We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

British Hotel

40 Battery Street, Valletta, Island of Malta VLT06, Malta
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work directly with HotelsClick to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
British Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
British Hotel
Add Photo Write a Review

299 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
    51
    112
    63
    43
    30
See reviews for
32
109
50
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (299)
  • Mar-May only
    (82)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (76)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (105)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (36)
All months
Tamworth
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We arrived at midnight, having travelled over as foot passengers on the ferry from Sicily. Just let them know in advance, as we did, if you will be arriving late - no problem. When we opened the curtains in the morning we found we had a terrace/balcony with wonderful views over the harbour. Our room was large, clean with a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Paris, France
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2015

- Staff is both very professional and very welcoming and helpful - We had a big and very nice room, perfectly clean with an outstandingview - Location in Valletta is just perfect for a very affordable price

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2015

My stay at the British Hotel in Mai was wonderful again - although some restaurations at the great building of 19th century are going on behind closed doors! The BH-Staff welcomes you whether you come from Japan, from Norway or the Fidji Islands. You are warmhearted welcome by the english and french-speaking crew like the maltese tradition goes on for... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2015 via mobile

Staying here was a real treat, the staff are so friendly and helpful and the Hotel has everything you could wish for. I will definitely be returning. The location is tremendous and the views from the sixth floor terrace are fantastic.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
St. Gallen, Switzerland
Level Contributor
233 reviews
104 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 188 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2015

Arriving at night in a strange city it was disconcerting to find the hotel door boarded up and a skip full of builders rubble outside. A note on the door indicated a temporary entrance next street over. Room was a good size and recently renovated but obviously on a budget, room was plain and almost cell like. No tea/coffee maker... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Doha, Qatar
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2015

This hotel is currently being refurbished (10/04/15) which means that the restaurant and bar are closed and there is a fair amount of building work going on in the hotel. Although offered a reduction (as no breakfast), I found it necessary to cut my stay short, due to unacceptable building noise and dust. I was also concerned about poor signage... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
ZUZUMalta, Manager at British Hotel, responded to this review

The hotel is at the moment being refurbished and yes there is no restaurant and bar, we told you specifically on arrival. We refunded you not just the breakfast but also a reduction on the room rate . The main reason of your complaint was because a a worker had drilled a hole in the corridor to instal a cable... More 

Travelers are raving about these Valletta hotels

Singapore
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2014

I chose this Hotel for its reasonable price, and its convenient location. It's inside the walled city so great for seeing the old cobble streets and some museums. There are great views of the sea BUT there is no beach. If you want to go to the beach you need to take a bus from just outside the city, so... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 7
Coleraine
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2014

I have stayed at the British Hotel over the last 8 years for at least one week. The view over the Grand Harbour from some of the rooms and the restaurant balcony are stunning - worth the stay alone! Rooms are clean, have newly refurbished bathrooms and are very comfortable. The staff are superb and nothing is too much trouble,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 8
Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2014

Great hotel in the heart of Valletta. This place is NOT for those who travel to Malta for the beaches and party life. Rather this place gives you advantage to the life of old Valletta with great views and quick walk to the bus stops to the rest of the island! Luckily was upgraded to a balcony on the top... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2014

I was worried booking the British Hotel as it has mixed reviews. The rooms need updating and a few simple repairs, but the triple room that I booked for my family was clean. This hotel wins by virtue of its location. Our triple room was located near the top of the hotel and had fantastic views across the sea and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

146 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (141)
Viewed
View from room (25)
Viewed
Room/suite (17)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (44)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (48)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay