We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel Hafnia

4 - 10 Aarvegur | PO Box 107, Torshavn, Streymoy 110, Faroe Islands
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Cancelon to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Hotel Hafnia
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

84 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    14
    42
    22
    4
    2
See reviews for
7
18
12
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (84)
  • Mar-May only
    (17)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (41)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (23)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (3)
All months
Reykjavik, Iceland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed today NEW

Went there for a weekend trip in August. The hotel was being renovated so outside looks can't be judged. We stayed at the 4th floor (or the third depending on how you count). The elevator takes 5 people squeezed in not including luggage, if it wasnt for the numbers on the elevator door when exiting it would be confusing to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Had two nights in Torshavn as apart of a one week walking trip around the Faroe Islands. Hotel Hafnia ideally located in middle of city - close to all main amenities including tourist office, local cafes and the harbour. Rooms are of high standard, free reliable WiFi and great food in the restaurant for breakfast and dinner.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Reykjavik, Iceland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Don't let the renovations stop you from staying at Hotel Hafnia. The rooms are clean, the staff very friendly and helpful, and the very polite workmen are only working during the day. The hotel is in a great location to walk to the nearby harbor or downtown area.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Malmo, Sweden
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Arrived in the afternoon on a Wednesday. The receptionist Thomas gave us rooms 305 (old building) and 240 (new building). We were disappointed that we didn't get rooms near each other. Not even in the same building. We asked to change this but Thomas told us it was not possible. He offered a smaller room in the new building but... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
travla_9, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Hafnia, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of Hotel Hafnia. We do not condone using Tripadvisor as a place to target named individuals on the internet, therefore we will not respond to any of the points which relate to named individuals. We are sorry that you were not completely satisfied with the room allocation. Due to our location in the heart of... More 

Travelers are raving about these Torshavn hotels

4 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My and a couple of my friends went out for lunch. We decided on Hafnia, since we've all had good meals there before. This was not the case this time. They have just replaced all the staff, this has not had a positive effect. The waiter never gave us a wine/drink card and she had to come back to check... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2015

We stayed 3 night here, at this 4 star hotel, that desperately needed renovation. The room was very old and had a small, very bad bathroom for this standard. The water from the shower did leak out on the floor and carpet in the bedroom, because of a rotten door. It was no ventilation and it smelled old in the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
travla_9, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Hafnia, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of Hotel Hafnia. We are pleased that you found our beds comfortable and that you were able to take advantage of our unique position in the very heart of the capital Tórshavn. It also pleasing to note your comments about our breakfast. You are absolutely correct about renovation and you will have noticed that the... More 

Washington
Level Contributor
189 reviews
157 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 250 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2015

I stayed three nights at the Hotel Hafnia which is located in the old part of Tørshavn, an excellent place to be! The harbor with various ferries is two blocks away, two banks are only three blocks away, an excellent library is just two blocks away, and the Tourist Information office is also very close by. I checked into my... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
travla_9, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Hafnia, responded to this review

Thank you for your comprehensive review of Hotel Hafnia. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and I am sure that our restaurant staff will be delighted to hear that they are serving the best breakfast in Tórshavn! We look forward to welcoming you to our hotel during your nex visit to the Faroe Islands...Takk Fyri... More 

Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2015

Torshavn was our second place to stay on the Faeroe Islands. We arrived in front of the hotel and were a bit surprised about the scaffold around the building. The reception was very friendly and we got a room in the new extension. This room was really nice and well equipped with everything you need with a large, modern bath... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
travla_9, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Hafnia, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review of Hotel Hafnia. It is heartwarming to note that you enjoyed our brand new rooms. We agree that when the ongoing renovation and modernisation is complete, our guest will reap the benefits of this major investment in comfort and convenience. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel on your next... More 

UK
Level Contributor
100 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2015

Great location but 'small' does not describe the dimensions of the room. The clue comes when you find the external door opens OUT into the corridor. Currently undergoing renovation which meant drilling at 0800. Dinner at the restaurant was reasonable (but expensive); the choice at brekfast on our second morning was very limited. Reception staff very helpful

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
travla_9, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Hafnia, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of Hotel Hafnia. I did try to touch the walls from the middle of the room, but try as I might, I could not, even on one leg. I am pleased that you were able to take advantage of our unique location right in the heart of the capital and it is heartwarming to hear... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2015

The location is excellent, right in the middle of Tórshavn and just moments from the harbour. The room, although very small, was stylish and comfortable with a great bathroom. The free WiFi was reliable. The breakfast was by far the best we had anywhere in the Faroe Islands. The staff were unfailingly helpful and efficient. The hotel is currently (summer... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
travla_9, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Hafnia, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your kind words about Hotel Hafnia. We are glad that you enjoyed our new rooms which have been designed very much with style in mind and we are so pleased that you enjoyed our new bathrooms with cosy underfloor heating. Again it is delightful to hear that you rate our full buffet breakfast so highly... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

33 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (28)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Torshavn
1.0 mi away
Hotel Foroyar
Hotel Foroyar
#1 of 5 in Torshavn
4.0 of 5 stars 138 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Streym Torshavn
Hotel Streym Torshavn
#2 of 5 in Torshavn
4.0 of 5 stars 90 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Torshavn
Hotel Torshavn
#4 of 5 in Torshavn
3.5 of 5 stars 80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.7 mi away
62 N Airport Hotel
62 N Airport Hotel
#1 of 1 in Sorvagur
3.5 of 5 stars 58 reviews
0.7 mi away
Guesthouse Marknagil
Guesthouse Marknagil
#3 of 5 in Torshavn
4.0 of 5 stars 12 reviews
0.0 mi away
Gjaargardur Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay