We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel Au Vieux Moulin

Lauterborn | Lauterborn-Echternach, Echternach L-6562, Luxembourg
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
Hotel Au Vieux Moulin
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

46 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    30
    8
    5
    0
    3
See reviews for
7
28
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (46)
  • Mar-May only
    (5)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (21)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (16)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (4)
All months
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2015

We booked this hotel because we had to go to a wedding nearby. We stayed for two nights and this was really good. Room is spacious and nicely decorated. Breakfast was very good. A great experience... Recommended

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2014

I would except to find a receptionist so you can get your room. But that was not the case. The whole time we were there there was no one. There is a message on the counter to ring the bell. They do not say where that bell is. It turns out to be the one at the entrance. We rang... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Roanoke, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2014

We booked this hotel via email from the US, and were a little unsure what we were getting into, as the owner, Isabella, always responded in French. We weren't going to book half-board, but she made us a terrific offer which we accepted. On arrival, we found we could communicate adequately (a little French or German is helpful, but she... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2014

This is a fantastic little hotel 5 minutes from Echternach. Nice for families with or without kids. Perfect breakfast and most of all very clean and very nice service! We had a great (new) duplex where the kids sleep downstairs and we sleep upstairs. Nice garden to sit and relax.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
118 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2014

I have written over a hundred reviews for TripAdvisor. I think this is the first "terrible" rating I've ever given. After arriving in the rain, we were trying to relax when the owners' dog began whining and barking under our window. This went on for over an hour. At dinner, we complained to the wife/owner who actually laughed about it... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Boulliat, Propriétaire at Hotel Au Vieux Moulin, responded to this review

Thank you for your feed-back. It is a pity that we were not informed about your concerns during your stay with us. At no point we have been asked for a room change. We were only asked whether there were free rooms in the new hotel section. At that time all double rooms were fully booked. If we had been... More 

Gottingen, Germany
Level Contributor
89 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

First an advice: if you are going to check in the late evening you should better call them in advance (and booking should emphasise it better on its webpage). They don't have 24h reception, but of course someone let us in. That someone as well as all other staff members we met were very friendly and helpful. Similar with the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
115 reviews
113 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

It is a splendid hotel close to Echternach. It was very quiet and nicely located yet not far from everything. The rooms are big and very nicely decorated, the bathroom is very nice and has a big window. Staff is amazing, super friendly and helpful. Breakfast is homemade and super tasty! The only tiny minus is the weak internet connection.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
45 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

This is the perfect venue, as they say these days, for an intimate weekday lunch - for the first hour we were the only lunchers, except for a quantity of house flies naturally ready for lunch & ours in particular. All right, this hotel/restaurant is en pleine verdure but there must be some way of dealing with this hazard. Probably... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Boulliat, Propriétaire at Hotel Au Vieux Moulin, responded to this review

Dear guest, Your note has been carefully studied as we take all feedback as an opportunity to improve. At Vieux Moulin we pride ourselves in providing high quality food based on fresh produce and I am pleased you found that this was the case in your visit. I would also like to address the items that may mislead other guests:... More 

Sint-Denijs
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

Just outside Echternach, in a green surrounding, although caught between two roads, Isabel welcomed us with a warm smile into her nice and very well kept hotel. The room we rented was large, well furnished, with a very comfortable bath room. Internet access was easy and fast. Breakfast was outstanding, with a wide variety of top quality breads and danish... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Ascot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

Off the beaten track in a corner of Luxembourg. Appears to be newly refurbished. Very comfortable room although the cheaper room we booked, and it was exceptional value, had a view over the kitchen. Perfect for a one night stop but you would probably need to spend more if you like a view and planned to stay a few nights.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

19 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (12)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Echternach
1.6 mi away
Hotel Bel Air Sport & Wellness
0.8 mi away
Hotel Eden au Lac
Hotel Eden au Lac
#3 of 9 in Echternach
4.0 of 5 stars 69 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hostellerie de la Basilique
Hostellerie de la Basilique
#1 of 9 in Echternach
4.0 of 5 stars 44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Hotel le Pavillon
Hotel le Pavillon
#4 of 9 in Echternach
4.0 of 5 stars 54 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hotel Kinnen
Hotel Kinnen
#1 of 4 in Berdorf
4.5 of 5 stars 8 reviews
3.7 mi away
Hotel Brimer
Hotel Brimer
#1 of 2 in Grundhof
4.5 of 5 stars 33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay