We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Grand Harbour Hotel

Certificate of Excellence
47 Battery Street, Valletta, Island of Malta VLT 1221, Malta
Hotel amenities
Grand Harbour Hotel
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work directly with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Valletta
Certificate of Excellence
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
EveSp Dublin, California
Add Photo Write a Review

239 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
    81
    106
    31
    11
    10
See reviews for
16
128
18
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (239)
  • Mar-May only
    (62)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (53)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (77)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (47)
All months
Dublin, California
Level Contributor
230 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

If you want a large plush resort, this is not the hotel for you. If you like small hotels with a great view and good service near the main attractions, Grand Harbour Hotel is perfect. It is right over the Victoria Gate with some rooms enjoying fabulous views and barely 3 blocks from the Knights of Malta's glorious "co-cathedral." Our... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Level Contributor
87 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

positive: position, near the hearth of old city, the waterfront and in the middle from upper to lower barrakka gardens. Very good view over the gulf, especially from the free terrace on the 7th floor. Large and clean bathroom and comfortable bed. negative: the linen bed wasn't perfectly clean. The breakfast is a bit poor (but of course enough for... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Mario_Demanuele, Owner at Grand Harbour Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Myluggageintheworld, Thank you for taking the time to review us here on Trip advisor. We apologize that we did not manage to meet your expectations and your comments are noted. Our records show that you had reserved a standard room and requested a sea view room, which you nonetheless turned down when this was offered. Our linen comes packed... More 

Seaford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The hotel staff were really friendly and helpful. Our room and bathroom was very clean. Breakfast was plentiful and very good. Not only could we see the sea from our balcony we enjoyed watching a wedding party outside nearby church.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
The Netherlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I was here for a few nights, it was great! My room wasn't ready at the moment i arrived, but the manager (?) was really friendly and the inside bar had more then enough cold drinks to wait. I didn't booked a room with a sea-view, but the manager (?) arranged a room for me WITH sea view. I was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This is a friendly family run hotel in a good location. The rooms are excellent , clean and newly decorated, ours was on the 6th floor and overlooked the harbor with great views. We purchased drinks from the bar and were provided with glasses to take to the roof terrace that has panoramic views of the harbor The breakfast was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Paris, France
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

A nice hotel: simple, clean and not expensive. The view over Valetta harbour is beautiful. Our room was basic but clean and had the basic necessities (bed & bathroom, which were clean: in my opinion, it's a very important point). The hotel offers a good compromise between location in Valetta and room rate.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
chepstow
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2015

Attractive building in a great location close to everything from the port to restaurants, historical sites and the shops. Immaculately clean hotel and friendly helpful staff. Would have liked a shelf or storage space in the bathroom and a safe in the room would be good. Great for a short city break with amazing harbour views from the bedrooms particularly... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
282 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2015

We cannot understand the glowing reviews . The exterior is beautiful but the lobby is small and shabby . When we arrived late a resentful uncommunicative front desk man treated us as an intrusion . The rooms were poor . Our travel mate's smelled so bad they had to ask to be moved . The bed was lumpy . The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Mario_Demanuele, Owner at Grand Harbour Hotel, responded to this review

Dear rdmiller_pcj, Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip advisor. We assure you that we take every review seriously as to ensure that any shortcoming is rectified immediately. Besides other adjectives that you have used, we noted in particular two. Quote "everything was old and shabby". We are shocked and surprised to read this, especially... More 

Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2015

This hotel is classified as 2 stars but many 4 stars hotels don't have the same comfort. We just stayed here for 4 nights with 10 people and had the most enjoyable experience. Why is this hotel only 2 stars: because they don' have some ammenities like room service or minibar or business center but if you don't need those... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Preston, Lancashire
Level Contributor
326 reviews
191 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 289 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2015

This is a lovely family owned hotel very well located in the heart of the old city. We opted for a harbour view room for a few euros more and were not disappointed. We had room 301 which provided a spectacular corner view of the harbour and fortifications beyond. The hotel has been completly refurbished recently and we found our... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

114 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (107)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (21)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (28)
Viewed
View from room (25)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Other (27)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay