, Carlo Cravat More 

Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2015 via mobile

We just checked out of this property. I would say you should stay here only if location is a matter of life & death for you. It has a great location but everything else about this hotel - the front desk staff, the rooms, the amenities is downright appalling! It is by far the worst Grand property we have ever... More 

Helpful?
Thank Seema K
CarloCravat, Gérant at Grand Hotel Cravat, responded to this review

Dear Mrs Jariwala, I thank you for the time you took to do these comments and I presume you needed more time to write them then the time you spent in my hotel. Luckyily for us we have not many guests like you. We wish you all the Best as I will not argue on your risen topics. I have... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

165 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (140)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (38)
Viewed
View from room (18)
Viewed
Room/suite (31)
Viewed
Bathroom (15)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (33)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (25)
Viewed
Room/suite (11)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Luxembourg City hotels
0.5 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Luxembourg City
Park Inn by Radisson Luxembourg ...
#5 of 50 in Luxembourg City
4.5 of 5 stars 854 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sofitel Luxembourg Le Grand Ducal
0.7 mi away
Melia Luxembourg
Melia Luxembourg
#2 of 50 in Luxembourg City
4.5 of 5 stars 1,004 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Le Royal Hotels & Resorts - Luxembourg
Le Royal Hotels & Resorts - Luxe...
#6 of 50 in Luxembourg City
4.5 of 5 stars 521 reviews
0.5 mi away
Novotel Luxembourg Centre
Novotel Luxembourg Centre
#8 of 50 in Luxembourg City
4.0 of 5 stars 787 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Vauban
Hotel Vauban
#15 of 50 in Luxembourg City
4.0 of 5 stars 93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay