We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel Au Vieux Moulin

Lauterborn, Echternach L-6562, Luxembourg
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Au Vieux Moulin
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Hotel Au Vieux Moulin
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    8
    5
    0
    3
See reviews for
7
27
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (43)
  • Mar-May only
    (5)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (18)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (16)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (4)
All months
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

I would except to find a receptionist so you can get your room. But that was not the case. The whole time we were there there was no one. There is a message on the counter to ring the bell. They do not say where that bell is. It turns out to be the one at the entrance. We rang... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Roanoke, Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We booked this hotel via email from the US, and were a little unsure what we were getting into, as the owner, Isabella, always responded in French. We weren't going to book half-board, but she made us a terrific offer which we accepted. On arrival, we found we could communicate adequately (a little French or German is helpful, but she... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This is a fantastic little hotel 5 minutes from Echternach. Nice for families with or without kids. Perfect breakfast and most of all very clean and very nice service! We had a great (new) duplex where the kids sleep downstairs and we sleep upstairs. Nice garden to sit and relax.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Charleston, South Carolina
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
56 hotel reviews
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I have written over a hundred reviews for TripAdvisor. I think this is the first "terrible" rating I've ever given. After arriving in the rain, we were trying to relax when the owners' dog began whining and barking under our window. This went on for over an hour. At dinner, we complained to the wife/owner who actually laughed about it... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Boulliat, Propriétaire at Hotel Au Vieux Moulin, responded to this review

Thank you for your feed-back. It is a pity that we were not informed about your concerns during your stay with us. At no point we have been asked for a room change. We were only asked whether there were free rooms in the new hotel section. At that time all double rooms were fully booked. If we had been... More

Gottingen, Germany
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
68 hotel reviews
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

First an advice: if you are going to check in the late evening you should better call them in advance (and booking should emphasise it better on its webpage). They don't have 24h reception, but of course someone let us in. That someone as well as all other staff members we met were very friendly and helpful. Similar with the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
110 hotel reviews
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

It is a splendid hotel close to Echternach. It was very quiet and nicely located yet not far from everything. The rooms are big and very nicely decorated, the bathroom is very nice and has a big window. Staff is amazing, super friendly and helpful. Breakfast is homemade and super tasty! The only tiny minus is the weak internet connection.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
20 hotel reviews
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

This is the perfect venue, as they say these days, for an intimate weekday lunch - for the first hour we were the only lunchers, except for a quantity of house flies naturally ready for lunch & ours in particular. All right, this hotel/restaurant is en pleine verdure but there must be some way of dealing with this hazard. Probably... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Boulliat, Propriétaire at Hotel Au Vieux Moulin, responded to this review

Dear guest, Your note has been carefully studied as we take all feedback as an opportunity to improve. At Vieux Moulin we pride ourselves in providing high quality food based on fresh produce and I am pleased you found that this was the case in your visit. I would also like to address the items that may mislead other guests:... More

Sint-Denijs
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

Just outside Echternach, in a green surrounding, although caught between two roads, Isabel welcomed us with a warm smile into her nice and very well kept hotel. The room we rented was large, well furnished, with a very comfortable bath room. Internet access was easy and fast. Breakfast was outstanding, with a wide variety of top quality breads and danish... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Ascot, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

Off the beaten track in a corner of Luxembourg. Appears to be newly refurbished. Very comfortable room although the cheaper room we booked, and it was exceptional value, had a view over the kitchen. Perfect for a one night stop but you would probably need to spend more if you like a view and planned to stay a few nights.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 11
Pwllheli
1 review
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

From the minute we arrived at Hotel Au Vieux Moulin until the minute we left we were overawed by the whole experince. Talk about "hands on"-we had a most warm welcome from Isabel, who with her chef husband are the most amazing owners. But more was yet to come, perhaps the first hint came when a group staying at another... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 11
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Hotel Au Vieux Moulin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Au Vieux Moulin

Address: Lauterborn, Echternach L-6562, Luxembourg
Location: Luxembourg > Grevenmacher District > Echternach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Au Vieux Moulin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

13 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (12)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay