We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 3 Victoria hotels

Downtown Hotel

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Triq I-Ewropa | VCT 2732, Victoria, Island of Gozo G09, Malta
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
Downtown Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Downtown Hotel to your Saves list
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Victoria
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 3 weeks ago
Martyna B Berlin, Germany
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    79
    26
    6
    7
See reviews for
23
75
9
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (145)
  • Mar-May only
    (25)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (56)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (53)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (11)
All months
Attard, null, Malta
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The lift did not work properly thus I got stuck in the lift. A used condom fell out of the curtain when I opened the curtain and we were not given a compensation!!! I would recommend another hotel because of the uncleanliness

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Downtown_Hotel_Gozo, Manager at Downtown Hotel, responded to this review

We find it a bit strange that a review for a stay in July is appearing at the end of November! For the record our lifts are regularly maintained and certified by qualified technicians and engineers. Cleanliness in our rooms is one of our strong points, this is not only according to Trip Advisor reviews but also according to other... More 

Berlin, Germany
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Very good localization, in the in the heart of the city, close to shopping centre and to the restaurants, nice breakfast, playzone for kids and really comfortable rooms (tv and mini bar). I recommend to all.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Malta
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Really nice relaxing hotel. Breakfast was nice and even the room cleaning. The room was very comfortable and we had a nice view. Even the tv was clear and at least big not small. The bathroom was nice and comfortable but the shower couldn't move but still managed for a shower . Thank you

Was this review helpful? Yes
lincs UK
Top Contributor
227 reviews 227 reviews
149 hotel reviews
332 helpful votes 332 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2014

Staying two nights recently - I have no complaints about the actual hotel/ bedroom & recognise that this is a "middle of the road hotel" (3 star). We had booked a country view room, which was quiet, with a balcony facing north to Marsalform, the sea & its Christ the Redeemer statue. The bed was extremely comfortable (firm), TV with... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Canada del Hoyo, Spain
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
10 hotel reviews
177 helpful votes 177 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2014

I stayed there for another time after my last visit because I was pleased. People who complain about this hotel do so because they compare it with hotels that are in a very different category. This is what might be called a budget hotel and it has no pretensions of grandeur. However it does the basic stuff pretty well. The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Rome
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
26 hotel reviews
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2014

This recently renewed hotel in the near of city center (but in the same time in the middle of nowhere) of Victoria could be nice simple hotel, becuase my room was tiny but functional and had nice view on the countryside (and the see) but it has some big issues. First of all, the rooms are not clean, there is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Luqa
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2014

It was an excellent choice! The service is simply brilliant. The staff was really helpful. There was also an excellent choice for breakfast - we were actually spoilt for choice. The entertainment at the hotel was also amazing. The room was clean and had all the facilities one could wish for. Plus, there was also free wi-fi. The food and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Marsascala, Malta
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2014

I stayed at this hotel just over a week ago and found it really good value for money. The rooms are very clean and the staff very helpful. The food they serve is not only reasonable but lovely too!! Will definately be going back

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2014 via mobile

Breakfast horribol. TV channel list very poor.Lift performance a joke!!!! It gives you the first introduction of the Hotel!Sink hot - cold connection connected the wrong way.Breakfast disgusting in food quality and presentation!!!. I think its a same for the island to let a hotel operate in that service!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Downtown_Hotel_Gozo, Manager at Downtown Hotel, responded to this review

It will be really helpful if this reviewer had disclosed the dates he stayed at the Downtown Hotel and his room number so that will have the opportunity to verify his outrageous claims because it seems that he stayed in a different hotel than ours! More 

Leeds, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
15 hotel reviews
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2014

A good hotel, well maintained and with pleasant staff. Access is very secure. Rooms are a good size and with well maintained facilities. Beds are a little hard. It was nice to be there without the constant sounds of gunfire, unlike last year in Gozo, this is because they apparently closed the hunting season - let's hope it stays closed!... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Downtown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Downtown Hotel

Address: Triq I-Ewropa | VCT 2732, Victoria, Island of Gozo G09, Malta
Phone Number:
Location: Malta > Island of Gozo > Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Downtown Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Downtown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Downtown Hotel Victoria
Downtown Hotel Island Of Gozo/Victoria, Malta

43 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (38)
Viewed
View from room (9)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (10)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (6)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay