We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Castille Hotel

Hotel website
Castille Square, c/w St. Paul's Street, Valletta, Island of Malta VLT 07, Malta
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with getaroom to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Castille Hotel
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

249 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    51
    111
    50
    20
    17
See reviews for
23
103
60
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (249)
  • Mar-May only
    (57)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (83)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (56)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (53)
All months
preston lancashire
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

stayed at the castille for two nights,18th and 19th aug,with my brother and his wife.we had a lovely welcome from Ronnie.The two rooms we had, were decorated in accordance with the building,beautiful wooden furniture.Was cleaned daily, with clean towels.NEVER saw a cockroach, anywhere in the building. The location is brilliant for seeing Valletta, ideal for the bus teminus.The views from... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We visit Castille hotel this week. It was perfect. The room very good with amazing view.They were cleaning it every day. Very good breakfast. They were having something different every day. The staff very friendly. The hotel is near to everything. The bus station 4 minutes away. The museum two roads down. Perfect location. Thank you all!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This hotel in a historic house (historic even in the cradle of European history) is just such a delightful place to stay. The rooms are comfortable, the plumbing is adequate,, the views from the rooftop restaurant are stunning, the front desk clerks (esp. Ronnie) are friendly, and - particularly if you take half-board - the value is exceptional. Above all,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Athens
Level Contributor
123 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I am just back from Valletta and stayed for 4 nights at the Castille Hotel.I based my choice on reviews and location and best value for what you are offered.Hotels in Valletta are very few .I stayed in a single room on the 4th floor,exterior view to St.Paul's Street ,so my review is based on that.I would not have any... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
alexandra b, General Manager at Castille Hotel, responded to this review

I thank you for taking the time to write this positive review. We try to do our best and such a review is very appreciated. I am happy to inform you that we are in the process of adding more electrical power points in the rooms. As regards the water pressure, this is purely a water saving investment that has... More 

Krems an der Donau, Austria
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I've stayed at Castille numerous times during my trips to Malta and stayed again for a week. + The location is superb: city centre is a few minutes away; lots of restaurants nearby; staff at reception very friendly and helpful and always have a smile; now have free wifi in the rooms; facade recently renovated and looks stunning; little coffee... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
alexandra b, General Manager at Castille Hotel, responded to this review

I thank you for your constructive comments and am happy that you stayed, and hope to stay, once again at Castille. However, I beg to differ with you that the rooms have not improved. In the last 18 months real wood parquet has been installed instead of the fiited carpet, a frigo cooler, hair dryer and a safe added to... More 

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Location is great a short walk from bus terminal. View from terrace lovely and the room was cleaned daily. Staff were very helpful. We required a triple room which was actually a double with a foldout bed included which make the room a little cramped for three people also not the most comfortable beds to sleep on. The shower is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
alexandra b, General Manager at Castille Hotel, responded to this review

I thank you for your comments. I am sorry to hear that your overall experience at Castille was marred by not having a simple shower holder attached. We do not usually get negative remarks for this. However I am happy to inform you that as from next week we will be installing new shower hooks! As for the triple bed... More 

Israel
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I booked a room for 2 in this hotel in March for our staying in July for 11 nights (from 19/07-30/07). I knew that it is a 3 star hotel, but I couldn't imagine that it will be such poor quality. There were several problems: 1.Our first room was with 2 separated beds and when I asked the staff why... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
alexandra b, Manager at Castille Hotel, responded to this review

I am sorry to hear of your mishaps. Contrary to what you wrote, we did take action. We checked your room a minimum of two times daily when you were out, to look for these invaders but did not find one on any occasion. I would like to put your mind at rest that these insects are no cockroaches associated... More 

Travelers are raving about these Valletta hotels

5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Right after arriving the room I noticed a huge cockroach on the bathroom door, ran back to the reception and all I got was almost an empty bottle of lousy insecticide against flies, not even offer of help to get rid of the cockroach from the receptionist! It took like 15 minutes to kill the cockroach with a shoe! In... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
alexandra b, General Manager at Castille Hotel, responded to this review

I am sorry to hear of your disappointment. Although we do get the odd cucaracha flying in, in Summer, as any other building, hotel etc in the mediterranean, I have never seen in this hotel or anywhere else on the island for that matter, the other insects you purport to have seen and photographed in your room. Could it have... More 

Barnstaple, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
281 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2015

First of all the hotel is easy to find, from the bus station walk 200m up the slow hill and the hotel is right in front of you, perfect. I was allowed to check in early which was a bonus, yes the room wasn't brand new but you're in an ancient city, what do you expect?! The room was fine... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Liverpool, England
Level Contributor
125 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 199 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2015

I was very much looking forward to my stay at this hotel, having read on the web that it is situated inside a former palazzo. However, the accommodation is nothing at all like the photos that appear on the web, and the premises are so inordinately uncomfortable and primitive, and everything is of such poor quality, that one rather begins... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
alexandra b, Manager at Castille Hotel, responded to this review

I am sorry to read of your grievances. Although we are far from perfect and surely do not meet everyone's expectations, you are most unfair in your comments. These range from exaggerations to downright untruths. This is more than just seeing the glass half empty. It is like looking at the Eiffel Tower and pointing out the rusty patches instead... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

136 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (130)
Viewed
Dining (32)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (34)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (17)
Viewed
View from room (4)
Viewed
Other (40)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (6)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Valletta
0.4 mi away
Excelsior Grand Hotel
Excelsior Grand Hotel
#3 of 9 in Valletta
4.0 of 5 stars 2,424 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Phoenicia
Hotel Phoenicia
#2 of 9 in Valletta
4.5 of 5 stars 2,003 reviews
0.3 mi away
Osborne Hotel
Osborne Hotel
#5 of 9 in Valletta
4.0 of 5 stars 736 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Casa Ellul
Casa Ellul
#1 of 9 in Valletta
5.0 of 5 stars 82 reviews
0.1 mi away
British Hotel
British Hotel
#7 of 9 in Valletta
3.5 of 5 stars 312 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Harbour Hotel
Grand Harbour Hotel
#4 of 9 in Valletta
4.0 of 5 stars 273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay