We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

British Hotel

2.0 of 5
40 Battery Street, Valletta, Island of Malta VLT06, Malta
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
British Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
British Hotel
Write a Review

292 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    110
    63
    41
    29
See reviews for
32
106
46
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (292)
  • Mar-May only
    (77)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (74)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (105)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (36)
All months
St. Gallen, Switzerland
Top Contributor
223 reviews 223 reviews
102 hotel reviews
166 helpful votes 166 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Arriving at night in a strange city it was disconcerting to find the hotel door boarded up and a skip full of builders rubble outside. A note on the door indicated a temporary entrance next street over. Room was a good size and recently renovated but obviously on a budget, room was plain and almost cell like. No tea/coffee maker... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Doha, Qatar
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

This hotel is currently being refurbished (10/04/15) which means that the restaurant and bar are closed and there is a fair amount of building work going on in the hotel. Although offered a reduction (as no breakfast), I found it necessary to cut my stay short, due to unacceptable building noise and dust. I was also concerned about poor signage... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
ZUZUMalta, Manager at British Hotel, responded to this review

The hotel is at the moment being refurbished and yes there is no restaurant and bar, we told you specifically on arrival. We refunded you not just the breakfast but also a reduction on the room rate . The main reason of your complaint was because a a worker had drilled a hole in the corridor to instal a cable... More 

Singapore
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2014

I chose this Hotel for its reasonable price, and its convenient location. It's inside the walled city so great for seeing the old cobble streets and some museums. There are great views of the sea BUT there is no beach. If you want to go to the beach you need to take a bus from just outside the city, so... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
Coleraine
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2014

I have stayed at the British Hotel over the last 8 years for at least one week. The view over the Grand Harbour from some of the rooms and the restaurant balcony are stunning - worth the stay alone! Rooms are clean, have newly refurbished bathrooms and are very comfortable. The staff are superb and nothing is too much trouble,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 7
Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2014

Great hotel in the heart of Valletta. This place is NOT for those who travel to Malta for the beaches and party life. Rather this place gives you advantage to the life of old Valletta with great views and quick walk to the bus stops to the rest of the island! Luckily was upgraded to a balcony on the top... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2014

I was worried booking the British Hotel as it has mixed reviews. The rooms need updating and a few simple repairs, but the triple room that I booked for my family was clean. This hotel wins by virtue of its location. Our triple room was located near the top of the hotel and had fantastic views across the sea and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Greystoke, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2014

We stayed just one night as we had a late flight arrival and needed a room before heading to Gozo the next day. British Hotel, while not the cheapest available, offered a good location at an ok price. Our room was huge with a small balcony overlooking the harbour - fantastic views and a real treat. Luckily this provided a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
Norwich, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2014

Although the decor is a little dated and in need of a makeover the staff are all very friendly and extremely helpful and knowledgeable. The harbour views are fantastic from the front rooms and the restaurant and the hotel has a fantastic location for exploring Valetta. Breakfast is very good, dinner was ok

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2014

Okay but not tops. Pros - location, views. Cons - rather tired. If you get a harbour facing room esp. 105 or 106 all is forgiven as these have a massive private balcony overlooking the Grand Harbour. Hotel is well situated for all the historical sites of Valletta. Staff were helpful and freindly. Only spent 1 night here. I am... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Kendal, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2014

We stayed there just for one night. Air conditioner was broken. There was no choice for breakfast. Bread was dry and green,old ham and bubbly fruit salad. Food was kept just on the table and covered with cling film. You can imagine how "tasty" it was at July at this temperature!

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

138 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (133)
Viewed
View from room (25)
Viewed
Room/suite (17)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (44)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (40)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question