We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 3 Victoria hotels

Downtown Hotel

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Triq I-Ewropa | VCT 2732, Victoria, Island of Gozo G09, Malta
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
Downtown Hotel
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Downtown Hotel to your Saves list
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Victoria
A recent review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2015
Keith H
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    85
    26
    6
    7
See reviews for
23
79
10
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (152)
  • Mar-May only
    (25)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (56)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (53)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (18)
All months
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2015

My wife and I stayed overnight whilst spending 2 days in Gozo during our Malta Holiday. Centrally located in Victoria - a short walk from good shopping facilities and Citadel. Car parking on street but plenty of options. Comfortable, clean and well appointed room. Typical Breakfast options - european and/or English - comfortable dining area. A good place for overnighting... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Gudja Malta
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2015

This hotel is right in the city centre of Gozo-sister island of Malta. The hotel is very,very clean and our room was big with flat screen tv and free wifi. The breakfast is buffet and with top-ups.The linen and room were very clean and the hotel was quiet and relaxing.The restaurant has a varied menu and the food is really... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2014

Great location, good value for money, rooms were clean, good selection of tv channels, nice little hotel with 40 rooms. Wifi also available. Downside is that during my stay they must have been short of staff as breakfast in the morning was a bit confusing, lack of basics like glasses and plates. Food not available all the time. Poor boy... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2014

We have been to this quite a number of times and we have never been disappointed....hotel is super clean , friendly staff , decent half board basis , good breakfast, only one bad note ... We were still having the last glass of wine outside the restaurant after we consumed our half board dinner when some staff switched the lights... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
malta
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2014

Fiance and I stayed at the Downtown Hotel for three nights in mid-December 2014. This was a thoroughly enjoyable stay pre-Christmas. Victoria was at its charming best. Weather was near perfect for the time of year. We would commend all aspects of the hotel; super breakfast, quiet rooms, great bathroom facilities, terrific location, agreeable employees. We would particularly salute Samantha... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Attard, null, Malta
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2014

We had a good trip, upgraded to a better room, budget has no outside windows so for 20 euros for 2 nights extra was worth it, rooms and hotel were warm and plenty hot water. we had Half Board,Food was very good. .we liked the bar under the hotel with Pool Table and, bowling ally although we thought that was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Attard, null, Malta
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2014

The lift did not work properly thus I got stuck in the lift. A used condom fell out of the curtain when I opened the curtain and we were not given a compensation!!! I would recommend another hotel because of the uncleanliness

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Downtown_Hotel_Gozo, Manager at Downtown Hotel, responded to this review

We find it a bit strange that a review for a stay in July is appearing at the end of November! For the record our lifts are regularly maintained and certified by qualified technicians and engineers. Cleanliness in our rooms is one of our strong points, this is not only according to Trip Advisor reviews but also according to other... More 

Berlin, Germany
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2014

Very good localization, in the in the heart of the city, close to shopping centre and to the restaurants, nice breakfast, playzone for kids and really comfortable rooms (tv and mini bar). I recommend to all.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Malta
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2014

Really nice relaxing hotel. Breakfast was nice and even the room cleaning. The room was very comfortable and we had a nice view. Even the tv was clear and at least big not small. The bathroom was nice and comfortable but the shower couldn't move but still managed for a shower . Thank you

Was this review helpful? Yes
lincs UK
Top Contributor
229 reviews 229 reviews
150 hotel reviews
336 helpful votes 336 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2014

Staying two nights recently - I have no complaints about the actual hotel/ bedroom & recognise that this is a "middle of the road hotel" (3 star). We had booked a country view room, which was quiet, with a balcony facing north to Marsalform, the sea & its Christ the Redeemer statue. The bed was extremely comfortable (firm), TV with... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Downtown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Downtown Hotel

Address: Triq I-Ewropa | VCT 2732, Victoria, Island of Gozo G09, Malta
Phone Number:
Location: Malta > Island of Gozo > Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Downtown Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Downtown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Downtown Hotel Victoria
Downtown Hotel Island Of Gozo/Victoria, Malta

44 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (38)
Viewed
View from room (9)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (10)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (6)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay