We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

British Hotel

40 Battery Street, Valletta, Island of Malta VLT06, Malta
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Cancelon to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
British Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
British Hotel
Add Photo Write a Review

303 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    53
    112
    63
    45
    30
See reviews for
34
109
52
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (303)
  • Mar-May only
    (82)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (80)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (105)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (36)
All months
Coleraine
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

This was my 11th time staying at the British Hotel and I have always enjoyed the hotel. The manager emailed me about 6 weeks in advance and explained about renovation works that had overrun and that no restaurant facilities were available. It does not matter as within a 5 minute walk there are plenty of cafe's open from 7-30am onwards... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Saint Andrews, Fife United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I've just spent ten days at the British Hotel, my third visit over the last 4 years, and, once again, very much enjoyed being there. The Manager kindly emailed a month in advance to advise that there were major building works ongoing, thus it was not possible to offer restaurant and bar facilities and that the hotel was operating on... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
San Antonio
Level Contributor
147 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We booked this hotel long before it was noted that it was going to be under construction. At no point were we informed by hotel management that pretty much the entire place would be inaccessible and under construction through our entire stay. We ended up on the next to top floor (the numbering system is bizarre- every room is a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes

Travelers are raving about these Valletta hotels

Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Do not stay here if you want to have a pleasant visit to Valletta. Much of the information listed on sites like Booking.com is now false. Due to ongoing renovations there is no restaurant, no usable public terrace, no breakfast or other meal options, etc. Also all rooms do not have a view or even possibility for AC - many... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ZUZUMalta, Owner at British Hotel, responded to this review

I just want to correct and clear some of the comments. The information on major sites like booking.com , Expedia and also on our own website states clearly that we are undergoing a major refurbishment in the restaurant , bar and reception. We have a roof terrace which is available on the 6th floor with seating for the guests. .... More 

Tamworth
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We arrived at midnight, having travelled over as foot passengers on the ferry from Sicily. Just let them know in advance, as we did, if you will be arriving late - no problem. When we opened the curtains in the morning we found we had a terrace/balcony with wonderful views over the harbour. Our room was large, clean with a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Paris, France
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2015

- Staff is both very professional and very welcoming and helpful - We had a big and very nice room, perfectly clean with an outstandingview - Location in Valletta is just perfect for a very affordable price

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2015

My stay at the British Hotel in Mai was wonderful again - although some restaurations at the great building of 19th century are going on behind closed doors! The BH-Staff welcomes you whether you come from Japan, from Norway or the Fidji Islands. You are warmhearted welcome by the english and french-speaking crew like the maltese tradition goes on for... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2015 via mobile

Staying here was a real treat, the staff are so friendly and helpful and the Hotel has everything you could wish for. I will definitely be returning. The location is tremendous and the views from the sixth floor terrace are fantastic.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
St. Gallen, Switzerland
Level Contributor
243 reviews
108 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 194 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2015

Arriving at night in a strange city it was disconcerting to find the hotel door boarded up and a skip full of builders rubble outside. A note on the door indicated a temporary entrance next street over. Room was a good size and recently renovated but obviously on a budget, room was plain and almost cell like. No tea/coffee maker... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Doha, Qatar
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2015

This hotel is currently being refurbished (10/04/15) which means that the restaurant and bar are closed and there is a fair amount of building work going on in the hotel. Although offered a reduction (as no breakfast), I found it necessary to cut my stay short, due to unacceptable building noise and dust. I was also concerned about poor signage... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
ZUZUMalta, Manager at British Hotel, responded to this review

The hotel is at the moment being refurbished and yes there is no restaurant and bar, we told you specifically on arrival. We refunded you not just the breakfast but also a reduction on the room rate . The main reason of your complaint was because a a worker had drilled a hole in the corridor to instal a cable... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

150 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (141)
Viewed
View from room (25)
Viewed
Room/suite (17)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (44)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (48)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (9)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Valletta
0.5 mi away
Excelsior Grand Hotel
Excelsior Grand Hotel
#3 of 9 in Valletta
4.0 of 5 stars 2,304 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Phoenicia
Hotel Phoenicia
#2 of 9 in Valletta
4.5 of 5 stars 1,958 reviews
0.3 mi away
Osborne Hotel
Osborne Hotel
#5 of 9 in Valletta
4.0 of 5 stars 705 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Grand Harbour Hotel
Grand Harbour Hotel
#4 of 9 in Valletta
4.0 of 5 stars 255 reviews
0.1 mi away
Castille Hotel
Castille Hotel
#6 of 9 in Valletta
3.5 of 5 stars 240 reviews
0.3 mi away
Casa Ellul
Casa Ellul
#1 of 9 in Valletta
5.0 of 5 stars 64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay