We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Downtown Hotel

Travelers' Choice award winner
3.0 of 5
Hotel website
Triq I-Ewropa | VCT 2732, Victoria, Island of Gozo G09, Malta
Downtown Hotel
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Victoria
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 2 days ago
Still-On-Tour UK and Worldwide
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    86
    26
    6
    7
See reviews for
23
80
10
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (155)
  • Mar-May only
    (28)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (56)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (53)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (18)
All months
UK and Worldwide
Top Contributor
151 reviews 151 reviews
143 hotel reviews
146 helpful votes 146 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

My train, flight, buses and ferry linked perfectly to get me from the UK to the Downtown Hotel ahead of my expected arrival time. Finding the hotel was easy, even walking there at night from the bus station, but it's as well to be aware that it's down a quiet street and you don't really see it until you get... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Marsascala, Malta
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Just come back from another visit to this hotel. It was again great value for money with friendly staff, clean rooms and excellent food. Another good thing is that they have now put a kettle with free coffee/tea in every room.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Beijing, China
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The hotel is located at the center of Victoria, just one block from the main road. The room is clean & comfortable. Breakfast is good. If one visits Gozo island, this hotel can be the first choice. From here you can see the most famous II-Kastell (about 15 minutes foot walk to there). Since it is located in the island... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2015

My wife and I stayed overnight whilst spending 2 days in Gozo during our Malta Holiday. Centrally located in Victoria - a short walk from good shopping facilities and Citadel. Car parking on street but plenty of options. Comfortable, clean and well appointed room. Typical Breakfast options - european and/or English - comfortable dining area. A good place for overnighting... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Gudja Malta
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2015

This hotel is right in the city centre of Gozo-sister island of Malta. The hotel is very,very clean and our room was big with flat screen tv and free wifi. The breakfast is buffet and with top-ups.The linen and room were very clean and the hotel was quiet and relaxing.The restaurant has a varied menu and the food is really... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2014 via mobile

Great location, good value for money, rooms were clean, good selection of tv channels, nice little hotel with 40 rooms. Wifi also available. Downside is that during my stay they must have been short of staff as breakfast in the morning was a bit confusing, lack of basics like glasses and plates. Food not available all the time. Poor boy... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2014

We have been to this quite a number of times and we have never been disappointed....hotel is super clean , friendly staff , decent half board basis , good breakfast, only one bad note ... We were still having the last glass of wine outside the restaurant after we consumed our half board dinner when some staff switched the lights... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
malta
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2014

Fiance and I stayed at the Downtown Hotel for three nights in mid-December 2014. This was a thoroughly enjoyable stay pre-Christmas. Victoria was at its charming best. Weather was near perfect for the time of year. We would commend all aspects of the hotel; super breakfast, quiet rooms, great bathroom facilities, terrific location, agreeable employees. We would particularly salute Samantha... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Attard, null, Malta
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2014

We had a good trip, upgraded to a better room, budget has no outside windows so for 20 euros for 2 nights extra was worth it, rooms and hotel were warm and plenty hot water. we had Half Board,Food was very good. .we liked the bar under the hotel with Pool Table and, bowling ally although we thought that was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Attard, null, Malta
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
3 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2014

The lift did not work properly thus I got stuck in the lift. A used condom fell out of the curtain when I opened the curtain and we were not given a compensation!!! I would recommend another hotel because of the uncleanliness

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Downtown_Hotel_Gozo, Manager at Downtown Hotel, responded to this review

We find it a bit strange that a review for a stay in July is appearing at the end of November! For the record our lifts are regularly maintained and certified by qualified technicians and engineers. Cleanliness in our rooms is one of our strong points, this is not only according to Trip Advisor reviews but also according to other... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

48 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (42)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (12)
Viewed
View from room (11)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (6)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question