We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Stobo Castle

#1 of 1 Hotels in Stobo
Certificate of Excellence
Stobo, Stobo EH45 8NY , Scotland
Stobo Castle
Write a Review

734 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    510
    109
    63
    29
    23
See reviews for
122
141
27
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (219)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (734)
  • Mar-May only
    (209)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (175)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (191)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (159)
All months
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Have just returned from a couple of nights. Enjoyed the whole experience as did my friends. The food was freshly prepared and excellent. Service in restaurant was first class especially by Julie. All the treatments we booked were done to a very professional standard wish we had booked more. Recommend you book all treatments before you arrive as fills up... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Elliott_Winyard, Director at Stobo Castle, responded to this review

Dear Guest, It was a pleasure to read your most positive review, following your recent 2 night break with us. I'll certainly pass on your comments to Julie, who will be delighted to have made such an impression! I hope you had a safe journey back to Aberdeen and we look forward to seeing you again on the occasion of... More 

2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

just back from a 2night stay,it was my first time and certainly wont be my last as i am just off the phone and booked for 3 nights to celebrate my 40th and my friends 60th for june 2016.we stayed in castle lodge and it was a lovely room and the 200 yard walk was fine.so decided to book castle... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Elliott_Winyard, Director at Stobo Castle, responded to this review

Dear Guest, It was very kind of you to reflect so positively on your recent visit to Stobo. I was delighted to hear you found the accommodation, meals and treatments of a high standard and we are privileged that you have chosen to spend such a landmark birthday with us next year! Looking forward to welcoming you back then, if... More 

Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This place is heaven on earth. My friend and I returned last weekend for 2 nights, we stayed 1 night last year which wasn't quite long enough! We stayed in the Montgomery room which was gorgeous and huge! We both had an express facial, full body massage ( inc in 2 night package) and a delux pedicure. All spa staff... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Elliott_Winyard, Director at Stobo Castle, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for writing such an amazing review of your most recent stay at Stobo, in the company of your friend. I am delighted to learn that you felt like "royalty" in the hands of our exceptional staff and that you have already started to plan your return for both a day visit and another 2 night break... More 

Dumfries and Galloway, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

3 of us stayed one night - it was our Xmas present to each other. Rooms were lovely, one was in the castle lodge the other in the Main building. Comfortable beds, nicely decorated rooms and lovely bathrooms. The food was very good and service was excellent. Loved the spa and the outside hot tubs. Didn't have any treatments so... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Elliott_Winyard, Director at Stobo Castle, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking your time to post such a positive review following your overnight stay at Stobo, in the company of family. I hope we can welcome you back when the time is right for you - like you said, you have a good excuse! With many thanks, More 

Kirkcaldy, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I have loved staying at Stobo for a lot of years now and travel as a group of 4 at least twice a year. We decided on an extra visit in April and booked our rooms 2 months in advance. I was therefore stunned to get a phone call on the Thursday evening at 8pm to advise that due to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Elliott_Winyard, Director at Stobo Castle, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your comments regarding your visit to Stobo last month. I can only apologise once again for the unforeseen Maintenance Issue, which was outwith our control, that prompted the phone call prior to your planned visit. I understand that upon changing the date of your reservation the rate was agreed with you which you were happy... More 

glasgow
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I was back at Stobo last weekend with my daughter as a birthday treat. Once again I felt totally spoilt and special. The food, rooms, facilities and staff are exceptional. I had a few treatments that were enjoyable although I did find my 25 minute back massage a little rushed, I was back in the courtyard before the 25 minutes... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Elliott_Winyard, Director at Stobo Castle, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your kind comments regarding your stay at Stobo, in the company of your daughter on such a special day for you. I am delighted to learn you felt "totally spoilt and special" once again with us. As for our Tropical shower - all the shower heads have been replaced with brand new ones which I... More 

Cranves-Sales, France
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
23 hotel reviews
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My mother and I took a two day Spa break the weekend of 8/9/10 May. Our experience was mixed from really very good to very disappointing. Three areas to fix 1. The process 2. Staff training and 3. Lack of management being close to the customer experience. Our first experience was positive - a rescheduled treatment for me on Friday... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Stephen W, Owner at Stobo Castle, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your very constructive comments, following your visit to Stobo last weekend in the company of your Mother. The more critical aspects of your stay are being addressed as a matter of urgency, however I was pleased to hear that the issues with your treatments and "hard" bed were turned round in such a professional manner.... More 

Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

On arrival the reception staff were very helpful and friendly. We were offered an available upgrade to a room in the main building, which I would advise unless on a very rainy day you would happily walk between buildings. The room was pleasant with beautiful views across the hills. All meals were lovely, with descent sized portions, nicely presented. The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Elliott_Winyard, Director at Stobo Castle, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Just a brief note to acknowledge our appreciation of your kind comments, following your recent stay with us. I so hope you and your partner will find the time to return to Stobo at some point in the future. With many thanks, More 

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed at stobo with a large party of 12 guest and it was a enjoyable experience. The staff who do treatment , cleaners, waitors/waitresses and main reception staff in particular Claire are lovely, polite and well mannered. The place is immaculate, towels regularly brought round to all areas of the spa. Shower area spotless and no complaints over condition... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Elliott_Winyard, Director at Stobo Castle, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Many thanks for your very balanced report, following your recent overnight visit to Stobo as part of a group of friends. I fully take on board your concern regarding check-out times - we really do need a window of opportunity to service up to 50 bedrooms between 12.00 noon and 3.00pm - having said that, we're more than... More 

Lochwinnoch, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed for three nights with my daughter, our third visit. Lovely food, staff, treatments and room - in no particular order! Very entertaining chef's demonstration on the Monday night. Planning to come back in Autumn, thank you for a very relaxing break.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Elliott_Winyard, Director at Stobo Castle, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you so much for posting such a favourable review of your latest visit to Stobo in the company of your daughter. You won't have learned much about the art of cooking, but Mother Teresa's Demo on Monday evenings is very popular with her mix of ad-libbing and irreverence. Do hope we will once again have the pleasure... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

132 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (125)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (11)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (26)
Viewed
View from room (17)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (28)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Other (33)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities